Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great set-up
Collecting Fantastic Four #533-535 and Incredible Hulk #88-91 - written by Daniel Way and J.Michael Straczynski; and illustrated by Keu Cha, Juan Santacruz & Mike McKone this is the prelude to the Hulk's exile. When one of Hydra's gamma bombs goes off in the Hulks face, he gets angry in the vicinity of Las Vegas - enter the Thing, the only man who can talk Bruce down,...
Published on 12 July 2012 by J. Morris

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was slightly disappointed
I've read Planet Hulk and thought it was great so I wanted to pick this up to find out why the Hulk was sent to a different planet.

The book starts off with a fight between the Thing and the Hulk which I thought was lazily scripted and really didn't enjoy it it feels like it's in there for a single spoken line. After that, everything started to pick up and I...
Published 23 months ago by Mattamatix


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great set-up, 12 July 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hulk: Planet Hulk Prelude (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Collecting Fantastic Four #533-535 and Incredible Hulk #88-91 - written by Daniel Way and J.Michael Straczynski; and illustrated by Keu Cha, Juan Santacruz & Mike McKone this is the prelude to the Hulk's exile. When one of Hydra's gamma bombs goes off in the Hulks face, he gets angry in the vicinity of Las Vegas - enter the Thing, the only man who can talk Bruce down, Monster-a-Monster. After the Hulk has cooled off, Nick Fury requires his services to stop a rogue sentient AI satellite, but with Hulk in space; S.H.I.E.L.D. see a chance to be free of him forever...

Not my favourite animator of the Hulk, but a solid story nonetheless. I often think the Hulk looks like he is cell-shaded in Cha's stylings, compared to Romita Jr. for example. Anyhow, more of the same from Hulk and sets you up to read the Planet Hulk Omnibus perfectly. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was slightly disappointed, 27 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Hulk: Planet Hulk Prelude (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
I've read Planet Hulk and thought it was great so I wanted to pick this up to find out why the Hulk was sent to a different planet.

The book starts off with a fight between the Thing and the Hulk which I thought was lazily scripted and really didn't enjoy it it feels like it's in there for a single spoken line. After that, everything started to pick up and I started to really enjoy the book.

So why the 3 stars? Well the whole thing feels like 3 different stories that are loosely woven together. I was expecting something major to have happened to send quarantine someone alone on a different planet but the reason for him being sent away seems rather pointless.

Still the artwork is pretty strong throughout and given the price there is absolutely no reason why you should give this atitle miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but a touch pointless for all but collectors., 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hulk: Planet Hulk Prelude (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
This is a good introduction showing how the idea of getting rid of the Hulk was already circling in the keener minds of those in the Marvel Universe. The story covers a nice little showdown between ben grimm and the hulk as a discussion of monsters and men. It works well and is a bit more indepth than fantastic four #25 when this first happened.

The second major story is the actual sending off of the Hulk. Nick Fury does something questionable, hulk is tricked and a fight ensues. He is pretty much then blasted off into space.

Personally I like reading story in publication order and getting everything out of it. If i just wanted the story itself I probably wouldn't have cared. this is not that crucial to the story of the hulk nor does it overly inform you of anything other than he was blasted off into space which is pretty self evident.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hulk, 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hulk: Planet Hulk Prelude (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
I loved this novel although there was a few things which didn't add up at the end of the novel, however it is by far one of the best hulk novels i have read and actually enjoyed, a must for any hulk fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a fantastic comic and the prefect build up to Planet Hulk, 9 Aug. 2014
By 
master sj payne (Crawley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hulk: Planet Hulk Prelude (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic comic and the prefect build up to Planet Hulk. It is full of action, there is some unneeded FF moments but still a great comic. Buy It !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hulk: Planet Hulk Prelude (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Supper fast delivery just as described would recommend to anybody big thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The prelude to one of the finest Marvel storylines & a great read, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hulk: Planet Hulk Prelude (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
The prelude to one of the finest Marvel storylines & a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hulk: Planet Hulk Prelude (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
delivery was fast and the item is as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hulk: Planet Hulk Prelude (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
This is a gift, so I trust it will be what the recipient want as it is from a gift list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hulk: Planet Hulk Prelude (Graphic Novel Pb)
Hulk: Planet Hulk Prelude (Graphic Novel Pb) by Mike McKone J. Michael Straczynski (Paperback - 4 Aug. 2010)
£11.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews