Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars7
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2015
Five of Spider-Man's enemies escape S.H.I.E.L.D custody and attempt to track down Peter Parker. So Parker, Nick Fury and the Ultimates have to stop them. A very fun premise and brought to us by Brian Michael Bendis (New Avengers, All-New X-Men) who has proven he can improve already cool premises with his humour, dialogue and characterization.

This volume features Ultimate Spider-Man #46 and Ultimate Six #1-7. So you get eight issues for £13.50, give or take, which is fantastic value for money.

The story is very well told for the most part: each of the Ultimate Six get to utilise their unique powers; the inclusion of the Ultimates doesn't feel forced; and despite having a larger scale, it still feels like a Spider-Man story.

That said, it's not perfect. It's paced in a way that has the Ultimate Six captured very easily at the beginning (making them look less of a threat); then a lot of time is spent looking at S.H.I.E.L.D. attempting to rehabilitate them; then after Doctor Octopus single-handedly helps the others escape, they spend most of the book planning an overly-complex scheme; and it all builds to a quick action-finale.

The art for #46 is by regular Ultimate Spider-Man artist Mark Bagley (David Michelinie's Carnage), whose style is certainly cartoony but still has a good grasp of textures. #1-7's art is by Trevor Hairsine who I was previously unfamiliar with, which is a shame because his photo-realistic art is some of the best I've seen. The cover art is by John Cassaday (Astonishing X-Men, Uncanny Avengers) who makes every cover look like a movie poster with masterful shading, courageous-looking heroes and menacing-looking villains.

This story has been brilliantly executed and is must have for Spider-Man fans, Ultimate Spider-Man fans or those like myself attempting to seek the best the Ultimate line has to offer.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 23 July 2004
Alot of people critisize Bendis as a "small story" and dialogue writer. Here, as in the later Powers stories, Bendis shows that he can handle epic "widescreen" stories just as well as those on a more intimate scale. The premise here is simple and something of a comic cliche: all of Spider-man's enemies join together to make life unpleasant for him. Thankfully for Peter, he has friends in high places, ie, Nick Fury and the Ultimates.
I was initially concerned that this may be as disappointing as the Ultimate War story which teamed up the Ultimates and the Ultimate X-Men. For me, there was no dissapointment to be found. Trevor Hairsine's art was superb. He is far closer in style to the Ultimate's artist Brian Hitch, than he is to Ultimate Spider-man's Mark Bagely. This is good, as the more realistic style suits this story well. The Green Goblin has never looked more menacing than here, and the portrayal of Dr Octopus is just chilling.
Even though this is writen by Bendis, this is more of an Ultimates-style story, and this may explain some fans disappointment with it. For me, this has been one of the highlights of the year so far.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
Read it after Sandman in the normal continuity for it to match up, i didnt do that and was confused and thinking (when did all of this stuff happen?)
so read it before Hobgoblin story
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 30 July 2005
I have never enjoyed the Ultimates as much as all the other comics in the ultimate series and this book is certainly closer to the style of the Ultimates than Ultimate Spiderman. One of the main issues I have with the Ultimates is the artwork. Sometimes it is difficult to see what is going on. This is a problem with this book as well as sometimes there is just too much going on. I also think that there is a lack of humour which is one of the best things about Ultimate Spiderman. I have given this book 3 stars. Fans of The Ultimates may wish to add an extra star whilst fans of Ultimate Spiderman may only give it 2 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 24 June 2012
just be aware if you've been reading the other 8 volumes up till this point the art work has changed a lot which really distracted me :/
That aside, its a brilliant volume full of action and a lot of involvement from the Ultimates and villain perspectives.
Recommend you read the other volumes up till this point however first :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 23 August 2005
Nick Fury of S.H.E.I.L.D. and his Ultimates (Captain America, Iron Man, Thor, Wasp, Giant Man, Hawkeye and Black Widow) have rounded up five of the most dangerous mutants around, and have them locked up together. There's a war coming, and Fury wants whatever secrets they have. But, in putting Dr. Octopus, the Green Goblin, Sandman, Electro and Kraven the Hunter all together, he might just end up with a war right now. And, if its one thing that these villains have in common it's Spiderman.
I must say that I have some mixed feelings about this graphic novel. The action is pretty darn good, but it takes a while to get to it. My twelve-year-old son started reading this book, but he got bored with all of the scenes of people sitting around talking, and finally just gave up. It's filled with a lot of angst, as modern comic books are - is Nick Fury a good guy or a bad guy? what's the American government up to? and who is really creating all of the mutants and why? Captain America walks around with a permanent scowl on his face.
But, that said, I did enjoy the book. It has excellent illustration work, great action, and lots of heroes and villains. Overall, I give it a somewhat guarded recommendation.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on 17 June 2004
I was very disappointed with ultimate spider-man volume 9. I have volumes 1-8 but the title of this volume is misleading. It is not really "Ultimate Spider-man" but rather "Ultimate Six" #1-7. It has a completely different writing and illustration style from ultimate spider-man and the characters (including Peter Parker) look completely different.
If you like spider-man comics in general then you will probably like this volume. If however you were expecting Ultimate Spider-man (like me) then you should give this one a miss because you will be disappointed.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Ultimate Spider-Man Volume 7: Irresponsible: Irresponsible v. 7
Ultimate Spider-Man Volume 7: Irresponsible: Irresponsible v. 7 by Brian Michael Bendis (Paperback - 12 April 2006)

Ultimate Spider-Man Volume 11: Carnage: Carnage v. 11
Ultimate Spider-Man Volume 11: Carnage: Carnage v. 11 by Mark Bagley (Paperback - 10 Jan. 2007)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.