Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pages are soaked with art work, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Iron Man: The Art Of Iron Man The Movie HC (Oversized) (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:44 Mins

This book contains concept art, photographs, paintings, storyboards, miniatures and live models. The main artists involved were Ryan Meinerding and Phil Sanders.

For people who like mechanical stuff, you'll be glad that to know that plenty of iron man designs are included. The drawings are detailed to the nuts and bolts. The evolution of Iron Man from concept to movie can be clearly seen from the first concept art right down to the life size cast created.

3D modelers who are looking for blueprints won't find them in this book. However, there are renders of Iron Man Mark II and Iron Monger from the front and side view. They should be enough to build the blueprint from.

Also included are the drawings for the environment, props and gadgets. That includes Tony Stark's house, his workshop and the Arc Reactor.

The last part of the book contains storyboards and pre-vis plates. Pre-vis are 3D storyboards screenshots. They discuss the story development and the challenges to shooting the movie.

All the pictures in the book are well captioned. They explain clearly the production process and the effect they are trying to achieve.

The only bad thing about the book is the paper stock. It is not thick enough. While black pages are cool, the paper has to be thick enough to absorb all the ink. If not, the paper becomes wavy. Luckily, it doesn't affect the visual quality of the images printed.

I still gave it a 5-star rating on Amazon -- more to 4.5-star because of the paper stock.

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but lots of art missing., 15 Dec 2008
This review is from: Iron Man: The Art Of Iron Man The Movie HC (Oversized) (Hardcover)
This is a really great book for all fans of the film and sci-fi/mecha in general. However I keep stumbling across pictures on google that aren't in this book and there were some on the DVD extras aswell. I know there's not enough room to put in all of the thousands of pictures done by the Iron Man art department but there's some really great ones missing e.g. The MArk 1 by ADi Granov.

But moan aside, a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man - Art Book, 5 Nov 2014
This review is from: Iron Man: The Art Of Iron Man The Movie HC (Oversized) (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:56 Mins

This book includes hundreds of great images, including:
- Iron Man suit concept art
- Photos of the Iron Man helmet and other pieces of armor
- Iron Monger concept art
- Jarvis/HUD
- Tony's Workshop & Malibu Home
- Stark's cars/jet
- Storyboards from various sequences in the movie

*Please see video for detailed photographs from the book [music is from the Iron Man soundtrack].

**I would recommend you purchase the Hardcover Edition of this book. The pages are soaked with colors as well as black backgrounds, so there is a lot of ink. The hardcover editions seem to have thicker pages, but many who own the paperback have complained about thinner pages which causes distortion. Also, the book is quite heavy, and having a hardcover allows you to better control the book while flipping through the pages. So it may be more expensive to purchase the hardcover edition, but I think the increased quality is well worth the extra cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pages are soaked with art, 28 April 2010
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Length:: 0:49 Mins

I'm glad they did a reprint for this book because it's a great book. There are actually people trying to sell this at hundreds -- note the plural -- of dollars. My copy is actually the hardcover but I borrowed the paperback version from a friend to check if there were any differences. There are none. The paperback features exactly similar content as the hardcover, right down to the paper stock. For that reason, I've just copied my old review from Iron Man: The Art of Iron Man, the Movie(hardcover) and pasted here, with minor edits.

The video is from the paperback edition.

-

This book contains concept art, photographs, paintings, storyboards, miniatures and live models. All are in high resolution and many printed satisfyingly huge.

For people who like mechanical stuff, you'll be glad that to know that plenty of Iron man designs are included. The drawings are detailed to the nuts and bolts. The evolution of Iron Man from concept to movie can be clearly seen from the first concept art right down to the life size cast created. The main artists involved were Ryan Meinerding and Phil Saunders.

3D modelers who are looking for blueprints won't find them in this book. However, there are renders of Iron Man Mark II and Iron Monger from the front and side view. They should be enough to build the blueprint from. There are also a couple of cool photos of the Iron maquette made by Stan Winston Studios.

Also included are the drawings for the environment, props and gadgets. That includes Tony Stark's house, his workshop and the Arc Reactor.

All the pictures in the book are well captioned and artists credited. Commentary explain clearly the production process and the effect they are trying to achieve, story development and challenges shooting the movie.

The only bad thing about the book is the paper stock. It's just my minor quibble. It is not thick enough. While black pages are cool, they become wavy after absorbing all the black ink. Luckily, it doesn't affect the visual quality of the images printed.

I still gave it a 5-star rating on Amazon -- more to 4.5-star because of the paper stock.

(More pictures are available on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ART from the best!, 6 Feb 2009
By 
Mate Jako "entenn" (Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man: The Art Of Iron Man The Movie HC (Oversized) (Hardcover)
Hell yeah! When I have first hold this beautiful album in my hand in a local retailer I instantly knew that I'm gonna get this. There are four things I'm nuts about, movies, special effects, Stan Winston, and concept art. All is in this book. I can't say nothing further than that it is a wonderfully constructed edition, with beautiful designs, and pictures from the best people in the industry. It is really exeptional following the development of the figures of this great movie. There is only one thing left to say that I want more books like this. Thanks for everybody involved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I've bought in a long time, 18 Dec 2010
Any fan of Iron Man will absolutely love this book.

It provides a unique insight into the processes that went into making the whole film and how the whole story was hinged on the armour and other designs covered in this book.

Everything is well presented throughout, with beautiful artwork and not too much to read, yet enough too explain everything thoroughly.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality title, 4 Jun 2010
By 
Midge "Midge Spencer" (Soul Fan, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice Art of the movie book lots of good pre production images and character studies but I would have liked to have seen more in the way of 3D wireframes and renders as a lot of this
movie relies on CG modelling and effects. That grumble aside a nice addition to the collection
if like me you are a fan of the movie and/or SFX and CGI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Man: The Art Of Iron Man The Movie HC (Oversized)
Iron Man: The Art Of Iron Man The Movie HC (Oversized) by Rhett Thomas (Hardcover - 3 Dec 2008)
Used & New from: £60.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews