Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Future war
This was a really good book. The Cable & X-Force books have been plodding along well enough by themselves but putting the two of them together for this brought their stories to a different level. I've always been a fan of Cable, Stryfe and Apocalypse and this book delivers big time on their little hate triangle. Apocalypse is back to his old self and not a moment too...
Published on 9 May 2010 by Derrick O'Rourke

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh.
So this book involves a crossover of two of the current X-books dealing with the events of Messiah Complex which is an excellent title on its own.
Cable is still in his role protecting Hope and the X-force is pulled from their mission and sent forward in time to help Cable.
Ive been really looking forward to this book but I was quite disappointed. The art...
Published on 15 Sep 2009 by Laughing man


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh., 15 Sep 2009
So this book involves a crossover of two of the current X-books dealing with the events of Messiah Complex which is an excellent title on its own.
Cable is still in his role protecting Hope and the X-force is pulled from their mission and sent forward in time to help Cable.
Ive been really looking forward to this book but I was quite disappointed. The art actually changes mid issue at some points and being a cross over has some very varied artwork from issue to issue making it visually hard to follow. Story wise was pretty much the same. It seemed like a mish-mash of various groups and plots but never actually came across as very engaging. It was like they wanted to tell everyone's story but only had a limited amount of time/space for each plot.
The x-force issues are excellent though and I cant wait to follow them further. Deadpool was a good addition also and provided some minor humour at times.
Nothing really changes the status-quo of the X-Universe after this book though. Its not really a great read for new comers who will have no idea whats going on. Its a decent story though for any X-fan. Get it if you like the X-force/Cable books. Dont get it if you are looking for a ground breaking stand alone story.
One thing I will say about this edition though is that it is FULL of content. Its a good buy for your buck and contains more than the listed issues on the amazon summary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Future war, 9 May 2010
By 
Derrick O'Rourke "Prof. G. Tripp" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Force/Cable: Messiah War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
This was a really good book. The Cable & X-Force books have been plodding along well enough by themselves but putting the two of them together for this brought their stories to a different level. I've always been a fan of Cable, Stryfe and Apocalypse and this book delivers big time on their little hate triangle. Apocalypse is back to his old self and not a moment too soon I say. The Bishop story is well done and explains his reasoning for trying to kill Hope. The backup files on all of Cable's history is a very nice addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag., 22 Sep 2009
A mish mash of artists and plot threads do not always make for a great crossover. The plot follows on from events of the messiah complex, a great crossover that pulled lots of loose ends together nicely. Sadly messiah war doesn't really do anything, it throws up a curve ball and resolves it. In fact what it does do is just create more loose ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fast, well-paced story with beautiful artwork, 24 Jan 2012
By 
Hadourien68 (Langen (Hessen), Deutschland) - See all my reviews
Despite being such a massive tome, this book is a relatively quick read, which goes a long way toward saying what an entertaining, fast-paced action story the authors crafted.
This crossover (i.e., a story developing across issues of different series) brings to a climax the struggle over the purposed mutant messiah, the first mutant baby to be born in years, Hope. The plan was to send her into the future with Cable, a time-travelling mutant soldier, to let her grow safe away from those who'd seek to kill her or manipulate her. However, another time-displaced mutant, Bishop, is convinced she'll usher the horrible future he was born into and is hell bent on killing Hope before that can come to pass, no matter what the cost. His pursuit is now coming to an end, since he's wrecked enough havoc throughout Time to corner Cable and Hope into a single place in a bleak timeline. He's also enlisted the help of Cable's nemesis. In our present though, the X-Men have finally located Hour and managed to send their black-opsstrike team, X-Force, to retrieve her at all costs. The Messiah War is this set to blow up soon...
First off, the artwork is stellar here and mostly very modern, i.e. if you don't like computer-enhanced art, look another way... In any case, the main artists here are among the best in their field (above all, I'm my humble opinion, Clayton Crain) and can also tell a comic story, so I liked the art and I'd recommend anybody to give it a try. There's even some more traditional artwork by returning artist Larry Stroman, who's only gotten better and who has been sorely missed. Story-wise, I liked the issues penned by Craig Kyle and Chris Yost more than the rest, though overall all writers and editors managed to keep the story tight, flowing well, with all parts meshing well together and not too many cheesy lines. I do have some gripes with Bishop being quite the talkative villain when on the verge of dealing the final blow (especially for a guy who's basically committed multiple genocide toward his ultimate goal), but I'll let it slip. Also, though I wouldn't recommend this to must long-term X-Men fans, new readers will not be lost, as there's a decent recap at the beginning and tons of background info in the back of the book. In the larger scheme of the X-Men universe, this also promises to have something to give, so the story should also remain relevant on a larger plateau.
This hardcover edition might be hard to find, buy there's still a paperback around for those unable to get their hands on this luscious tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accomplished sequel, 2 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. A. J. Mann (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Force/Cable: Messiah War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
I read Messiah Complex and loved it so I bought Messiah War. The story is great, but complcated. Cable is perfectly written, as is Deadpool. Deadpool is one of the finest comic creations ever. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has enjoyed recent X-men sotries like The House of M and Decimation. The story deals with Hope, a possible saviour of the mutant race, the first mutant child born since M-day and different groups' attempts to destroy or protect her. Very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really only for messiah complex fans, 3 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i liked most of this book, but i loved messiah complex. this continues from that, and is a must read for those who loved messiah complex, but its nowhere near as good. the cable issues bring the book down, but the x-force issues are amazing. clayton crain has done some beautiful artwork yet again. i hav given this foour stars mainly due to the x-force issues. this was the second installment in a trilogy, so hopefully the final book will b much much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Force/Cable: Messiah War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
delivery was fast and the item is as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Force/Cable: Messiah War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb)
X-Force/Cable: Messiah War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) by Christopher Yost (Paperback - 6 Jan 2010)
Used & New from: £28.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews