Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starting in top gear
This volume reprints Amazing Fantasy #15 from August 1962 and The Amazing Spider-Man issues 1-10 from March 1963 to March 1964 (issues 1-5 were bi-monthly). The stories are scripted by Stan Lee and drawn by Steve Ditko, with Jack Kirby pencilling the back-up story in #8.

The script and art combine flawlessly to whisk you along at a great pace through the...
Published on 14 Dec. 2011 by Mr. Mice Guy

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars brilliant but the HC is better
THIS IS A GOOD READING COPY BUT I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THE HARDCOVER LIMITED EDITION THIS COLLECTS VOL 1 TO 10 ORIGINAL STEVE DITKO STORIES BUT IS MORE LIKE A GRAPHIC NOVEL ITS BETTER THAN THE OMNIBUS EDITION WHICH IS BIG BUT COLLECTABLE
Published on 29 May 2012 by henry radzki


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starting in top gear, 14 Dec. 2011
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marvel Masterworks: The Amazing Spider-Man Volume 1 TPB: Amazing Spider-Man v. 1 (Paperback)
This volume reprints Amazing Fantasy #15 from August 1962 and The Amazing Spider-Man issues 1-10 from March 1963 to March 1964 (issues 1-5 were bi-monthly). The stories are scripted by Stan Lee and drawn by Steve Ditko, with Jack Kirby pencilling the back-up story in #8.

The script and art combine flawlessly to whisk you along at a great pace through the stories; there are no extraneous caption boxes, as used by so many later writers as the art tells you everything you need to know, nor are there endless speech balloons to slow the flow [Roy Thomas and Chris Claremont, I'm looking at you], but that is how it was in Stan's day.

The contents are –
#1 – featuring the Chameleon
#2 – featuring the Vulture and the Tinkerer
#3 – featuring Dr Octopus
#4 – featuring the Sandman
#5 – featuring Dr Doom
#6 – featuring the Lizard
#7 – featuring the Vulture again
#8 – featuring the Human Torch
#9 – featuring Electro
#10 – featuring the Enforcers

How’s that for a line up of some of Marvel’s most famous villains – and you saw them here first. Well, 8 out of ten of them anyway, Dr Doom was already spoken for. This is where the Marvel Empire began (even if the Fantastic Four got top-billing as ‘The World’s Greatest Comic Book’ – Spider-Man was always the more ‘human’ comic to me).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Cheesy, but that's the charm of it, 19 Aug. 2013
By 
Koopa90 (Cape Breton, NS.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marvel Masterworks: The Amazing Spider-Man Volume 1 TPB: Amazing Spider-Man v. 1 (Paperback)
Certainly nothing like the action-packed stuff I grew up with in the 90's but that doesn't mean its not still a good read.
I enjoyed it. I expected a little more than I got from it, but never the less, I still enjoyed reading this collection.
Couldnt help but cringe every time there is a panel of Spider-man swinging, and even though you can see it yourself, you still get 4 speech bubbles on the page telling you who he is and what he is doing, "Wow that man is swinging from wall to wall" ... "Thats no man, its SPIDER-MAN" ... "They say he can climb walls just like a Spider!" ... and so on, its laughable but again, it was the style at the time.

So, down to the basics of this review.

Is it worth reading?
As a Spider-man fan, YES.
If you are new to Spider-man, I'd say NO as the style it's written in (once again, it was of the time period)may throw you off as its not overly interesting.

The book is nicely presented, the pages are that thin type, just like the actual pages of an old comic book.
There is a ton of extra content and even the original, long lost, cut and paste around pilot 11 page comic.
They even kept in the notorious 'Peter Palmer' typo in the early issues, a nice touch.

Well priced.
Well put together.
It's SPIDER-MAN.

Need I say more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poor Peter Parker, 27 Aug. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Masterworks: The Amazing Spider-Man Volume 1 TPB: Amazing Spider-Man v. 1 (Paperback)
Well, I bought a Lego Spider-man set for my son and thought that it might be meaningless to him without seeing some of the story. I looked at the movies (he's too young) and didn't know how to choose between the various animated series. So I thought if only I could go back to basics and get the original comics. Well of course, here they are about 10 full colour magazines collected together at a reasonable price - if you look at comics in the shops today they're about £3 each, so these are good value.
So you get the curious origins story and some great villains (some of whom I notice are still around today) but what makes it so good is that SM / Peter Parker is an ordinary (well, talented) student who has PROBLEMS. His double-life gives him a real head-ache.
My son (7) has got into Spider-man and asked for more and is interested in the other Marvel characters. Of course, here in the Norfolk Bayou I was raised with the Yanks from the bases and my best pal was American. This takes me back to those enchanted afternoons when we would lie on the floor looking through piles of comics from Sad Sack, Richie Rich and Casper to Thor, the Fantastic Four and the Incredible Hulk. Just make a peanut butter sandwich and pour the root beer and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant storytelling: the birth of Spider-man, 18 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. A. J. Mann (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Masterworks: The Amazing Spider-Man Volume 1 TPB: Amazing Spider-Man v. 1 (Paperback)
This edition collects Amazing Fantasy #15 (which alone would cost you £4000+) and Amazing Spider-mans #1-10. These are all fantastic stories.

Unlike Detective Comics #27 (the first appearance of Batman) where you only find out who Batman is in the last pane, Stan and Steve grace you with Spidey's identity on the front cover. This is a High School Peter Parker, a geek, down-trodden by his classmates, who gets bitten by a spider and learns from his uncle that with great power comes great responsibility. You all know the story! Well it starts here!

The stories are brilliant. The cast of villains we know and love/love to hate today are surprisingly quickly introduced in these pages with Doc Ock, The Sandman, The Chameleon, The Vulture, The Lizard, Electro and The Enforcers. That's a lot of first appearances and a lot of action!

Stan and Steve do a great job with the characterisation. One of ASM's great strengths is we've always been interested in his personal life just as much as his superhero life and this starts from the word go. We have Liz Dean as Peter's first crush and then Betty Brant who is still in the comics today. And as you work your way through these volumes there are hints about a Mary-Jane Watson. Bet you just can't wait to meet her. Not in this volume, (actually it's all the way in 5) but her first words went down in history "Face it, tiger... You just hit the jackpot!"

This is a really enjoyable read and highly recommended to Spidey fans and anyone who is thinking of getting into Spidey, because 50 years ago (give or take a month or two) people were starting off with these stories and loving them.

Excelsior! (I couldn't resist)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully reproduced, 15 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Masterworks: The Amazing Spider-Man Volume 1 TPB: Amazing Spider-Man v. 1 (Paperback)
Classic Spider Man. Character never as good as he was in these early issues. Colours beautifully reproduced. It's incredible how colours fade on old comics - even when using comic bags. I have some old Spideys form the 60s-80s and the colours are totally washed out. These Masterworks are a joy to read. But what's with the HIDEOUS covers. They look like something that should be airbrushed onto the side of a motorbike and don't even begin to capture the spirit of Spider Man. Doh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable stories, 11 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Marvel Masterworks: The Amazing Spider-Man Volume 1 TPB: Amazing Spider-Man v. 1 (Paperback)
Enjoyable early tales of Peter Parker, Liz Allen, Flash, Betty, Jonah J Jameson, Aunt May, Uncle Ben and others (some of whom vanished quietly into comic history / obscurity). The Dr Doom story is always an odd one, not exactly the kind of villain you would expect to battle Spidey (or even Flash). Other villains include Electro, Dr Ock, Sandman, Vulture, Chameleon, Tinkerer, Lizard and others.

The TPB includes a reasonable selection of bonus material including unused covers as well as the original art (but sadly not the pencils) by Steve Ditko (from Amazing Fantasy), inked by Al Hartley (possibly). If only the original Jack Kirby version ... but sadly, no such luck.

Great starter edition to the new TPB editions of the Marvel Masterworks series, reducing the price (and any shelving issues) of the series to a more affordable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where it all began..., 7 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Masterworks: The Amazing Spider-Man Volume 1 TPB: Amazing Spider-Man v. 1 (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of Spider-Man and as a fan, I don't think there's a better place to start with the series than this. Yes, the source material is over about 50 years old so you wouldn't think it had aged well. But the stories are sharp, witty and consistently entertaining. We also get a first look at some of the definitive villains in the series, with first appearances of the Vulture, the Lizard and Electro. What else can I say? If you're a fan of Spider-Man, you must own this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sumthing And Such!, 10 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Marvel Masterworks: The Amazing Spider-Man Volume 1 TPB: Amazing Spider-Man v. 1 (Paperback)
This volume of masterworks: The amazing spiderman was great. I couldn't find the original spideerman comics anywhere, except seperately. I mean the first one,
Amazing fantasy #15 is £60 on its own, but you can get that one and the first 9
issues of the amazing spiderman for only £12, I mean you gotta luv this book, it
has the begining of all your favourite villians and the origins of one of our
favourite masked heros. A DEFINATE 8/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does Whatever a Spider Can!, 20 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. C. McMartin "c_man_uk" (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Masterworks: The Amazing Spider-Man Volume 1 TPB: Amazing Spider-Man v. 1 (Paperback)
I grew up as a big fan of Marvel and DC cartoons and movies, but never really got into comic book reading. In recent years I've picked up a few different graphic novels and this has given me a taste for it. These Marvel Masterworks are a perfect start for a novice like myself. Its great to be able to go right back to the start and read the earliest adventures of Spiderman without having to fork out thousands of pounds (or more!) for the original comics.The 60s stuff seems very cheesy compared to modern comics, but the writing style of Stan Lee can not be questioned. He really is a master comic writer!

The first issues of Spiderman deal with his origin, how he recieved his powers and the death of his Uncle Ben. It also features the first appearances of some of his most iconic enemies, like Doctor Octopus, Electro, The Lizard and the Sandman. And it also features his first love interest, Betty, as this was before the days he knew either Gwen Stacy or Mary Jane Watson.

I would highly recommend this to anyone, both to comic book veterans or comic book newbies like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to comics, 25 May 2011
By 
Aurora Sinclair (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marvel Masterworks: The Amazing Spider-Man Volume 1 TPB: Amazing Spider-Man v. 1 (Paperback)
I was surprised to find out that, unlike some other heroes, Spider-Man comics were good from the very first one. Okay, this is a kid's comic and may not keep the Watchmen fans happy but Stan Lee and Steve Ditko got off to a flying start and introduced a new bad guy with almost every issue. Highly recommended for Spidey fans, particularly if you want to let your kids read it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marvel Masterworks: The Amazing Spider-Man Volume 1 TPB: Amazing Spider-Man v. 1
Used & New from: £30.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews