Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The single best comic-book I have ever read
This book (Which sees Spider-Man square off against Kraven one last time, with the Vermin getting caught up in the fight) is not just a good comic, it's one of the greatest pieces of literature of modern times. There are none of the two dimensional characters we have grown to expect from comics. From the first few frames, where we see the nobleman Kravenov destroying...
Published on 21 May 2001 by Damien Foley

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Kraven's Klassic Krapshoot
Kraven, a long-time Spidey villain, decides that he will hunt Spider-man as apparently Spider-man is the last creature he's been looking to defeat. But he also wants to prove that he's a better Spider-man than Spider-man - for some reason.

That's pretty much the set-up but with a title like "Kraven's Last Hunt", something decisive is likely to happen...
Published 20 months ago by Sam Quixote


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Kraven's Klassic Krapshoot, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spider-Man: Kraven's Last Hunt TPB (New Printing) (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Kraven, a long-time Spidey villain, decides that he will hunt Spider-man as apparently Spider-man is the last creature he's been looking to defeat. But he also wants to prove that he's a better Spider-man than Spider-man - for some reason.

That's pretty much the set-up but with a title like "Kraven's Last Hunt", something decisive is likely to happen like a death of sorts and seeing as the cover has Spidey climbing out of a grave, I'm guessing it's not him who pops it.

So here follows a review with some 25 year old spoilers:

How familiar are you with Kraven? If the answer is "who?" chances are you won't be exactly impressed by his introduction in this book as J. M. DeMatteis doesn't spend much time on his character except for a brief backstory at the start where we find out he's a Russian nobleman exiled from his homeland who likes hunting a lot. Because there's very little of Spider-man in the book, this is the character we're left with who we're supposed to relate to, empathise with, etc. Except Kraven's a loony who eats spiders "to gain their strength!", is obsessed with "honour" for his family and sees him accomplishing this honour by killing a guy who dresses in a black Spider-man outfit (in this book Spidey's outfit is trés emo-black!). We're supposed to care about this guy? It's a very shallow character portrait.

After "killing" Spidey, Kraven becomes Spider-man for a while(!) by killing criminals instead of stringing them up with web fluid which in his mind makes him a better man because...? Also he doesn't have web shooters or can climb on walls so I don't see how he's Spider-man at all, he just has the outfit.

Then there's the third main character, Vermin, who's an obscure villain that's a rat/human experiment gone wrong who murders/eats women at night. In a previous story arc Spidey and Cap spent an entire book taking down this character; his inclusion in this book is simply for Kraven to defeat him as easily as he did Spidey thus making him "better" than Spider-man (what a dumb character!). But really Kraven defeats both characters far too easily to convincingly claim that he's a "better" anything, it's just plotted in this contrived fashion to give the character some validation before getting rid of him.

Spider-man's barely in this book so be prepared for a lot of boring Kraven and Vermin stuff before getting to Spidey's appearances. But when he does appear, it doesn't seem to be the real Spider-man. For instance, the first issue where Kraven defeats him? No way would Spider-man be defeated by a D-list villain so easily! And when he punches Kraven in the face? Kraven's head should've come off. How many times have we seen Spidey do incredible things because of his super-strength? Punching Kraven, an ordinary human with no powers, full force in the face like he does should've killed him.

In the end it didn't feel like a very substantial story and everything that lead Kraven to book his place on the bullet train felt very contrived. It's like wish-fulfilment for the villain before rubbing him out of the Marvel U. I was even hoping for a "and it was all a dream" kind of ending. We did see Kraven doing a load of hallucinatory drugs at the start, and it would explain how he was able to defeat Spidey and Vermin so easily. "Kraven's Last Hunt" isn't nearly as brilliant as others would suggest. It's not a very good Spider-man book and feels more like a bonkers acid trip. Definitely not something I would single out as a "classic".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The single best comic-book I have ever read, 21 May 2001
This book (Which sees Spider-Man square off against Kraven one last time, with the Vermin getting caught up in the fight) is not just a good comic, it's one of the greatest pieces of literature of modern times. There are none of the two dimensional characters we have grown to expect from comics. From the first few frames, where we see the nobleman Kravenov destroying stuffed animals in his lair, we get a feeling that there's something deeper going on here.
To say that this is a good-guy versus bad-guy story is woefully inaccurate. The real "bad-guys" are the inner demons that torture each of the three main characters. The real hero of the story is Kraven. He is a man who spent his life in serch of the honour he feels is his birthright. That life is coming to an end and he has one chance left to claim his honour, he must destroy Spider-Man. The way he chooses to do this will leave you speechless.
J.M. DeMatteis' story of fallen honuor is flawless. I have never before seen such quality in a mainsteam comic. However, the best comic-book stories in the world can be reduced to blandness by bad artwork. Fortunately the artwork in Kraven's Last Hunt (By Mike Zeck and Bob McLeod) is every bit as powerful as the story. At times it feels like you're watching a movie rather than reading a book.
In short i'll just say that it's impossible to reveiw this book and do it justice. There is something in it for everyone to enjoy, even those who hate comics. If you only read one comic-book in you life, make sure it's this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kravens Last Hunt, 5 Mar 2013
This review is from: Spider-Man: Kraven's Last Hunt TPB (New Printing) (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Excelent, bought this item for my son. He loved it and has recommended it to his friends.
Well worth buying. Five Stars *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Spider-Man masterpiece?, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Alan the Kaz (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spider-Man: Kraven's Last Hunt TPB (New Printing) (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
The last time I read `Kraven's Last Hunt', I was probably still a teenager, and it immediately became one of my favourite comic book stories ever. At that time, I'd never read a superhero comic quite so harrowing or, indeed, literary. I was already a big J.M. DeMatteis fan from his `Amazing Spider-Man' run, and the `Justice League International' run he co-wrote with Keith Griffin, but this particular story was enough to make Mr. DeMatteis my first serious "favourite comic book writer ever". However, that was many years ago, back in the innocent old days when I thought that `Maximum Carnage' was a great story and that Todd McFarlane was a genius writer. Since then, I've discovered Alan Moore, Frank Miller, Grant Morrison, et al, so I re-read this book with some trepidation in that I might be ruining something which I once looked up to so highly. However, while it certainly isn't `Watchmen' level stuff (not that it was ever trying to be), and it's definitely a lot weirder than I remember it being, I'm happy to say that it's still a bloody good read.

`Kraven's Last Hunt' originally began publication during the tail-end of the lifespan of `Watchmen' which, along with `Batman: The Dark Knight Returns', came along out of nowhere and revolutionised superheroes by being all "adult" and "realistic". However, they didn't really "come out of nowhere" like many people suggest. Rather they were, along with `Kraven's Last Hunt' and many other titles, part of a long list of bold new superhero stories which didn't have to worry about the infamous Comics Code Authority. `Kraven's Last Hunt' takes our newly-married (at the time) Spider-Man and, for the first time ever, has him seriously question his own mortality and his human vulnerability. Kraven, whom up to that point was a third-rate villain nobody cared about, is explored to his fullest and shown to be a truly mad, but hopelessly tragic, figure.

This story definitely isn't perfect. Sometimes, when DeMatteis really pokes into Spider-Man's mind, things can get quite overblown and jarring. The morbidity of the whole thing really takes some getting used to, even in this day and age when "grim and gritty" superheroes are the norm. But it isn't all doom and gloom. This is very much a story about hope in the face of unrelenting adversity, and despite its weirdness at times, it's one of the most "human" superhero comics I've ever read. But, as much as my teenage self would have loved it to, I'm afraid that it doesn't quite make it onto that small list of "essential" superhero graphic novels that you absolutely must read before you die, like `Watchmen', `The Dark Knight Returns' and Frank Miller's `Daredevil'. It is undoubtedly, however, one of the best Spider-Man stories in that character's history, and definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man: Kraven's Last Hunt TPB (New Printing) (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
I am an avid DC fan so I'm not that familiar with marvel, this was my first spiderman book I've ever read. It was amazing, the art was great, I love the era and the story was fantastic. So I would recommend this to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
This review is from: Spider-Man: Kraven's Last Hunt TPB (New Printing) (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
This review is from: Spider-Man: Kraven's Last Hunt TPB (New Printing) (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spider-Man: Kraven's Last Hunt TPB (New Printing) (Graphic Novel Pb)
8.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews