Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My brain needs beer...
The first comic in years that made me laugh out loud. Forget Watchmen and Dark Knight. This? This is how you deconstruct superheroes. A bloody good read.
Published 1 month ago by gareth235

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Story To Pay The Bills From Ellis
I am a big Ellis fan , and have enjoyed some of his work for both Vertigo and Avatar , as well as some of his more recent Image and Marvel forays . But whilst I have enjoyed some of the humour in this series ( Fing Fang Foom put you in his pants ! ) , there is not much story , and the series feels like a quick ten minute read and no more .
Published on 6 Oct 2007 by DocBhoy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My brain needs beer..., 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nextwave: This Is What They Want v. 1 (Paperback)
The first comic in years that made me laugh out loud. Forget Watchmen and Dark Knight. This? This is how you deconstruct superheroes. A bloody good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stupid fleshy reviewers., 15 Mar 2008
By 
Matthew J. Wells "deadpool118" (in England...) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nextwave: This Is What They Want v. 1 (Paperback)
I haven't a clue what Moonchief was going on about, but Ellis is amazing at what he does. Take his Transmetropolitan for example, or Planetary.

NEXTwave is a book that doesn't take itself seriously. Ellis' use of internet slang, his reference to old characters...one can't go wrong here, especially when you read the panels which concern the NEXTwave's past experience before coming together.

The Celestials calling Machine Man a loser? Swearing at him? Hilarious.
Captain America ordering Monica to make the Avengers dinner, whilst 'Gamma Activated Bull Men Beyond the 19th Perimeter' appear? Fab.
I don't see where you can really go wrong with such a fun book. Take Cable's quote for example, when Tabitha refers to her days in X-Force;

'Tabitha! Quickly! To ME, my X-Bait! Help me lift my gun! Techno-organic prolapse imminent!'
Really, NEXTwave takes the MU, and pokes fun at it completely. You shouldn't take this book seriously. Just sit back, relax...order the book, and await till you see Immonen's fantastic, bright vibrant art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Big dumb fun, 2 Feb 2010
This review is from: Nextwave: This Is What They Want v. 1 (Paperback)
I bought this book on a whim after reading about its silliness on the TV Tropes website. Three two-issue stories are collected here, linked by the arc plot of superhero team Nextwave being pursued by their former paymasters at H.A.T.E., which becomes the main plot for the final story.

More than anything else, it reminds me of a Marvel version of Tank Girl - censored swearing as befits the Multiverse, but with a similar level of glorious cartoon violence and infantile humour, and arse-kicking females. Not that the male members of the team don't keep up with them in the posterior-panelling department. The jokes are wilfully low-brow, though the finely honed geek aesthetic that generated them (the return of the incredibly obscure Fin Fang Foom, the various "Origins" diversions) may raise appreciation levels for seasoned comic-book fans.

Unlike many other reviewers, I found the bits *between* the silly jokes to be the weak side of the book. That's a consequence of its eminently throwaway setup, I suppose. Still, speaking as someone raised on the UK Transformers comic, which came with Machine Man as a backup strip, it's great to see Aaron Stack back in action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Story To Pay The Bills From Ellis, 6 Oct 2007
By 
DocBhoy (Invercargill , New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nextwave: This Is What They Want v. 1 (Paperback)
I am a big Ellis fan , and have enjoyed some of his work for both Vertigo and Avatar , as well as some of his more recent Image and Marvel forays . But whilst I have enjoyed some of the humour in this series ( Fing Fang Foom put you in his pants ! ) , there is not much story , and the series feels like a quick ten minute read and no more .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as clever as it thinks it is., 8 Feb 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nextwave: This Is What They Want v. 1 (Paperback)
I really dont get the attention that Warren Ellis garners. Admittedly, his stories can rattle along at an enjoyable pace and he handled the JLA-esque Authority well but there is little else to him. He really cant add any depth or (more importantly) variety to his characters - they all seem to be wise-crackin' anti-heroes - and thats it. His dialogue is wooden and one-dimensional. When its trying to be snappy, it just seems like an episode of Friends. Worst of all are his expositions of his (transparantly Grant Morrison-esque) 'big concepts' that are generally really badly handled. Clearly, he is someone with a fertile imagination but not someone who can execute it very well.

This is a real curate's egg. The original concept of using Marvel's weird, daft aspect is quite interesting but when you read his own pitch (to Marvel) in the back of this TPB, you realise that he really hasn't thought it through well enough. Again, he handles the set pieces well, but the humour and 'anarchy' are pretty embarrassing and juvenille (in a bad way!). The art is lovely, in those sort of Fleischer-esque hues and Dirk Anger could have been such a good character, but it just doesnt go the distance. The chords and tab for a NextWave song at the end of the book is skin crawling, in a 'cool dad' sort of way.

Not quite as clever as it thinks it is. Which i think sums up at lot of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb327f684)

This product

Nextwave: This Is What They Want v. 1
Nextwave: This Is What They Want v. 1 by Warren Ellis (Paperback - 28 Feb 2007)
Used & New from: 1.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews