Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars57
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2007
This book is a part of Jim Starlin's magnificent epic "Infinity". To truly understand this Epic you should read, by this order: "Warlock", "The Thanos Quest", "The Infinity Gauntlet", "Infinity War", "Infinity Crusade", "Thanos: Infinity Abyss", "Marvel Universe, The End". To read one without the others could be confusing. Unforgettable characters such as Thanos the Titan (Jim's best creation, as far as I'm concerned), Adam Warlock (Stan and Kirby reinvented character), Pip, and all of Marvel main stream characters, are involved on this cosmic huge arc story. You can also read Adam Warlock's "infinity Watch" comic series.

A must have for any Marvel hard-core collector; to get this comics first printings is better than buying stock market shares or bonds.

Jim Starlin was a Marvel Master, now playing for DC. He debuts with amazing John Romita and Roy Thomas in 1972; strongly under the influence of Steve Ditko and Jack Kirby. Jim Starlin gets recognition for his work with the Shazam Award for Outstanding New Talent in 1973. Jim's beautiful, although dark, stile is missed by all of us, true believers on Marvel gigs. Saudades, Jim Starlin.

If you enjoy Marvel 80's stile super-heroes, you can find as good as, but you can't find better.

If you want to see more of Jim Starlin's all time Marvel work, you should get an amazing 1982 Graphic Novel: "The death of Captain Marvel".
11 comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
This is an brilliant story of power and destruction and the best introduction into the Marvel world and Thanos. There are many characters in this sotry arc so it's best to do your research if your not familiar. There are a lot of eternals and each has their own story in Silver Surfer: Rebirth of Thanos.

I wish the story stretched out more, but it was still fulfilling. A very clever character and script with fantastic story.

A must read. I just wish there were more Thanos storylines this epic.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
One of the best tales in the Marvel library; the Infinity Gauntlet looks at one of the most dangerous times in the history of Marvel as Thanos enacts his diabolical plan to collect all the Infinity Gems.I shall not go into the details of the story but suffice it to say, it features a smorgasbord of heroes. A line up that consists of all your favourites to the obscure.

It deftly weaves a tale where hope seems light years away; a riveting story to be sure. If you're a fan of all things Marvel, or even if you're not and just like a good story of good vs evil, this is the right book for you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
This is such a fantastic story told on such an epic scale. Despite some of the slightly dated art work, it is still brilliantly drawn and structured. This brings all your favourite heroes together and uniquely throws them into an utterly hopeless contest. I particularly love the petulance of Thanos throughout. Well worth a read if you haven't read it, if for no other reason than to get a peak into what might be coming further down the line in the Marvel cinematic universe.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
I got this as a present for a friend but borrowed it to read after he finished. Although not all the characters in the book were familiar to me I really enjoyed it and read the whole thing from cover to cover in one sitting.

Anyone who wants to know a bit more about the back story for Thanos for the avengers films should have a read but obviously bear in mind that the films will do their own thing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
I had been a fan of Marvel Comics as a kid in the 80s and early 90s, and the Infinity Gauntlet event was one of my favourites. Now as an adult I wanted to reconnect with these memories and started with this one. After all these years it does not disappoint, and the scale of the story is truly cosmic. Also a great place to start if you want to understand what the Marvel Cinematic Universe films have been building up to.

My only regret is that I did not start with the Thanos Quest backstory, which shows how Thanos obtains the Infinity Gems in the first place, and I think really needs to be read first. This collection starts abruptly without it. The ideal thing would be to buy the massive, hardcover Infinity Gauntlet Omnibus, but if you're not made of money, start with the Rebirth of Thanos collected edition.

The Aftermath and sequels Infinity War and Infinity Crusade are diminishing returns after this, and can safely be skipped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
Great graphic novel, filled with the entire infinity gauntlet series and from here you can move on to read the infinity gauntlet aftermath. I recommend reading the silver surfer: rebirth of Thanos before this as that graphic novel sets up the whole infinity stone story line.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
If like me you're looking for a comic that will spread some knowledge about Marvels Cinematic Universe then this is it.

It is the story of how and why Thanos wants/uses the Infinity Gauntlet. It features many super heroes and was just a very enjoyable read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
The question posed here, is what would happen if an amoral being held all the power in the universe? What could Earth's superheroes do?

This graphic novel is the answer.

If you want to know what is likely to happen in the third and fourth Avenger's movies, this comic is your answer. Already the ground has been prepared - in one of the Thor films, the infinity gauntlet was shown. In two or three films already, the infinity gems have been part of the plot.
In this epic, the gems will be gathered up by Thanos, who will then threaten to destroy the universe.

He is a unique villain, not seeking power, but in love with a cosmic entity which represent death - and he will threaten to destroy the universe to win her cold heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
Marvel Comics has a long and involved history and there's no way you can read everything and get the full picture unless you have the time, money and devotion. Having said that, i would be remiss if i did not recommend this book, the fantastic Infinity Gauntlet as a reasonable starting point for new readers and for readers who are unfamiliar with the cosmic quarters of the Marvel Universe.

It all involves Thanos the Mad Titan who has come into possession of the fabled Infinity Gauntlet, a golden glove encrusted with six jewels that allow him control over all things. All this he does for the love of Death herself, a mute and beautiful woman. The Marvel Heroes from Captain America to Wolverine along with Doctor Doom and Galactus try to stop him and restore balance.

This is not an overly complex book and a fantastic place to begin. Jim Starlin has many great qualities but his best is his simplicity. There are great moral dilemmas but are written with intimacy and subtlety and the artwork that accompanies his writing is remarkably macabre and in some places cold and frightening. You don't need any extra supplemental books to understand this. So long as you know who the characters all are, you'll be alright. Though i will mention Adam Warlock. Warlock isn't a top character like Spider-Man (who inevitably figures) and it's ok if you don't know who he is. You won't be confused.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.