Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Artwork and would you believe it? An X-Force 'Caper' story!
Yeh I like the sharp stark edged artwork, but the story is the part which gripped me. If you've read the earlier, wondrously dark and turbulent tales in this X-force series but not reached this one, then be prepared for a bit of a shock, for in terms of this X-Force world you will be walking into their version of a screwball caper comedy... with lots of bodies of...
Published 19 months ago by Ghostgrey51

versus
3 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Marvel just don't get it...
Another waste of space from Marvel.

I have to be clear here, this is purely down to the artwork. It's so bad (or more out of place in a comic book of this sort) that I couldn't even be bothered to read the story. Which is a shame, as Wolverine, Domino and a bit of wetworks from the XForce regulars, sounded pretty cool.

Marvel just don't seem to be...
Published on 9 Jan 2011 by J. Stupart


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Artwork and would you believe it? An X-Force 'Caper' story!, 1 April 2013
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Force: Sex and Violence (Paperback)
Yeh I like the sharp stark edged artwork, but the story is the part which gripped me. If you've read the earlier, wondrously dark and turbulent tales in this X-force series but not reached this one, then be prepared for a bit of a shock, for in terms of this X-Force world you will be walking into their version of a screwball caper comedy... with lots of bodies of course....Be warned SPOILERS will follow...
Domino, while working for The Assassins Guild of New Orleans and involved in a firefight with The Hand manages to anger both, by rescuing girls destined for the sex-trade from the latter and using a truck belonging to the former. Wolverine elects in his best grumpy warm-hearted way to help her out; it is only when the fighting gets very serious and close that it transpires Domino had neglected to mention a minor detail; the aforementioned truck also happened to have $250 million dollars of the guild's funds stashed there in. The panel of Wolverine's outrage `...Money?' and Domino's cutesy girl reply `Whoops' is not going to grow old in my collection.
So we have a cross-country chase, lots of bloody fights, Wolverine and Domino having some...ahem...quality time and lots sharp banter. Eventually leading to a showdown at the Guild's HQ, involving Guild, Hand and as cavalry all of X-force. All is resolved well with most of the money going to a Japanese orphanage and Domino and Wolverine bickering over just what she did with the rest and why.
As you will have gathered this is mostly a two person show; although X-23 gets to show just why she is so deadly a foe; Foley is still a nice guy (`Foley stop trying to heal the assassins!'), Archangel has a stunning intervention. The villains however are really there just to be foiled or killed, particularly the apparent elite squad gathered by Bella Donna; anyhow that's not important. It's all about enjoying the `caper' the banter, the relatively straightforward story and of course that artwork which captures the X-Force world so very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to its title, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Force: Sex and Violence (Paperback)
The story about the u-men in the back of this was good, but the main story line seemed a bit short. However, it does live up to its title and for that I can't really be disappointed. Good art style also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great art and compelling story., 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Force: Sex and Violence (Paperback)
Domino has always been one of my favourite characters in X-Men/X-Factor, however she rarely gets to be the centre of attention as in this graphic novel.

The story is great and unusually I finished this one without stopping, it is violent and the art is great so would thoroughly recommend it!

The only downside is that the bonus story that comes with it is also included with New X-Men Volume 1: E Is For Extinction TPB: E Is for Extinction v. 1 (Graphic Novel Pb)which I bought at the same time as this one, but never mind it is still worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to a great series, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Force: Sex and Violence (Paperback)
It was great to see the development of the Wolverine and Domino's relationship, any one that enjoyed X-force series will love this. I am not going to ruin the story line but the title is spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gabriele Dell'otto's artwork is astonishing once again, 2 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the story is quite a simple one, but to be honest if you buy this product you are probably buying it for the art, and that - by italian maestro Dell'otto - is simply astonishing, probably even better than his "Secret War" project a few years ago; fan favourites Wolverine and Domino are rendered in exquisite beauty throughout, with some lovely splash images. my only criticism is that some of these 2-page splash images are marred by the binding down the centre-fold so you can't appreciate them nearly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful art, 11 Jan 2011
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm some what puzzled by the other review of this title as the criticism is levelled at the artwork which is quite stunning. The guy also admits to not even reading the book so how you can write a review of a product on that basis is beyond me. As of this review, amazon also have the details wrong about the creators involved. Gabriele Dell'Otto paints some incredible scenes (mostly violent but beautiful) as wolverine and domino go head to head with the assassins guild over stolen money although the other plot lines just seem cobbled together so that the bad guys look even worse ie people trafficking etc. The fight scenes are intense, bloody and brutal but thats what you should expect if you've been reading the regular series. If the artwork alone doesn't have you hooked then maybe this one ain't for you but it's a cracking read the first time round especially if you like to see wolverine hack people to pieces! And for a hardback it's pretty cheap which also features a back up story by Grant Morrison and Lienel Yu from a few years back. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked it., 26 May 2011
I liked it :-) If you like X FORCE then buy this. If you do not enjoy X FORCE then don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Marvel just don't get it..., 9 Jan 2011
By 
J. Stupart (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another waste of space from Marvel.

I have to be clear here, this is purely down to the artwork. It's so bad (or more out of place in a comic book of this sort) that I couldn't even be bothered to read the story. Which is a shame, as Wolverine, Domino and a bit of wetworks from the XForce regulars, sounded pretty cool.

Marvel just don't seem to be able to work it out that it's the artists who primarily sell titles, and the writer, whilst important, doesn't do it on his own. (else X Men Forever would be at the top of the chart, eh, Mr Claremont?)

Ok, so we've been spoiled over the years on the X Titles. Byrne, Lee, the Kubert Brothers, Yu, Madureira. But sadly we've also had Bogdanove, and several others whose names didn't even register.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Force: Sex and Violence
X-Force: Sex and Violence by Christopher Yost (Paperback - 22 Jun 2011)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews