Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The classic years...
This volume contains the complete "Dark Phoenix Saga" as well as the "Days of Future Past" stories and for those alone is worth the price of admission.Both Byrne and Claremont were at the height of their creative powers and , frankly , these stories have never been equaled or bettered. I have been an avid X-men reader for 20 years now and these are the...
Published on 25 Feb 2002 by Ann Van Huffel

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IMPORTANT INFO: THIS BOOK IS IN BLACK & WHITE
I was really looking forward to this book, when it arrived it was very disappointing to see that it was all in black and white - it does not say this on the description so I returned it and bought The Dark Phoenix Saga & Days of Future Past separately.

The story is excellent, however the colours are what help bring the story to life for me anyway so if B&W is...
Published 11 months ago by Bizarro


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The classic years..., 25 Feb 2002
By 
Ann Van Huffel "e-man10" (Antwerp, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This volume contains the complete "Dark Phoenix Saga" as well as the "Days of Future Past" stories and for those alone is worth the price of admission.Both Byrne and Claremont were at the height of their creative powers and , frankly , these stories have never been equaled or bettered. I have been an avid X-men reader for 20 years now and these are the stories and characters I keep coming back to. My only gripe with this volume is that it's in black and white and while it shows of Byrne's clear line work of to great effect I miss the colors of the costumes, especially Wolverine's!
Anyway, for an afternoon of classic comicbook reading this volume is hard to beat... highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb plotting by Chris Claremont and great artwork., 26 Nov 2007
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential X-Men Volume 2 TPB: v. 2 (Paperback)
This issue comprises the first series of the X-Men issues I missed due to a parental banning order on comics in the late 1970's and what a pleasure it is to catch up on what I missed.
Being a fan of the old X-Men this new series has been a refreshing treat. There are some great story-lines, fantastic artwork and fleshing out old characters, especially the extra background on Nightcrawler and Wolverine. You can clearly read the roots of much of the first X-Men movie here.
Starting off with the X-Men being detained in Canada as Alpha Flight try to get Wolverine back into their fold and it gets better from there.
Old villains return, Mastermind in a new identity which provides a fantastic twist throughout this book, Arkon and Jean's alter-ego Dark Phoenix.
New villains for the X-Men the assassin Arcade, Proteus, the Hellfire Club, Mystique and a new Brotherhood of Evil Mutants, the Wendigo and D'Spayre with the Man-Thing guest starring.
To top that off two new mutant heroines are introduced, first the phasing teenager Kitty Pryde who joins the X-Men as Sprite and the Dazzler.
The way the storylines intertwine is first rate, from Mutant X's escape from Muir Island, to the mysterious Jason Wyngarde, the Death of one X-Man in the Dark Phoenix saga and the brilliant Days of Future Past where the future counterpart of newest X-Men returns to the present to try and prevent a future where the Sentinels have taken over, the final twist at the end connecting the Hellfire club to the creation of a new breed of Sentinels. Not forgetting Dr, Strange appearing as Nightcrawler is taken through Dante's version of Hell with the X-Men in tow and Kitty Pryde's first solo outing as an X-Man as the school is attached by a demon.
Chris Claremont has to be congratulated for skilfully keeping so many plot threads in the air here and I look forward to reading the next batch of tales. This is absolutely outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IMPORTANT INFO: THIS BOOK IS IN BLACK & WHITE, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential X-Men Volume 2 TPB: v. 2 (Paperback)
I was really looking forward to this book, when it arrived it was very disappointing to see that it was all in black and white - it does not say this on the description so I returned it and bought The Dark Phoenix Saga & Days of Future Past separately.

The story is excellent, however the colours are what help bring the story to life for me anyway so if B&W is not a problem this is a bargain price as it is quite a thick book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xceptionally Marvellous, 27 May 2004
By A Customer
Covering Uncanny X-Men #120 to 144, published between 1979 and 1981, there are some very, very good stories here. We go from Banshee's departure to Sprite's arrival with X-Men alumni and some interesting new mutants (such as Dazzle) guesting fairly regularly. We meet the Hellfire Club, Arcade and lots of other problem foes for our heroes. The Dark Phoenix series is classic stuff right through to Jean Grey's sad death. Scott Summers'/Cyclops Elegy in issue #138 is a fantastic retrospective. We also see Storm succeed Cyclops as the leader of the team. Despite their powers, the characters are portrayed with human feelings and frailties. The story and character development is exceptional. All in all, a highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Wonderful, 19 Feb 2001
By A Customer
Gives great depth into the stories of the Dark Phoenix and Days of Future, Past. Sets the X-men apart from the rest of the comic universe. Great and deep story lines and good villians keep the reader very satisfied. This book unfortunately leaves some unanswered questions. Buy Volume 3 and those questions will be answered. Fight on fans!!!! Moosepie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chris Clarmont, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential X-Men Volume 2 TPB: v. 2 (Paperback)
Chris Claremont wrote all the historys and it's so big what could ask more!? Great value for a small amount
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to read past issues that are too hard to find!, 2 April 1998
By A Customer
With twenty-five issues of continuity, The Essential X-Men shows readers the hard-to-find issues of Uncanny X-Men that would normally cause you a bunch to get (well over $100!). This TPB is well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential X-Men Vol.2, 27 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This is the best of volume of the Essential X-Men books. It hs the Dark Phoenix Story, Days of Future Past and the first issues of Shadowcat as an X-Person. Add in the Hellfire Club and the Brood and you have a great book - all X-Fans should have this book in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all X-Men enthusiasts., 13 Nov 2001
By 
Mr Mark A Roberts (Kenilworth, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
For all X-Men fans this is an absolute must. Continuing where vol.1 left off this volume contains such fantastic milestones of X-history as The Dark Phoenix Saga and the justly classic Days of Future Past. It also contains Kitty Pryde's initiation into the X-Men. The sheer bulk of continuity makes this well worth it's weight in gold. Buy it. You wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Only The Films Were Like This..., 12 Oct 2002
This graphic novel is excellent - the Dark Pheonix issues are awesome. They treat the reader to an analysis of how a human can comprehend grasping absolute power whilst retaining their sanity, a novel couldn't have done a better job. Totally Worth Buying, even if its tthe only comic series you'll ever buy. Spiderman seems dull in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential X-Men Volume 2 TPB: v. 2
Essential X-Men Volume 2 TPB: v. 2 by Chris Claremont (Paperback - 25 Aug 2011)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews