Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent run, unsatisfying conclusion
This is the third and final instalment of J. Michael Straczynski's character defining, though somewhat short lived, `Thor' run. In these three volumes, Straczynski single-handedly revived (literally) a long-running superhero and his equally enduring cast of characters whom, just a couple of years ago, Marvel had no idea what to do with. If you actually read the huge...
Published on 22 Jun 2010 by Alan the Kaz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could and should have been so much better
I just got the three volumes as a present and having read the reviews for the first volume I was really looking forward to reading them. And for volumes 1 and 2 I was not disappointed, they were absolutely superb. Ah, but volume 3. Often in a trilogy you expect the second volume to be the weak one, but in this case it is the final instalment. It just does not live up...
Published on 22 Aug 2011 by D. Jackson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent run, unsatisfying conclusion, 22 Jun 2010
By 
Alan the Kaz (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Volume 3 TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
This is the third and final instalment of J. Michael Straczynski's character defining, though somewhat short lived, `Thor' run. In these three volumes, Straczynski single-handedly revived (literally) a long-running superhero and his equally enduring cast of characters whom, just a couple of years ago, Marvel had no idea what to do with. If you actually read the huge character biographies at the back of this volume which, rather clumsily, attempt to summarise decade's worth of character development and ridiculous plot-twists into a few pages, then you'll see that Thor is a character who was in desperate need of a new lease of life. And Straczynski delivered it perfectly in this run, which draws heavily on the established continuity, yet also manages to create a clean slate that requires no previous knowledge of the character to enjoy.

As a conclusion, however, I was somewhat disappointed with this volume. The final issue, which was originally printed in `Thor: Giant-Size Finale', was more a lead-in to the next writer's run (which begins in the `Thor: Latverian Prometheus' TPB) than a "finale". I'm left with the impression that Straczynski had intended on a making his run a nice cohesive story but, with the upcoming Thor movie, Marvel decided to push the character more into the limelight. As such, they've made this series a crucial lead-in to the crossover event `Siege' which paves the way for the "new" (i.e. "return to the old") status quo of the Marvel Universe. This is, in my opinion, a huge shame.

Like his `Amazing Spider-Man' run before this, Straczynski had something very special going on while he was just playing with his own "corner" of the Marvel Universe, so to speak. But, such is the way of following mainstream superhero comics, and it will probably always be the case. Despite that grievance, these three volumes are great, and this one in particular is a very strong read. Furthermore, it lays down some very interesting foundations for the next writer, Kieron Gillen (a very good writer in his own right) to build on. Plus, it does something which I never thought would happen - make me excited about `Siege'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could and should have been so much better, 22 Aug 2011
This review is from: Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Volume 3 TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
I just got the three volumes as a present and having read the reviews for the first volume I was really looking forward to reading them. And for volumes 1 and 2 I was not disappointed, they were absolutely superb. Ah, but volume 3. Often in a trilogy you expect the second volume to be the weak one, but in this case it is the final instalment. It just does not live up to the other two volumes. It came across as stopping part way through. One assumes that was a Marvel decision because it is hard to believe that Straczynski thought "Oh yes this is where the story ends". So a recommended buy but not a patch on the other two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A sub-standard conclusion to an otherwise perfect run, 4 July 2011
By 
James Bull (Cambridge United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Volume 3 TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Straczynski's run on Thor has been some of the best material coming out of Marvel in recent years, but this final volume was a bit of a disappointment. The main problem is its lack of conclusion. The whole volume is essentially setting up subsequent plots for either the ongoing Thor series or the company-wide crossover event 'Seige'. It's still well written, and the art by Marko Djurdjevic is absolutely gorgeous, but this volume is nothing more than a 'joiner' - connecting Straczynski's run to the next volume by Kieron Gillen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST THOR TITLE EVER, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Volume 3 TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
THIS TITLE CONTINUES TO IMPRESS ON SO MANY LEVELS IT IS UNPRECEDENTED FOR A THOR TITLE. THE ARTWORK, STORYTELLING, CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT, RELATIONSHIPS AND FIGHT SEQUENCES ALL ADD TO MAKE THIS A MUST HAVE FOR ANY THOR FAN!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the Saga of Bill (Not Beta-Ray!), 14 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Volume 3 TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
I fully agree with the other reviewers, both with the fact that Straczynski has brilliantly reviatlised the Thor mythos and the fact that this final installment of his opus is disappointing! Ther's not actually alot of Thor here, the supporting cast gets most action and character including the fate of the mortal 'Bill'. this does indeed segue into the upcoming storylines of Asgard etc but it does feel like the master-plan was cut short. what was the deal with Sif/Loki? We waited all that time for the resolution of that plotline and while it was functional it is hard to believe that's what the writer originally had in mind! All that being said, these volumes are streets ahead of most books out there and remain recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Poor 'conclusion' to a fantastic series, 15 Sep 2010
By 
Thomas James Bell "Tattoo" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Volume 3 TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
I had never read a Thor comic until I picked up the first volume of this series based on its critical and commercial success. Volume 2 was even better, the story and art fantastic.The re-imaginning of Loki in particular and the twist in volume 2 involving his master plan across time is breath taking.

I couldnt wait to get Volume 3 however I was left very disapointed.

Firstly, its much shorter than the last volume and the back of the book is even padded out with biographies of some of the characters. There is very little action and the longest battle involves the human character rather than Thor or Loki.

Even though the same artist and writer have worked on the last 2 volumes, this volume seems rushed on both fronts. I totally agree with the previous reviewer that at some point the writer was told to extend the story after maybe just planning to tie things up as a trilogy.

I was expecting a climatic battle and all you get is the 2 sides stood talking about what to do next which Im sure is then shown in the next book 'The Latverian Prometheus'.

Even when the Asgardians talk, its like they have been dumbed down.I appreciate that they speak in 'old tongue' but Baldur in particular could pass as Yoda the way his words are being jumbled.

I wanted to love this book but unfortunately it is lackluster in comparison to the volumes that have come before it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Volume 3 TPB (Graphic Novel Pb)
Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Volume 3 TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) by J. Michael Straczynski (Paperback - 30 Jun 2010)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews