Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One mad mutant Brawl
The x-cutioners song is probably the best crossover for the x-men in the 90's for years this event left an impact not only on the lives of the x-men but for mutant kind itself.
The story is about stryfe a mad man from the future who plans to destroy the x-teams and cable, starting with proffesor x. This x-over includes all three x-teams x-factor, x-force and the...
Published on 26 May 2004

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a cynical, ugly mess
Why? It's cynical because for the umpteenth time 90s Marvel tried to force you to buy 17-odd books to get one story
It's ugly because the pencils are woeful and the dialogue stunted. I have never been a Kubert fan and agree with earlier poster that his work is blocky and one-dimensional. But the writers are no better either (save Peter David - see below)
It's a...
Published on 27 Feb 2012 by P. Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One mad mutant Brawl, 26 May 2004
By A Customer
The x-cutioners song is probably the best crossover for the x-men in the 90's for years this event left an impact not only on the lives of the x-men but for mutant kind itself.
The story is about stryfe a mad man from the future who plans to destroy the x-teams and cable, starting with proffesor x. This x-over includes all three x-teams x-factor, x-force and the x-men. This i a great story with brilliant art work. It not only has some great fight sequences but some great emetional events.
This storyline left a very big repercution namely the Legacy Virus which would be the biggest threat to mutant kind during the 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ULTIMATE CROSSOVER, 17 May 1998
By A Customer
This crossover has it all! X-Force v.s. X-Men, Cable v.s. Bishop and Wolverine, Apocalyps teaming with the X-Men. Cyclops and Jean kidnapped! Professor X assasinated by Cable? Sinister's deadly plan. Stryfe releasing the Legacy Virus, and a final showdown that is well worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood Favourite, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: X-Cutioner's Song (Hardcover)
X-Cutioner's song was one of the first things I read on entering the rich Marvel Comics universe as a 9-10 year old. I lived in France at the time so read the French versions but having re-engaged with comics a few years ago I had to own this collection.

I love it now almost as much as I did then - a good 17 years ago - with the added bonus of nostalgia. The art is okay - unlike other reviewers Andy Kubert was always a favourite of mine at the time and Greg Capullo (whose work here is still quite rough) has been my favourite comic book artist for many years now bar, perhaps, Todd McFarlane.

X-Cutioner's song has a GREAT villain, Stryfe, my personal favourite Apocalypse has quite a lot of stage time, Sinister pulls the strings from behind the scenes and you have the X-Men, X-Factor and X-Force joining forces - for the most part - to overcome the evil villain. The plot has many threads, quite a few theatres of action with a great collaboration between Wolvie, Cable and Bishop and it was good to see Madrox again and the early nineties x-costumes.

I must admit crossovers were a pain when growing up as they cost me most of my allowance but X-Cutioner's song provided me with hour upon hour of enjoyable escapism and still provides much of that today.

Maybe new collectors or readers should look at more recent collections but I do think that this was a really good period for the x-titles but, of course, I'm biased.

Four stars and a half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Excellent!, 9 Feb 1998
By A Customer
This is a great book! It's a compilation of about 17 comic books from the pages of UXM, X-MEN, X-FACTOR, and X-FORCE. The writing is excellent throughout the whole thing and the art is great too! With 3 villiains, Stryfe, Apocalypse, and Mr. Sinister, this TPB is jam-packed with villainy, heroism, and more! For X-men fans, you can't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STRYFE'S JUSTICIABLE REVENGE, 26 Jun 1999
By A Customer
Stryfe is possibly the perfect strategist.making the x-teams fight each other,taking the DR away from En Sabah Nur,framing cable,using the mutant liberation front as his expendable footsoldiers.it just goes on and on with twist and turns and it doesn't stop until the end.but i must also say this book is not for the the beginners.for beginners u would have to research the marvel universe as far back as 1989 to undersatnd the full scope of this graphic novel.and for those x-nuts out there who think this books is not good,just ask yourself wouldn't u love to destroy everybody who has wrong u at all points of your life? if the answer is yes than buy the "x-cutioner's song" this second.thank u for your time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a cynical, ugly mess, 27 Feb 2012
By 
P. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men: X-Cutioner's Song (Hardcover)
Why? It's cynical because for the umpteenth time 90s Marvel tried to force you to buy 17-odd books to get one story
It's ugly because the pencils are woeful and the dialogue stunted. I have never been a Kubert fan and agree with earlier poster that his work is blocky and one-dimensional. But the writers are no better either (save Peter David - see below)
It's a mess because it throws too many writers and too many characters at one plot, smothering the life out of them.
This is one of the reasons I stopped reading Marvel. Crossover after crossover after crossover, and this was one of the worst.
Coming after Claremont/Lee/Silvestri have long since gone, it's just a huge let-down. It's only saving grace is Peter David, who is always a good read.
How he manages to cut through it all is beyond me.
And this is coming from a huge X-Men fan...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everyone loves a good psycho..., 20 Jun 2000
By 
L. Rigby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an essential book for all X-Fans, containing hints about Cable's origin, the fate of Cyclop's son, and the unleashing of the dreaded Legacy Virus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars twins are trouble, 22 July 1998
By A Customer
Jean and Scott are kidnapped by a mutant named Stryfe. Professor X is shot by Cable. X-force has been caught by X-factor and the X-men. Apocalyse could be dying. The plot thickens as Cable and Stryfe share the same face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excelent story and questions answered at last, 4 Mar 1999
By A Customer
this x-crossover and in fact villain crossover features a trama which finishes in surprises for the most of the protagonists. i loved the interpersonal relations (heroes-villains,heroes-heroes,villains-villains).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabea5864)

This product

X-Men: X-Cutioner's Song
X-Men: X-Cutioner's Song by Fabian Nicieza (Hardcover - 19 Oct 2011)
23.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews