Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Im the best at what i do"-Wolverine
What can i say check this out. Its a piece of the puzzle of wolverines shakey past. The drawing are superb. This comic is very violent and shows just some of the things wolverine has done and has had to put up with in his past, its no surprise hes not scared of any one! Be warned you will be compelled to get the rest in the series you will really want to know what happens...
Published on 3 May 2009 by D.K

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wolverine Goes Meh
Ok so I am a big Wolverine fan like alot of other people and I have been steadily growing my X-men collection so this seemed like a natural buy after M Day. Hmm. He starts the book angry but he isn't sure who at so chases some leads from one place to another while the story is cut up with scenes of his past. Cue new character that you don't end up caring about and some...
Published on 26 Sep 2011 by Harbinger


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wolverine Goes Meh, 26 Sep 2011
Ok so I am a big Wolverine fan like alot of other people and I have been steadily growing my X-men collection so this seemed like a natural buy after M Day. Hmm. He starts the book angry but he isn't sure who at so chases some leads from one place to another while the story is cut up with scenes of his past. Cue new character that you don't end up caring about and some cameos from the X-men but after finishing the story I felt like he hadn't really gone anywhere. The writing isn't bad but the art work ..well..doesn't work. It is the same bloke who did Preacher which is beautifully drawn but ends up turning Wolverine from a grisled old man to a clean shaven 20 something. M Day did him some good it seems. He also seems to switch from being unlikable as past self to an old (young) moaner in the present. Overall this book didn't make me want to buy the others even though I want to see the back story to Dakan. I might revisit the series once I am out of other things to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Im the best at what i do"-Wolverine, 3 May 2009
This review is from: Wolverine: Origins - Born in Blood: V.1 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
What can i say check this out. Its a piece of the puzzle of wolverines shakey past. The drawing are superb. This comic is very violent and shows just some of the things wolverine has done and has had to put up with in his past, its no surprise hes not scared of any one! Be warned you will be compelled to get the rest in the series you will really want to know what happens to old wolvie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bloody hell, 24 Dec 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wolverine: Origins - Born in Blood: V.1 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Wolverine gets his memory back and decides to get his revenge on his former handlers who made him perform a series of heinous deeds many years ago. But a direct attack on the White House by mysterious forces coincides with a visit by Wolverine, implicating him in the terrorist incident. The President orders they send Frank Simpson aka Nuke after Wolverine to take him out once and for all.

I've read Daniel Way's "Wolverine Origins" series in a pretty haphazard order, picking up volumes whenever I see them rather than reading them in order, so I'm actually finishing the series with the first book! So I know all about the revelations that follow, etc etc but "Born in Blood" is still a pretty damn good read.

We find out just how much of a bastard Logan's been in the past - and he's a pretty mean git at the best of times! - and some of the things he does in the `60s is really dark. And for those who enjoyed "Daredevil: Born Again", Nuke returns with some updates to fight Logan with and Way gives him a pretty nasty backstory on how he came to be the brainwashed killing machine he is.

Steve Dillon's art is fantastic as ever and there's a pretty decent superhero fight at the end which isn't just mutant powers zapping to and fro but has some interesting tactical moves between Wolverine and... well I won't spoil it. But Way's put some thought into it rather than just have the supes bash one another mindlessly.

As for the rest of the series, the best stuff happens in the first five books but the rest of the series isn't bad either and is worth reading if you're a Wolverine fan. "Born in Blood" is an excellent beginning and has plenty of blood and violence to stay true to the (black) soul of the character. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable story, terrible art., 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Origins is a great series. I enjoyed the whole thing, despite costing a pretty penny by the end. This first volume sets everything up quite well, but the art style was absolutely not to my liking. Luckily, all subsequent volumes are vastly improved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A much darker side to Wolverine, 12 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you thought Wolverine was vilonet before, you've seen nothing yet! This comicbook includes : Wolverine impersinating a police officer, Wolverine framing a man for a murder he commited, Wolverine attacking the White House, a very violent scene of Wolverine in the Viatnam War with a knife, a young child murdering his own mother, and the man named Nuke having his legs cut clear off by Wolverine. Plus much more bloodshed, vilonce, and guest-appearnces from Captain America, Cyclops, and Emma Frost. But all round, a great story with good and graphic art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One month on, and still don't have it.....!!!!!!, 3 Jun 2012
By 
P. Symons (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolverine: Origins - Born in Blood: V.1 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Ordered this a month ago and it still isn't here.
Not impressed that there has been no contact but am asked to review, here's my review....!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wolverine: Origins - Born in Blood: V.1 (Graphic Novel Pb)
Wolverine: Origins - Born in Blood: V.1 (Graphic Novel Pb) by Daniel Way (Paperback - 18 April 2007)
Used & New from: 19.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews