Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another alternate future storyline but a well realised one.
The story is set some time after the bad guys won, the last hero, wolverine has settled down to be a farmer. A pacifist after what happened he is no longer anything like the man he was. What will it take to turn that broken man back into the wolverine?
The art is absolutly fantastic. Once again steve McNiven delivers.
The story is a slow burner with various...
Published on 14 Nov 2009 by genejoke

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Present
This was a present for my son who raves over Sci Fi artwork and is an illustrator himself so was well acceptable
Published 8 months ago by marian grant


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another alternate future storyline but a well realised one., 14 Nov 2009
The story is set some time after the bad guys won, the last hero, wolverine has settled down to be a farmer. A pacifist after what happened he is no longer anything like the man he was. What will it take to turn that broken man back into the wolverine?
The art is absolutly fantastic. Once again steve McNiven delivers.
The story is a slow burner with various comedy elements, it also lays a few red heerings too, but it doesn't pull its punches either.
One of the best wolverine stories on recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great comic book, 10 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. N. P. Hayward "Moved2Review" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wolverine: Old Man Logan TPB (Wolverine (Marvel) (Quality Paper)) (Paperback)
Fantastic gritty touching moving story, fantastic artwork, though violent, not for kids! but just a great great book, fantastic story highly highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snikting awesome!, 21 April 2011
By 
Noel - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolverine: Old Man Logan TPB (Wolverine (Marvel) (Quality Paper)) (Paperback)
A traumatised Wolverine leaves the superhero world behind to become a farmer and raise a family, calling himself Logan and swearing non-violence for the rest of his life Meanwhile, the grossly outnumbered superheroes who remain are overpowered by a newly organised group collecting all of the supervillains to kill the heroes and divide up America amongst them. 50 years pass and Logan has fallen behind in rent to the Banner clan, Bruce Banner's family who govern their section of America. With the threat of violence against his family, Logan takes a risky courier job with his old friend Hawkeye, driving across America to deliver an unknown shipment to New Babylon. But will he make it back in time - and what happened to him to make him become a pacifist?

Mark Millar returns with his frequent collaborator, artist Steve McNiven, to deliver the goods on another fine book. I loved what he'd done, wreaking havoc on the America we know, and the gruesome ways in which the superheroes died. I particularly found the way Bruce Banner had turned evil and become a "greenneck" hillbilly interesting, as well as how the X-Men died, and the different rulers of the divided states of America (Red Skull is great as is Peter Parker's granddaughter).

The action is frequent throughout, all building up to the moment when - SNIKT! - the claws come out at last, but the anticipation is part of the fun of this book. The violence is what you'd expect in a Mark Millar book, that is to say it is very grisly and graphic, but that fits in with the character of Wolverine who is allowed to show the violence he is capable of in full view on the page and McNiven does a fine job of showcasing this.

Overall, a very fun, alternate take on the Marvel universe, and an excellent read with some fantastic art as always from Steve McNiven. A must-read for fans of superhero comics - Mark Millar does it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent from every aspect., 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolverine: Old Man Logan TPB (Wolverine (Marvel) (Quality Paper)) (Paperback)
I loved everything about it!
Story, graphics, dialogues, colors, all amazing.
I only wish it was longer :)
Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really cool!, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolverine: Old Man Logan TPB (Wolverine (Marvel) (Quality Paper)) (Paperback)
really cool story from a really different perspective on marvel characters like wolverine and hawkeye. good fun reading! the ending was really well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic art and amazing story, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolverine: Old Man Logan TPB (Wolverine (Marvel) (Quality Paper)) (Paperback)
I loved absolutely everything about this book. Stunning art, great story, post-apocalyptic style with elements of old western story, great cliffhagers before each new chapter (I would die of anxiety if I had to wait for each individual issue), and of course it all takes place in marvel universe. Also I liked that there were some great suprise character appearances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story and lovely drawings, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Andreas Hurtsen "Bp" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolverine: Old Man Logan TPB (Wolverine (Marvel) (Quality Paper)) (Paperback)
A new fascinating scenario that makes me wonder when a remake of Mad Max will hit the Cinemas.
The story leaves much to ones imagination!
And very good drawings, and most important - from the same penciler. (nowdays Marvel tends to change penciler ever second chapter making story not very pleasent to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wolverine:Old Man Logan TPB (Marvel), 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolverine: Old Man Logan TPB (Wolverine (Marvel) (Quality Paper)) (Paperback)
Wolverine- Old man Logan, - very good comicbook. The Steve McNives Art is perfect and fantastic! Very nice.... And screenplay, script from Millar is also very good and "daring" :) THIS is comic for me. (and for YOU) :)
Stepan Mares, Prague, Czech republik, Europe.
FIVE STARS for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet., 9 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Wolverine: Old Man Logan TPB (Wolverine (Marvel) (Quality Paper)) (Paperback)
You don't need vast amounts of Marvel knowledge for this one. It's easy to pick up and fun to read. Moves a little fast for my taste but I'd recommend Old Man Logan to old and new Marvel fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old Man Logan, 14 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Wolverine: Old Man Logan TPB (Wolverine (Marvel) (Quality Paper)) (Paperback)
This snuck up in the middle of the current Wolverine monthly comic book, out of the blue and unexplained. It's a sort of possible-future / alternate reality future for the Marvel Universe - I don't a definitive answer will be forthcoming - and it's absolute genius. It doesn't really matter if it's official canon or not, because you can imagine that it is if you want to and either way, it won't spoil the fun.

Excellent artwork, some great set pieces, and a really great take on the character and his possible future. Logan is humanised in a way you probably wouldn't expect. There are loads of cameos from future versions of other heroes from the Marvel Universe that strengthen this story.

I'd very much be interested in reading more stories from this timeline/alternate universe.

Apocalyptic and affecting. I can't actually think of anything wrong with it, so have no choice but to give it

10 / 10

David Brookes
Author of 'Half Discovered Wings'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac7b75e8)

This product

Wolverine: Old Man Logan TPB (Wolverine (Marvel) (Quality Paper))
15.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews