Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pacific Rim - the side stories
First off, if you are wanting tales of Jaegers destroying Kaiju, this isn't for you. Save your money and don't write a bad review of this excellent book. This is a prequel primarily focuses on showing the back story of characters from the film and to a lesser extent, the development of the Jaegers. By the end, you will know more about the characters, appreciate the...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic script let down by lousy art.
Although the script is superb, I must warn you that the art herein is uniformly terrible. Would it have killed Marvel to get someone of a higher calibre, more suited to the heavily detailed world of Pacific Rim? Geoff Darrow, James Stokoe or Nick Pitarra would have knocked this out of the park. If I was Travis Beacham, I'd be more than slightly upset to see the hack-job...
Published 8 months ago by Claude Horribly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pacific Rim - the side stories, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Tales From Year Zero (Hardcover)
First off, if you are wanting tales of Jaegers destroying Kaiju, this isn't for you. Save your money and don't write a bad review of this excellent book. This is a prequel primarily focuses on showing the back story of characters from the film and to a lesser extent, the development of the Jaegers. By the end, you will know more about the characters, appreciate the film more and also want more of this book and film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed the info catch up, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Tales From Year Zero (Hardcover)
Excellent bit of info bought early days of film into the light and filled some gaps in. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic script let down by lousy art., 18 Aug 2013
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Tales From Year Zero (Hardcover)
Although the script is superb, I must warn you that the art herein is uniformly terrible. Would it have killed Marvel to get someone of a higher calibre, more suited to the heavily detailed world of Pacific Rim? Geoff Darrow, James Stokoe or Nick Pitarra would have knocked this out of the park. If I was Travis Beacham, I'd be more than slightly upset to see the hack-job they saddled me with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales From Year Zero, 6 July 2013
By 
Jenny, Wondrous Reads (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Tales From Year Zero (Hardcover)
Tales From Year Zero is easily one of the best graphic novels I've read for ages. Clever and gripping, it tells three prequel stories that all tie in to the new movie Pacific Rim, brought to cinema screens by Guillermo del Toro and Travis Beacham (who has also written this graphic novel). It's a fairly quick read but don't let that deter you: what you get here are three intelligent, masterfully drawn stories that are the perfect precursor to the film.

The three stories presented here, K-Day, Turn of the Tide and The Bono, are all tied together by a common thread, that of reporter Naomi Sokolov. She starts by interviewing people connected with the Jaegers and Kaiju, to write a story on how the Jaegers are losing funding. K-Day is my favourite of the three, and tells the story of K-Day, the day the Kaiju first unleashed hell on Earth. It's a hopeful story of survival, and also one of understanding. These creatures came out of nowhere and made their mark, but how can they be fought? How can the human race survive? That's where Turn of the Tide comes in, and bringing with it a whole wealth of Jaeger information.

Turn of the Tide features the inception of the Jaegers, giant mechs designed to do nothing but fight Kaiju. Their creators encounter all kinds of problems when testing the prototypes, and it's truly fascinating to see how they come up with a solution. This all leads in to the third and final story in the book, and probably the weakest, The Bono. Here we learn more about three central characters from the film: Stacker Pentecost (Idris Elba), Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnam) and Mako Mori (Rinko Kikuchi). I can't wait to see how the characters have changed in the film, and just how much their early Jaeger experiences have influenced them now.

The art in Tales From Year Zero is all fantastic, especially the epic cover by Alex Ross. It's slightly off-putting from time to time as the artists change throughout the book, though it makes for interesting reading and also showcases a diverse team of pencilers, inkers and colourists. There are also six pages at the end showing the creative process, from script to the final page, and is a fascinating addition to an already high-quality release. I've read Tales From Year Zero twice already and I'm sure I'll be reading it again once I've seen the film on release day. As far as movie tie-ins go, this is up there with the best.

4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good...But, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Kent Yeomans (Towcester, Northants) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Tales From Year Zero (Hardcover)
Great quality, Artwork is excellent and really like how it fleshes out the story.

Here comes the But.... Its Short.

Real short, and I think it doesn't really represent great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it., 19 Mar 2014
By 
D. Fenwick "yowzer." (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Tales From Year Zero (Hardcover)
This grahpic novel is well drawn, well written and certainly worth buying if you enjoyed Pacific Rim. It's a prequel, telling origin stories of several important characters and the evolution of the Jaegars in a lot more detail than the movie. It's split across several short stories that will take you roughly ten minutes each to get through or longer if you spend time pouring over the artwork which isn't perhaps as good as some graphics novels, is still really very nice.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Tales From Year Zero (Hardcover)
Boyfriend loved it~ Amazing quality book with a lot of content, art is exquisite , story is amazing! Excellent prequel to a down right awesome movie! Recommend to any Pacific Rim fans out there <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Tales From Year Zero (Hardcover)
Well written and drawn graphic novel detailing the early years of the Yeager project and some of the films characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pacific rim : tales from year zero, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Tales From Year Zero (Hardcover)
the pacific rim the tales from year zero , one of the first movie of them all , years i have been waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Tales From Year Zero (Hardcover)
brilliant. it sets the scene explains much that is only hinted at in movie. a must for all jager fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa3b445c)

This product

Pacific Rim: Tales From Year Zero
Pacific Rim: Tales From Year Zero by Sean Chen (Hardcover - 18 Jun 2013)
12.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews