Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.4 out of 5 stars10
2.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2011
Its like finding out a friend of yours has NEVER been happy.

I like the authors work and I assume he was pushed into writing this.
Because its awful. The entire idea is just disgusting.

Spiderman makes a deal with the devil to save someone who is well into their 80's, at least.
Who would never have asked here to give up his happiness for her.

And deals with the devil work out so well don't they. Just ask Johnny Blaze.
They should have changed the story to have Aunt May die the following day because the devil trades in misery, not bargain-keeping.

The thing about Spiderman I always liked was RELATABILITY.
Sure he has super powers and your don't, but he was problems and worries and you can relate to that.

He grew up, he got married, he shared his hopes and dreams with someone. I've done that myself and its wonderful.
And then rather then have a RELATABLE end to the marriage, Mary Jane's death or a divorce.
Something that people have actually gone through.
Peter gives up the greatest source of joy he has ever know so his Aunt can die peacefully in her sleep the following day for all he knew.

Its just not relatable, and in an industry where comics are thriving on relatability, empathy and connecting with the reader,
this infantile fop of an idea will historically be seen as a pathetic cheap cash-in.

Moron doesn't cover the level of idiocy and stupidity spiderman trades in here. Its like he suddenly stands for nothing at all.

I'm certainly done reading Spiderman.
Its like cheering for someone who's too stupid to put on pants!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2009
Ive been reading spiderman since the beginnning of civil war and a bit of New Avengers so, all ive ever known is spiderman as a married man. After being unmasked I had so many questions. How will the conversation between J Jonah Jameson go, will peter be arrested etc. How did the writers tie up the loose ends? Say none of it ever happened. I though this was pathetic. Surely theres som ingenuity that could come up with an interesting solution. No. None of it ever happened. So for me this book is good as a finale. Imagine peter parker dying. Because thats what he is. DEAD TO ME. cos I dont like this new guy.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2008
What we have on one hand is a great looking and at times well written story. What we have on the other hand is one of the most bizarre decisions from the marvel hierarchy in a long time.

If you are a fan of spider-man and have been following his exploits over the years then be prepared to feel cheated.

Spider-man as we know him (in the comics) has been married to MJ for around 20 years (in comic time) and has developed as a charater through many perilous journeys (as is the life of a super hero). Recently spider-man died and was reborn, was unmasked during the Civil War, and returned to a darker guise as the aftermath of his unmasking led to Aunt May being shot. All of this was taking Spider-man in some new and exciting directions.

Yet, after all this build up and development we are faced with this 'one more day' arc in which (spoiler alert!!) Peter is so hung up on curing aunt may that he (along with MJ's approval) ultimately agrees to a deal with the devil (mephisto) and in turn their marriage never was. At the end of the book we are transported to a time and place in which Peter and Mary are not married and never have been, and in which Peter still lives at home with Aunt May and harry Osborn is somehow alive again.

What Marvel have done is 'reset' Spider-man? So all of those years of following the development of this character is washed away in one foul swoop. Pretty unbelievable.

This whole story arc has come in for huge criticisms and some have reported it as the worst story in comic book history. Queseda (Chief at Marvel) claims to have never been a fan of a married spider-man and felt that there is so much more of the charcter to explore as a single male, but at least in the past the writers etc had the courage to kill off characters (Gwen Stacey) and not come up with some rubbish story in which Spider-man, one of the great heros of our time, making a deal with the devil no less, which ultimately ends the marriage to the love of his life. The writer of this story, JMS, actually asked to have his name removed from the final issues due to differences of opinion from Queseda in regards to the validity of the story, but was pursuaded through a sense of loyalty to have his name remain.

MJ has been a rock in this series for a long time and I think in creating this new bachelor boy spider-man Marvel have shown a severe lack of respect for the charcter and for the fans.

Had I just started reading Spider-man, yeah, this book would be alright, but as a fan I have got to say that Marvel have monumentally screwed up one of its favourite sons.

I will buy Brand New Day and see what it brings but I have lost a great amount of faith in Marvel after this and it could be the end of reading Spider-man as far as I am concerned.

Poor show Marvel! Poor show!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
Every so often in comics, you will get a story that is clearly editorially mandated that you see behind the curtain somewhat and realise the story is merely a means to get to the new status quo. In this instance, Marvel Comics had decided to restore Peter Parker's singleman status in a hope to make him more appealing. Apparently, being married makes you dull and boring. After revealing his identity in the controversial Civil War storyline, Marvel were prepared to do a wipe-clean job on Spider-Man in order to cherry-pick the elements they liked, and remove those they didn't (such as the Spider-Marriage).

Without giving too much away although this story is so notorious as being the dissolvtion of the marriage that it's hard to skirt away from that fact, Peter Parker and Mary Jane are pushed to their limits by the situation they have found themselves in. On the run from the authorities with his identity public, Peter struggles to keep close to his dying Aunt May in hospital. When the demon Mephisto appears with an offer to 'fix things', it seems too good to be true, and once the consequences of their deal is revealed, Peter is forced to choose between the two women in his life.

The biggest issue with this story is the fact that the pieces have to fall into place to bring Spider-Man out to the status quo necessary for the new creative team to take over. It seems odd that Mephisto would offer to restore Peter's secret identity, heal Aunt May and only ask for his marriage in return. It would be far more dramatic if Mary Jane had been shot, and Peter was forced to choose between saving her life, but she would never have met him (or something akin to that)

The downside to this change in established continuity is that it poses a question mark over all the events that have happened until now and how the characters remember them. It reminds me of the introduction of Dawn into Buffy and how everyone in the show had altered memories of the past four seasons with this added character always being there. The stories we've read since the wedding in 1987 are no longer the true memories for the characters, and this makes for a confusing narrative in future stories. Rather than erasing an event from the past, it may have been a better for the franchise to have Mary Jane file for divorce. I'd agree that the mindwipe of the secret identity was necessary (although incredulous!) but to re-write over twenty years of stories seems to be a dangerous path to take, when a simple divorce would have done.

Overall, the story is well-written despite the plot holes and editorially driven conclusion. The writer, J. Michael Strazynski even asked for his name to be removed from the final part, which was rewritten by the editor-in-chief, Joe Quesada. While Marvel seem keen to gloss over the plot holes and push forward telling Spider-Man stories under this 'Brand New Day' banner, this story does damage the Spider-Man mythos and complicates the continuity far more than was needed, in order to 'fix' the Spider-Marriage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2009
JMS, creator of the famed Babylon 5, was always a writer for whom continuity and logic were of the utmost importance in story-telling. For him to be forced into a reset like this is hugely disappointing. Long-term readers of Spidey can't help but be disappointed by the editor in chief's decision to throw years of back-story away on an egostical whim.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2008
So, One More Day, for anyone with even a nose in the comic word they should be aware of the controversy this story caused among Spider-man fans. Having waited until this volume is published before reading One More Day I have to say it was a strange read even knowing how it turns out.

For those who have followed the major Spider-man developments of the past year the start point of One More Day should be familiar, for those who aren't, following on from Civil War and Back in Black Spider-man's secret identity is no longer secret and his Aunt May lies in hospital dying from a bullet wound meant for Peter Parker.

The first half of One More Day is really good with the pacing and dialogue very good indeed, Peter's struggle to find a way to save his aunt via old friends and new enemies is handled very well. He is continually told by others that May's death is going to happen and he should use the little time he has caring for her, at the point where it looks like Peter is beginning to accept the inevitable is where the stumbling block comes.

(SPOILERS FOLLOW - YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED)

Peter is offered a way out by supernatural means but this comes with a cost to both him and his wife, Mary Jane, some of you will be aware of how the story ends and the uproar it caused. Having been a huge Spider-man fan for several years I wasn't really angered by the end to One More Day but found myself really confused. On the plus side, When Peter and mary Jane are offered the solution to Mays death and the price the have to pay for this you do get some very touching dialogue between them and this is what confused me, you are given clear signs why these two have to be together because they love each other so much only for it all to fall apart. The thing that Marvel have always championed about Spider-man is he is the every man and some of Spider-man's best moments are those in his normal life he has no control over such as the death of his friends and the burden of being Spider-man magnifying these aspects. For those of us who have followed Spider-man comics for a long time we have seen him grow up, face losing friends, fall in love and get married, his aunt discovering his double life, his seperation from Mary Jane and reconciliation so to see all this dismissed is what angers fans. The eventual end to One More Day is the only problem for me but time will tell as to how it will stand up in the library of Marvel stories.

The books art by Joe Quesada is really beautiful for the most part and Strazcynski's writing of dialogue flows exceptionally well. So even if you heard how it ends and you're put off by it I would still recommend One More Day just to see part of how good Spider-man can be, the tender moments between Peter and Mary Jane elevate it outside super hero comics because you see what every good story needs, a man and woman who simply and unconditionally love each other.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2009
After reading Spider-man since I was a small child, I didn't think it could get any worse than the 'raping of Gwen Stacy by Norman Osborne' travesty that JMS came up with. I was wrong. Tempted back into the series by the Civil War storyline, this story has ruined any memory of Spider-man I ever had from my childhood. I simply can't bring myself to read Marvel comics any more - it's not a knee-jerk reaction, but something that's been building up since Straczynski began his run. If Marvel don't care about their flagship character, and a character that defined my childhood, then I'll be damned if I'll give them another cent.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2010
I've seen that many reviews talk only about the effect that this comicbook had on Spidey universe, not the actual storyline.
In fact, this is probably one of the best Spider-man storylines and maybe the most heart touching story in MARVEL. The best part of the story is Spidey looking for anyone who could help him save Aunt May. It was so amazingly written, that you feel the time running fast and a great dose of adrenaline. And the dramatic part about the deal with Mefisto, and that little girl... this really brings comicbooks to a whole new level. The artwork by Joe Queasada is stunning as he is probably one of the best artists in the industry.
This is also good for new readers, as there's a short summary of events that you need to know to enjoy this story.
44 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2008
Joe Quesada is a great artist, very stylized and easy to follow. Thats all I feel the need to say on the art. I haven't read much of JMS spiderman so i cannot comment on his whole body of work but here his writing seems very good. As a stand alone story this will seem a little confusing, much has gone before and as for after...
Well lets just say this changes everything, it is a touching story that reminded me a bit of the movie the fountain. Worth picking up.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2008
This is an amazing collection of comics. 4 issues are present here, and were the last ones written by J. Michael Straczynski. He really is an excellent writer, and his presence will be missed on the Spider-Man comics. I will review each of the 4 comics featured in this story arc, seperately because I feel the quality of each deserves seperate analysis.

Issue #544(Amazing Spider-Man): This is the best issue featured here. Everything about it is amazing, as the title of the comic suggests. You have Peter distraught about what he should do about Aunt May and he has no idea what to do. If you have read the comics previous to this one(Back in Black), then you will know that this has been really well built-up to this point. Also, the relationship between Tony Stark and Peter Parker is rather twisted and complex at this point. Which is why it is awesome that they bring it to a stunning conclusion in this issue. I really enjoyed the dialogue between the two heroes and it's what makes this one so amazing. There are some really great exchanges here. Not to mention, the fight they have is awesome. The art work is on fire here. 10/10

Issue #545: This is another excellent addition to "One More Day". Spider-Man visits Dr. Strange for further help in this one, and it features some interesting twists. My favourite part is when the writer manages to link this issue back to Amazing Spider-Man #42. When I read that part I was just like: "Whoa.... that is amazing!". It was a neat little idea, and I thought the execution was excellent. Recently, during JMS run on Amazing Spider-Man, the title character has had a lot of interaction with Dr. Strange which was cool because it expanded the Spidey universe. So it's nice to see a conclusion to their relationship. 8.5/10

Issue #24(Friendly Neighbourhood Spider-Man): This issue reminds me of the "Buffy The Vampire Slayer" episode, titled "Restless". Most of it is like a dream in which Spider-Man is introduced to some unfamilar faces. He meets three people, each with their own interesting story. Some themes are tackled here which make you stop and think for a second. But when Parker meets, the fourth and final face... this is when the most major shock of "One More Day", is revealed. 8/10

Issue #41(Sensational Spider-Man): The final part of "One More Day" is a fitting final. There are some very emotional scenes here between Peter Parker and Mary Jane as they both make the decision regarding Aunt May's fate. When they make their choice, the dialogue is extraordanary. I thought I was watching a movie. You can tell that the writer put all of his effort into this, because it really is something special. The final scenes of this issue serve as an introduction to the next story arc, "Brand New Day". I thought it was ok, but a bit weak really... But other than the introduction at the end, the rest of the issue is... spectacular. 8.5/10

"One More Day".Amazing. One of the best Spider-Man stories ever written.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse