Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Finale
Okay - if you haven't read "The Ultimates 1" & "The Ultimates 2 - Volume 1: Gods & Monsters" then you won't have a clue what's going on in this book. But rest assured, if you do take the time to read the aforementioned graphic novels, you will be richly rewarded.
Mark Millar is a Scottish writer and one of the very best in the comic industry. He's the writer of...
Published on 27 Oct 2007 by Jim-Jim

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who are the bad guys again?
While I cannot fault either the narrative, underlying premise or the fantastic artwork and construction of this concluding piece I was left somewhat underwhelmed with the final product. My main gripe I suppose, was the somewhat rushed and contrived ending(s) which jumped around too much, trying to tie up the loose ends while at the same time injecting and disposing of new...
Published on 10 July 2007 by Jamie Mcgourlay


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Finale, 27 Oct 2007
By 
Jim-Jim (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ultimates 2 Volume 2: Grand Theft America TPB: Grand Theft America v. 2 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Okay - if you haven't read "The Ultimates 1" & "The Ultimates 2 - Volume 1: Gods & Monsters" then you won't have a clue what's going on in this book. But rest assured, if you do take the time to read the aforementioned graphic novels, you will be richly rewarded.
Mark Millar is a Scottish writer and one of the very best in the comic industry. He's the writer of "Wanted", "Chosen" and the first few volumes of "Ultimate X-Men" and "Ultimate Fantastic Four". So he knows his superhero stuff. Bryan Hitch is also a superb artist and one of my favourites, he has an incredible eye for detail and renders each character and all the locations with exquisite beauty. I guess that's the biggest bonus for "The Ultimates" 1 & 2 - they look FANTASTIC. It's worth it for the artwork alone, no joke. "The Ultimates" - like her WildStorm sister "The Authority" - is definitely 'widescreen comics' and is just crying out for a film version - Hollywood, you've been warned!
As for the story, Millar has an edgy style and, with the exception of a few endearingly corny lines from Captain America, the dialogue is sharp and, most importantly, believable. That is, you can actually imagine a real flesh-and-blood person speaking it which, if you read most of the garbage that some writers fill their characters mouths with, is remarkable and a welcome change.
The story follows on directly from where "Gods and Monsters" left off and, not to spoil it for you, pretty much every hero gets beaten but hey, they do have Cap, so you just know the good guys are gonna kick some terrorist ass. The story is definitely a bold one and kudos to Millar for not pulling his punches with regards to the exil machinations of his 'Axis of Evil' involving Arab, Russian and Chinese terrorists. This is also a rare graphic novel that does exactly what it says in the title - America is 'stolen' by the bad guys. Air Force One is literally knocked out of the sky and crashed right into the White House for cryin' out loud!! The final issue does feel too constrained by the page limit but you have to remember that this is part of a larger, on-going series that will be picked up in "The Ultimates 3" by Jeph Loeb, which starts in December. However, it will be radically different from "The Ultimates" 1 & 2 as it will only be five issues and set up the events of "Ultimatum" the first crossover event in the Marvel Ultimate universe, something they promised a couple of years ago they'd never ever do!!
But "The Ultimates 2 - Volume 2: Grand Theft America", along with its previous volumes, is absolutely worth it for Millar's great writing and Hitch's extraordinary artwork. Trust me, in ten years everyone (well, everyone who counts) will look back on "The Ultimates" 1 & 2 and say that they are classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it, but..., 15 Aug 2007
By 
P. Stearman "Rhandolph" (Brighton, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimates 2 Volume 2: Grand Theft America TPB: Grand Theft America v. 2 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
I agree with the 'Authority' comparison.. largely from the swarms of aliens/robots/monsters/clones that seem to turn up and fill the sky, also that it didn't have the same feel as previous volumes but perhaps that was just because all the sub-plots came together for the big finale, which felt a little rushed for such a global event. Next week the world (that is America) will be back to normal.

I did enjoy it, don't get me wrong, there are some great moments in there and its well illustrated and written.. despite the pacing, perhaps I'll go back and read part one then (this) part two in order. Oh yes, despite the X men, Spider-man and the Fantastic four appearing on the cover they don't really do much except battle the bad guys in the background, I'd still Recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The same with a few differences, 12 July 2007
By 
Chris (Selby, Nth Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ultimates 2 Volume 2: Grand Theft America TPB: Grand Theft America v. 2 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Obviously, you should not be reading this, if you have not read the previous ones. I can therefore leave this review as simply it as good as the previous (although I also was sympathetic to the axis).

However, one of Millar's strong points has been his originality and especially realism. In this one he departs with these completely. Any element of realism is completely lost as there are literally hundreds of different super-heroes and villains on one page at a time, and the main premise of the story is effectively giant flying robots attacking America!

It is stories like this that worry me that the new Ultimate series are losing their originality. As a modern reader of Marvel, I look back with distaste at older Marvel stories with hundreds of different super-heroes on one page, as I find it completely unrealistic and at times childish. I feel the same attitude to the constant use of robots. Unfouruntaley Millar uses both in this trade paperback. However, the last two reviews did not mention these two factors, hence I might be the only one this bothered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ulitimates go Authority, 6 July 2007
This review is from: Ultimates 2 Volume 2: Grand Theft America TPB: Grand Theft America v. 2 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Generally this was brillant! I loved it, it was fast, punchie, a proper bit of pop culture fun.

I do have a few reservations. If your a fan of The Authority you will love this...I am and I did. I just could not shake the idea that I was reading a different comic (this might just be me). The other thing is the resolution was all a bit American for me, perhaps I'm reading the wrong comic if I don't want that sort of thing, but the resolution was too simplisctic for my taste.

This almost sounds like I didn't tear through it like it was the best comic i've read in ages, love the art work, the styling, pacing and feel, all of which I enjoyed massively. Buy it you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: Ultimates 2 Volume 2: Grand Theft America TPB: Grand Theft America v. 2 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
This is the second Ultimates I have bought from Amazon , and they are a really great read.

Amazing artwork, with a decent story arc, and you've got a solid read.

Only criticism is you can read the whole series in only an hour. But you can re-read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 30 Jun 2010
By 
D. M. M. Chu "Deney" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimates 2 Volume 2: Grand Theft America TPB: Grand Theft America v. 2 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
A beautifully drawn and written comic, with some nice original sketches in the back pages. A great finale to Ultimates 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous, 4 May 2010
By 
Ck Trezise (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimates 2 Volume 2: Grand Theft America TPB: Grand Theft America v. 2 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
Continuing the Ultimates saga this volume is packed with action, intrigue, betrayal and reconciliation. Very good script and the graphics as per the last volumes is first class. If you have the other volumes I can only assume you are reading this cos you are waiting for your copy to come in the post. If you haven't read the other volumes I suggest you back track the links and order them! You'll be in for a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply brilliant, 17 Nov 2009
By 
K. Bell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimates 2 Volume 2: Grand Theft America TPB: Grand Theft America v. 2 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
new to comics? this is a brilliant stepping on point. The ultimates are basically the avengers but better as the title is authored by Mark Miller who is the best of the best in my humble opinion. If you want to read marvel comics with strong stories and you dont want to spend a bomb reading well invest in the ultimates thats all i'll say and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who are the bad guys again?, 10 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Ultimates 2 Volume 2: Grand Theft America TPB: Grand Theft America v. 2 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
While I cannot fault either the narrative, underlying premise or the fantastic artwork and construction of this concluding piece I was left somewhat underwhelmed with the final product. My main gripe I suppose, was the somewhat rushed and contrived ending(s) which jumped around too much, trying to tie up the loose ends while at the same time injecting and disposing of new characters frightening speed. As I'm not the most committed reader of the Marvel world I may be missing back stories and character construction in other areas and even so I can appreciate the view Millar isn't going to be killing off his big stars. However as I read this volume I found myself increasingly sympatheic to the cause of dear old 'axis of evil' and whether this is deliberate stage play by Millar or not, the final resurrection of the new, independent 'Ultimates' team doesn't quite ring true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ultimately , Disappointing, 10 Oct 2007
By 
Rotgut "rotgut" (Warrington UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimates 2 Volume 2: Grand Theft America TPB: Grand Theft America v. 2 (Graphic Novel Pb) (Paperback)
After what seems like a long wait, the next volume in the uniformly excellent "Ultimates" series is published. Thankfully the creative team remains in place, including the inventive Mark Millar writing and the flawless Bryan Hitch pencilling. Surely, a treat is in store for the reader ?

Well...sadly, not quite. Hitch's art remains fantastic, the level of detail (e.g. the scenes where Captain America leaps over a photographic cityscape)is breathtaking, but the storyline seems less engaging than earlier books.

Previous "Ultimates" storylines are essentially cheeky, modern retellings of classic "Avengers" tales form the 60s and 70s, here, Millar deviates from this template, telling what appears to be a wholly original tale. Some elements are uninspired, the villains are second rate versions of the heroes : The Abomination is a poor shadow of the Hulk, Crimson Dynamo a cut price Iron Man, Hurricane a slower Quicksilver etc etc. The big splashy fight scenes do not engage. The Gods rather than God from the Machine ending makes everything too easy.

Perhaps the main problem is that the political element, subversive and slightly Anti-American in the previous books, becomes surprisingly mainstream. We get to see Hawkeye's motivation for hating his enemies quite clearly; the "Axis of Evil"'s hatred of America is not showm to be so well founded. Eventually, despite the odd dig, like the Liberators' offer to bring democracy to the USA,there is too little criticism of the American position; the foreign enemies become cowardly (almost all of villans eventually beg for mercy) and bloodthirsty and extremely two dimensional.

In no small part, this book disappoints only because its predecessors were so good, and the artwork alone makes it admirable, but the freshness present previously is undeniably missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews