Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential catch up material, 7 May 2008
By 
A. Gordon (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Civil War: The Road To Civil War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
As someone who has not followed a marvel story arc in a few years. I found this an absolutely essential read to get me up to speed with what was going on in the Marvel Universe in the lead up to Civil War. The Maleev artwork , in the Illuminati one-shot, eased me in, as it was his and Bendis' Daredevil run that was the last arc I followed. This section was the stand out for me, reminding me of the Sidney Lumet movie "Twelve Angry Men", but obviously taken to a "super" degree. It's not the life of one man at stake, but the whole world. The Fantastic Four and Spider-man sections worked well, but not as fluidly for me as the Illuminati. Certain factors felt slightly too forced (see the editing team's bickering), but you see why they crowbarred in certain points when you read Civil War, and once you do that, all is forgiven. Like I say essential to get you up to speed, even if it does lack subtlety at points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its good but its just a prequel to the Civil War......., 15 Oct. 2007
By 
S. Harris "SPIDER_FAN106" (Swindon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Civil War: The Road To Civil War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
This book is a fun read but not absolutely essential to understand the Civl War storyline. Well, I guess it helps.

The strongest part of this book would be the 'Illuminati' special at the start. It shows some interesting tensions between some of Marvels most well known characters. Also it has a fight between Iron man and Namor so, whats not to like?

The worst part of the book is the Fantastic Four story because its just not as interesting as the other two storys.

The Spider-Man part of this book is a good, entertaining read. It has a simple, yet interesting story to it and we also get to see Spider-Man test out his new costume so its all good!!!

So this Graphic Novel is fun to read but don't go expecting anything that memorable. The actual Civil War storyline is much, much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the cover............, 9 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Civil War: The Road To Civil War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
This book does indeed collect together the relevant issues leading into Civil War, the biggest event (like it or loath it, and truth be told I am still undecided)in Marvel history.

The book collects together the New Avengers:Illuminati special, which reveals a secret society among the elite of the Marvel U,spanning generations; features great art by Alex Maleev.

Next up is Fantastic Four issues 536 and 537 featuring the return of Doctor Doom, and Thor's hammer Mjolnir (but no Thor). Great art again.

Finally, and the real immediate prologue to Civil War, is Amazing Spider-Man 529 to 531, which sees Peter Parker and Tony Stark head to Washington to try and derail the Superhuman Registration Act; oh yes, and Spidey gets a new costume.

The volume hangs together well, is packaged nicely and includes the covers of the individual issues. Having now read all of Civil War, you also get the nuances and hints in these early issues that were not apparent at the time.

Well worth a look.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War is coming!, 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civil War: The Road To Civil War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
I am collecting all the trades linked to the Civil War story arc and Road To Civil War starts it off (sort of).
I'm reading them in order to make one cohesive story, so starting with this book makes sense.
It contains The New Avengers:Illuminati (one-shot), Amazing Spiderman #529-531 and The Fantastic Four #536-537. The Avengers and Spiderman issues are rather important in the grand scheme of the whole Civil War arc but The FF issues don't seem to be heavily linked (other than they happen around the same time as Civil War #1). I'm only a third of the way through the whole arc so they may turn out to be relevant later on.
As a whole this trade is a must to get everything out of this multi tie-in event
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so thats what happened, 29 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Civil War: The Road To Civil War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
this is a great prelude to the marvel civil war, it gives alot of background info into how it started.

however it doesnt answer everything, there are many question left unanswered in this and the civil war TPB itself, if you are buying this i would recomend also buying civil war amazing spider mand and civil war iron man vs captain america.

the latter has a detailed private conversation between cap and iron man which explains alot, and civil war amazing spiderman details peters difficult choice of choosing which side to fight for.

ENJOY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth It, 24 April 2007
This review is from: Civil War: The Road To Civil War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
This collection preludes the superhuman civil war that engrossed the Marvel Universe for nearly a year. It includes the rise and fall of the Illuminati (the elite group of superhero leaders who make world-alterinig decisions behind the scenes), the legal fight on Registration, and just for good measure, the return of Doctor Doom (maybe)!

The comics are all quite well-written, and the art is all very readable. The Illuminati Special by Brian Bendis and Alex Maleev is spectacular. It's written nearly as a play. I love this as a prelude. The rest by Joeseph Straczinski is all very interesting. It shows a different side the upcoming brawl.

It's a good bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro for the known series, 9 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Civil War: The Road To Civil War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this comic. It revealed new aspects of important characters in the marvel universe.
Also, it provides ground and anticipation for the actual Civl War events.
I recommend it 100%, especially to marvel supporters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civil War: The Road To Civil War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Really good to catch up with Marvel after not reading any comics for a few years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civil War: The Road To Civil War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this, 18 July 2007
By 
K. A. De Mare - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Civil War: The Road To Civil War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
although it is a bit difficult to find all the following books this is even better alongside the spider-man story followed on... great art, clever story and great value! i recomend you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Civil War: The Road To Civil War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb)
Civil War: The Road To Civil War TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) by J. Michael Straczynski (Paperback - 21 Feb. 2007)
£10.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews