Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frank 4 Prez!, 25 May 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Punisher Max Volume 5: The Slavers TPB: Slavers v. 5 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
The sad tale of women-trafficking (women! They're taken as children!) and these women being raped, beaten, and sold into a life of prostitution is told here with sympathetic characters. Why these tragedies can be tolerated in a mainstream comic book is because of the presence of Frank Castle - we know the horrors will be avenged and the monsters will be killed. It's cathartic in a way you wouldn't get from real life as there isn't anyone like the Punisher out there though most of us wish there was.

What makes Garth Ennis' stories work is the focus on the characters, not Frank Castle, not painting the baddies as 2-dimensional psychos, but telling a compelling, detailed, and well written story with believable characters. The story clicks along at a fast pace and the action is as sick as any of Punisher's best stuff. The artwork is tremendous as has been consistent throughout this series, full credit to Leo Fernandez for knocking it out of the park in every issue.

Another high point in this underrated character's series and another notch in Garth Ennis' belt for a tremendous ride of a book. Great stuff, highly recommended though very dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, nasty, brutal, violent, unforgiving, this is The Punisher as he was meant to be, 27 Feb. 2007
By 
P. N. Hussey "pnh77" (Haywards Heath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Punisher Max Volume 5: The Slavers TPB: Slavers v. 5 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
This was the first of the Garth Ennis Punisher stories I read and it blew me away. I'd been a casual fan of the character for years and always enjoyed the comic books where he battled Spider-man, Daredevil and The Kingpin but reading this was like I'd never read a Punisher book in my life. It's far darker and more violent than ever before, and set in a very 'real' world with no 'superheroes'. I can't praise this story enough, the writing is top notch and the artwork is superb. This could be one of the greatest Punisher stories ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody and Brutal!, 5 Jan. 2007
By 
Mr. C. W. Turner "carlt43" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punisher Max Volume 5: The Slavers TPB: Slavers v. 5 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
This is the Punisher how hes meant to be! Dark, violent and gritty. The story is brilliantly told and the artwork is superb! Frank goes to town on human traffickers, and even he realises that he cant beat them all. But the ones he does deal with, get their just Punishment. If your a fan of the Punsiher, you want to buy this, you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Punisher, 11 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Punisher Max Volume 5: The Slavers TPB: Slavers v. 5 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
This is a classic Frank Castle. The villains are despicable and the action is brutal. As the graphic novel's title suggests the story revolves around the modern day slave trade focusing on sex trafficking. Their are also interesting side stories and social commentary woven into the main story line, such as police self interest and the limits of the justice system.

This is a great read and can be read as a stand alone or as part of the Gareth Ennis Punisher series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The kind of comic book that makes you want to cheer, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punisher Max Volume 5: The Slavers TPB: Slavers v. 5 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Frank Castle saves the life of an immigrant woman forced into prostitution. Upon taking care of her, he finds out the facts behind the people that enslaved her and becomes just about the most p***ed off he has ever been. Revenge doesn't come along more cold blooded as it does in this volume. E.g. The Punisher bludgeons a woman half to death by throwing her repeatedly against bulletproof glass before throwing her right through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 5 April 2013
By 
Huw (BLACKWOOD, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punisher Max Volume 5: The Slavers TPB: Slavers v. 5 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
This for me why Punisher Max completely obliterates its Marvel Universe counterpart. This story has pace, outstanding action, wonderful narrative. A dark tale of human trafficking and subjugation which delivers a punch to the reader. At the heart of this is Frank Castle who for me has really found his true home within The Max universe.

A must read for any Punisher fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy, 10 July 2007
By 
Mr. B. I. Johnson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Punisher Max Volume 5: The Slavers TPB: Slavers v. 5 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
This a must have for fans of the punisher. The story is especially dark, with villians you would really hate, you can't wait for Frank to kill them! Excellent buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story in which you truly wish Frank Castle existed, 29 Aug. 2011
By 
Sean Wilson-blake (Mauchline, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Punisher Max Volume 5: The Slavers TPB: Slavers v. 5 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Taking on two highly controversial topics that are human trafficking and sexual slavery, we are almost asking for a man like Frank Castle to exist and deal with the horrors of both topics. But Garth Ennis also has written a fantastic thriller graphic novel that shows us the true darkness in some human beings. Such detail in the characters, you would of thought they really existed. And some characters you will really despise.

Dark, violent, noirish, nightmarish, disturbing, gut-wrenching... all of these would probably be close to describing the story. With the freedom to write whatever he wants (MAX comics), Garth Ennis takes us on a realistic journey into New York and also into the blackness of the world. Showing us the ugly side of human nature and why it should be stopped.

We all know that the Punisher will deal with these disturbing men. But what we don't know is how he will kill them, and just why he is doing this vigilante stuff because it will never stop. Evil will always be among us, and Frank Castle thrives to eliminate it.

But be prepared for a terrifying journey into the darkest hearts ever: One of them is Frank Castle, who is a disturbed man with a little bit of light left in him and then there's the Slavers... the most disturbing villains you will ever read in a Punisher comic... or any comic. Be prepared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Punisher Max Volume 5: The Slavers TPB: Slavers v. 5 (Graphic Novel Pb)
Used & New from: £62.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews