Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spider-man + ultimates + bendis = excellence
Alot of people critisize Bendis as a "small story" and dialogue writer. Here, as in the later Powers stories, Bendis shows that he can handle epic "widescreen" stories just as well as those on a more intimate scale. The premise here is simple and something of a comic cliche: all of Spider-man's enemies join together to make life unpleasant for him. Thankfully for...
Published on 23 July 2004 by Derek

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed
I have never enjoyed the Ultimates as much as all the other comics in the ultimate series and this book is certainly closer to the style of the Ultimates than Ultimate Spiderman. One of the main issues I have with the Ultimates is the artwork. Sometimes it is difficult to see what is going on. This is a problem with this book as well as sometimes there is just too much...
Published on 30 July 2005 by OldScotland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spider-man + ultimates + bendis = excellence, 23 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Ultimate Spider-Man Volume 9: Ultimate Six: Ultimate Six v. 9 (Paperback)
Alot of people critisize Bendis as a "small story" and dialogue writer. Here, as in the later Powers stories, Bendis shows that he can handle epic "widescreen" stories just as well as those on a more intimate scale. The premise here is simple and something of a comic cliche: all of Spider-man's enemies join together to make life unpleasant for him. Thankfully for Peter, he has friends in high places, ie, Nick Fury and the Ultimates.
I was initially concerned that this may be as disappointing as the Ultimate War story which teamed up the Ultimates and the Ultimate X-Men. For me, there was no dissapointment to be found. Trevor Hairsine's art was superb. He is far closer in style to the Ultimate's artist Brian Hitch, than he is to Ultimate Spider-man's Mark Bagely. This is good, as the more realistic style suits this story well. The Green Goblin has never looked more menacing than here, and the portrayal of Dr Octopus is just chilling.
Even though this is writen by Bendis, this is more of an Ultimates-style story, and this may explain some fans disappointment with it. For me, this has been one of the highlights of the year so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 30 July 2005
This review is from: Ultimate Spider-Man Volume 9: Ultimate Six: Ultimate Six v. 9 (Paperback)
I have never enjoyed the Ultimates as much as all the other comics in the ultimate series and this book is certainly closer to the style of the Ultimates than Ultimate Spiderman. One of the main issues I have with the Ultimates is the artwork. Sometimes it is difficult to see what is going on. This is a problem with this book as well as sometimes there is just too much going on. I also think that there is a lack of humour which is one of the best things about Ultimate Spiderman. I have given this book 3 stars. Fans of The Ultimates may wish to add an extra star whilst fans of Ultimate Spiderman may only give it 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome BUT!!!!!!, 24 Jun 2012
This review is from: Ultimate Spider-Man Volume 9: Ultimate Six: Ultimate Six v. 9 (Paperback)
just be aware if you've been reading the other 8 volumes up till this point the art work has changed a lot which really distracted me :/
That aside, its a brilliant volume full of action and a lot of involvement from the Ultimates and villain perspectives.
Recommend you read the other volumes up till this point however first :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good action...after a LOT of talk, 23 Aug 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ultimate Spider-Man Volume 9: Ultimate Six: Ultimate Six v. 9 (Paperback)
Nick Fury of S.H.E.I.L.D. and his Ultimates (Captain America, Iron Man, Thor, Wasp, Giant Man, Hawkeye and Black Widow) have rounded up five of the most dangerous mutants around, and have them locked up together. There's a war coming, and Fury wants whatever secrets they have. But, in putting Dr. Octopus, the Green Goblin, Sandman, Electro and Kraven the Hunter all together, he might just end up with a war right now. And, if its one thing that these villains have in common it's Spiderman.
I must say that I have some mixed feelings about this graphic novel. The action is pretty darn good, but it takes a while to get to it. My twelve-year-old son started reading this book, but he got bored with all of the scenes of people sitting around talking, and finally just gave up. It's filled with a lot of angst, as modern comic books are - is Nick Fury a good guy or a bad guy? what's the American government up to? and who is really creating all of the mutants and why? Captain America walks around with a permanent scowl on his face.
But, that said, I did enjoy the book. It has excellent illustration work, great action, and lots of heroes and villains. Overall, I give it a somewhat guarded recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not ultimate spider-man at all!, 17 Jun 2004
By 
B. Mcpherson "_bam_" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Spider-Man Volume 9: Ultimate Six: Ultimate Six v. 9 (Paperback)
I was very disappointed with ultimate spider-man volume 9. I have volumes 1-8 but the title of this volume is misleading. It is not really "Ultimate Spider-man" but rather "Ultimate Six" #1-7. It has a completely different writing and illustration style from ultimate spider-man and the characters (including Peter Parker) look completely different.
If you like spider-man comics in general then you will probably like this volume. If however you were expecting Ultimate Spider-man (like me) then you should give this one a miss because you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabd19354)

This product

Ultimate Spider-Man Volume 9: Ultimate Six: Ultimate Six v. 9
Ultimate Spider-Man Volume 9: Ultimate Six: Ultimate Six v. 9 by Brian Michael Bendis (Paperback - 1 Jun 2004)
13.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews