Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars much better than expected
when i pre ordered this book i did so in the hope i would be able to add more to the story of the dark tower. as far as it goes in that regard it pretty much gives you a striking version of wizard and glass, which is arguably the best of the 7 books in the series.

but that isnt the aim of this book. upon taking the plastic seal off my book, i find a leather...
Published on 16 Nov 2007 by T. Brown

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wizard and Glass, the illustrated cliffnotes editition
If you've read/are reading the dark tower series do not expect anything new. Having just finished volume 4 i picked up the graphic novel which was basically an illustrated version of the events of 4. Don't get me wrong the artwork is supreme (as one would expect from marvel) and comic isn't bad. BUT it's like reading the book i just finished again. Ultimatly i didnt...
Published on 27 Mar 2008 by SBS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars much better than expected, 16 Nov 2007
By 
T. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Tower: Gunslinger Born: 1 (Hardcover)
when i pre ordered this book i did so in the hope i would be able to add more to the story of the dark tower. as far as it goes in that regard it pretty much gives you a striking version of wizard and glass, which is arguably the best of the 7 books in the series.

but that isnt the aim of this book. upon taking the plastic seal off my book, i find a leather bound hardback book, with an inviting full colour sleeve just waiting for me to prise open. if you havent already take the sleeve off and look at the book underneath.

then of course there is the quality of the paper. it is full colour glossy paper. this is no cheap graphic novel. this is artwork done to perfection. there is not a single page that isnt its own piece of fantastic art in itself.

Gunslinger born brings rolands world to life. if you, like me, loved the dark series, then you will love this. if you havent read the novels and your thinking of about it, do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ka is the wind, 10 Nov 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dark Tower: Gunslinger Born: 1 (Hardcover)
"The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed."

Those words opened the first book of Stephen King's "Dark Tower" series, and they open the chilling, richly-drawn "Dark Tower: The Gunslinger Born." This intense comic series reintroduces readers to a younger, less cynical Roland, and the harrowing tale of how he became a true gunslinger.

It opens with the gunslinger and the man in black, endlessly pursuing and pursued across the desert, and introduces us to their timeless natures.

Then the comic takes us back many years, to when Roland of Gilead was a teenage boy. He and a bunch of other boys are being tutored by Cort, a bondsman who knows all the fighting tricks, and is supposed to teach them to be gunslingers -- or be exiled forever. And when Roland sees his mother in bed with his father's wizard, Marten, he angrily goes off to take Cort's final challenge.

But when his father comes back to Gilead, he reveals that Roland has been manipulated by Marten. To save Roland's life, he is sent to Hambry on an undercover mission for the Affiliation. There he meets Susan Delgado, a beautiful girl who's been bought as the mayor's gilly. As you can guess, they fall deeply in love.

But Roland is still unaware of the dangers that surround him, or a horrific conspiracy to destroy Gilead and the gunslingers -- led by the distant, demonic Crimson King. As Roland's ka-tet splinters, they are framed for the murder of the local mayor -- and the resulting battle will begin the destruction of everything Roland loves...

"Gunslinger Born" is basically adapted from the flashbacks from Stephen King's "Wizard and Glass" novel, so fans of the book will probably already be acquainted with the tragic story of Roland's past. But it's almost as striking in comic form as in book form.

Part of that comes from Jae Lee and Richard Isanove. A lot of adaptations fall flat ("Anita Blake", anyone?), but their detailed artwork gives vibrant life to the story -- sun-dried fields, ruined buildings, ominously darkened chambers, and faces that seem to be riddled with shadows. There are moments of beauty (Roland and Susan's only tryst) and others of pure ugliness like Roland's fight with Cort, or the face of the shadowed, bloody Crimson King.

But artwork alone doesn't make a comic book good. Robin Furth and Peter David recrafted King's unique prose for this -- the dialogue is spare and understated, while the narration has an ironic, regretful quality, as if Roland himself were telling the readers of his story. It's even peppered with the language of this postapocalyptic world ("... set your watch and warrant on it.")

And we get to see Roland back when he was a brash teenager, very different from the grizzled gunslinger at the start. He's strong, brave and honorable, but also very naive. And we get to see other characters from his past -- his careworn father, the malignant Marten, his first ka-tet of teen boys, and his first, tragic love Susan.

And each part of the story has an extra one at the ending, fleshing out the history of the post-apocalyptic Mid-world -- stories of Maerlyn's mirror, the origin of the gunslingers, the devastating event that changed the world, the Crimson King and his ties to Roland, the history of Rhea the witch, and the Charyou Tree ritual. A lot of it has to do with Arthur Eld, the Mid-world version of King Arther.

"The Gunslinger Born" is a haunting, dark comic book experience, nearly as intense as the original text by Stephen King. A brilliant piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Tower Brought To Life!, 7 Jan 2010
By 
Rt Giles "RTG" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Tower: Gunslinger Born: 1 (Hardcover)
Ok first of all if you are reading the Dark Tower Seires and are thinking of perchasing these graphic novels for your own good WAIT UNITIL YOU FINISH THE BOOKS! There are sum serious spoilers here! I wanted to buy this whilst reading through Kings masterpiece series i was glad now i didnt!. After finishing the books i decided to buy the graphic novels...WOW

Firstly the presentation is great: sturdy hard back graphic novels with a leather bound case which is covered by a slip cover,the glossy paper is of the finest quality and in total makes sure these novels will stand the test of time.

Secondly the artwork in these seires by Lee and Isanove is flawless. It is very clear they have read the books and the project has been overseen by King. Probably the best artwork ive seen in any graphic novel or comic!

These are great stand alone Graphic Novels for people who dont wish to read the dark tower series.

For fans of the books such as myself it is with great pleasure to see Kings work litterlay come to life. The charicters and places look just how they are described as in the books and no stone is left unturned much of the dialoge between charicters is the same which makes the work even more authentic. The graphic novels stand there own aswell as they give you and even clearer insight to Kings world of the dark tower. As i said i am glad i read these after reading the books as they just add more to kings great story for people who have read the books. But as i have said these are a great comic seires for any serious comic/graphic novel fan who wants something different with great artwork and a great story.

If you liked the Books and want more dont think about it just buy them well worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stunning venture into the world of the Dark Tower, 16 Jan 2008
By 
Mark Chitty (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Tower: Gunslinger Born: 1 (Hardcover)
Stephen King's The Dark Tower is a seven book epic following the journey of gunslinger Roland Deschian on his quest to the Dark Tower. In book 4, Wizard and Glass, Roland tells of his youth and the time he became a true gunslinger. It is this story that we follow in The Gunslinger Born, a comic adaption of The Dark Tower overseen by Stephen King, drawn by Jae Lee and Richard Isanove, adapted by Robin Furth and scripted by Peter David. The Gunslinger Born collects all seven of the comics that were released individually in one stunning hardback.

We join a fourteen year old Roland as he discovers his mother's adultery with Marten, his reaction to this is anger and he challenges Cort, the one that trains the young gunslingers. If he fails he must leave Gilead in shame. Should he win, he will be the youngest gunslinger, pushing his father into second place by two years. Roland triumphs and becomes a gunslinger, although not yet able to take on the sandalwood grip guns of his father, he has his own first set.

His father returns to Gilead, aware of his wife's affair and disappointed in Roland for reacting the way he did. To protect Roland, his father send him and his two closest friends, Alain and Cuthbert, to Mejis in order to gather information on the activities there and to see if Farson, the one leading an attack on Gilead and its surroundings, has influenced the inhabitants and using resources that are needed for the alliance. It is in Mejis that Roland meets Susan, and in doing so changes his destiny forever.

The graphical style of the comics are truly impressive, with both artists doing a superb job on them. For myself, a long time fan of The Dark Tower books, the collection is a great new experince on some of my favourite stories from them. Even for a first time reader, this is a great introduction to Roland's world. As I said before, as it is basically a shortened version of the events we are told in Wizard and Glass, but it is still an amazing story and Robin Furth and Peter David have done a great job in adapting and scripting the events to suit comic book format.

All I can add is that I hope further comic books are done on Roland's life, and if we could get some new stories that between the time of these events and those in The Gunslinger (the first Dark Tower book) it would be even better. Whatever happens, I'll buy more of these if they are ever made and thoroughly enjoyed my first venture into Gilead and Mejis in this form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To compare this graphic novel to its paperback predecessor would be unfair., 29 Nov 2007
This review is from: Dark Tower: Gunslinger Born: 1 (Hardcover)
Similar to books that are translated to movies, certain elements won't or simply cannot translate. As someone who has an afinity for reading comics, graphic novels and books I can say I highly recommend this book. When this medium does a good job it sucks you in to its world. From the first turn of the page you will be engrossed in and become part of the world of the gunslinger born. The writing and artwok are amazing. I was never a huge fan of Peter David's writing but his work here is astounding. I have been a huge fan of Jae Lee's artwork since his early days on Namor. This is by far his best work. Richard Isanove completes this story with his beautiful coloring. This is a great coming of age story with interesting characters, politics and action to spare. You will not be dissappointed with this book!!! Also, if you missed reading Tino Georgiou's masterpiece--The Fates, go and read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Tower: Gunslinger Born: 1 (Hardcover)
The delivery was fast! The book itself was in great condition! I'm slightly obsessed with the dark tower so had to have this comic! The artwork is brilliant and the story is great! A must for any DT fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fair, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Jamie (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Tower: Gunslinger Born: 1 (Hardcover)
Quite good, illustrations are quite good and it's nice to see the story of wizard and glass and some of the gunslinger told in a new format with some new angles. The dark tower books, of course, are the ultimate. But this might be a good way in for people who don't like reading and cannot keep waiting for the perpetually stuck in development hell tv / movie version of the series that keeps getting mooted...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Tower: Gunslinger Born: 1 (Hardcover)
Great reading, this was a real page turner, i recommend it for any avid readers of suspense/thrill novels guarantee you will want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very cool, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Tower: Gunslinger Born: 1 (Hardcover)
I bought this as a Christmas present, as my sister loves Stephen King books, and I was pleasantly surprised. It is very cool and in my opinion the Marvel mash-up does the book justice. Great for a present, definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality, 10 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Tower: Gunslinger Born: 1 (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift for my girlfriend who is a huge Stephen King fan, and she loved it. I read it as well and I enjoy the art style. The book itself is constructed very well and is durable, like other books in this series we have read. I have nothing bad to say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Tower: Gunslinger Born: 1
Dark Tower: Gunslinger Born: 1 by Robin Furth (Hardcover - 21 Nov 2007)
15.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews