Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is responsible for my love affair with comics
I bought this as a present to my girlfriend, I read it originally when I was 10 in a local library, I wanted to share this special comic with her but it was out of print, thanks to the seller I was able to purchase this copy which is the exact same print as the one that made me love Frank Miller, Dare Devil and comics in general.
Published on 24 Nov 2011 by Not amused

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Let down by the art...
The much anticipated return to Daredevil by Frank Miller was a let down when it first appeared as a miniseries.
Time and hindsight has muted some of the disappointment but I'll always find it difficult to appreciate the artwork by John Romita Jr. Ugly crude hamfisted pencils pale in comparison with previous DD artists such as Gene Colan and even Miller himself. Still...
Published on 19 July 2012 by J. Gill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is responsible for my love affair with comics, 24 Nov 2011
I bought this as a present to my girlfriend, I read it originally when I was 10 in a local library, I wanted to share this special comic with her but it was out of print, thanks to the seller I was able to purchase this copy which is the exact same print as the one that made me love Frank Miller, Dare Devil and comics in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful retelling of the classic story, 25 Sep 2011
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Daredevil: The Man Without Fear TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
This is a beautiful rendition of the Daredevil genesis story arc from the masterful pens / pencils of Frank Miller, John Romita, Al Willamson, Christie Scheele and Joe Rosen.

The artwork stunningly accompanies the devastating tale of Matt Munro, the motherless son of a boxer and reluctant mob enforcer raised in Hell's Kitchen. An accident in which he is blinded by a chemical spill saving another man's life seems the end of his ambitions to educate himself out of the ghetto. But a strange man known only as Stick comes into his life and teaches him how to use his other senses. After his father is murdered for refusing to throw a fight Matt turns vigilante and metes out a terrible revenge, but loses his mentor as Stick abandons him as a lost cause. Things don't look good as Matt is becomes passionately involved with fellow vigilante Elektra but he is redeemed by his fight to save a young girl. From this he emerges as the fully fledged Daredevil. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 14 Sep 2007
By 
Art work is first class by John Romita Junior and the story by Frank Miller is excellent.

This is a definitive volume if you are a Marvel and or Daredevil fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it without fear!, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daredevil: The Man Without Fear TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Daredevil has always been somewhat on the fringes for me. However, after becoming more and more involved in the world of graphic novels, I thought I would give Miller and Romita's version a shot. After seeing the story through to the end I might safely say this may have been my favorite Marvel graphic novel ever! It is dark, the artistry is gritty yet maintains that special marvel charm...

All I can say is it must be a part of every comic collection, buy it and don't look back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Let down by the art..., 19 July 2012
By 
J. Gill (Derby,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daredevil: The Man Without Fear TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
The much anticipated return to Daredevil by Frank Miller was a let down when it first appeared as a miniseries.
Time and hindsight has muted some of the disappointment but I'll always find it difficult to appreciate the artwork by John Romita Jr. Ugly crude hamfisted pencils pale in comparison with previous DD artists such as Gene Colan and even Miller himself. Still it's Miller and compared to everything which followed, perhaps the writing was not so bad after all.

If you want the best then you have to look at Miller's Born Again and his original run from 158 onwards which has been collected many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prequel(ish) to Yellow, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book tells the story of how Jack was killed, how Matt was blinded and what exactly Daredevil did before he set up his law firm with Foggy - essentually, everything that Yellow misses out (although there are some inconsistencies if you try to read them as the same continuity, eg Electra and Karen both claiming to be Matt's first love). Still, i thoroughly enjoyed this book! the comics were each long enough that you were pulled right into a story, but not overly lengthened, so the pace was good. Artwork is a little shabby, but it's not like i could do any better, and i'm sure some would disagree with me on that.
Overall, i loved it! So good, that i'm now hooked on DD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daredevil: The Man Without Fear TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
A great addition to any comic book lover's shelf ! Particularly great for any Frank Miller fans. In good condition too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daredevil: The Man Without Fear TPB (Graphic Novel Pb)
Daredevil: The Man Without Fear TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) by Frank Miller (Paperback - 16 Jun 2010)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews