Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimates
The first book was good but I felt that it didn't have enough of a story. This is more than made up for in the collection. All the characters have much more meat on their bones in terms of storyline and the action is great. artwork and dialogue are as good as the rest of the Ultimate collections with some of the double page spreads particularly appealing. A great read for...
Published on 30 Jun 2005 by OldScotland

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Torn
It's true, when it comes to The Ultimates - Marvel's 'rebooted' Avengers for their Ultimate line - I'm torn. On one hand I love it, on the other I hate it, hence three stars. Let me try to explain:

Love: Millar's writing is superb. Strong characters and strong interplay BETWEEN the characters is essential to a good story, and Millar comes up trumps here. Add to...
Published on 15 Sep 2008 by D. P. McCarroll


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimates, 30 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Ultimates, Vol. 2: Homeland Security (Paperback)
The first book was good but I felt that it didn't have enough of a story. This is more than made up for in the collection. All the characters have much more meat on their bones in terms of storyline and the action is great. artwork and dialogue are as good as the rest of the Ultimate collections with some of the double page spreads particularly appealing. A great read for both old and new comic book fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Torn, 15 Sep 2008
By 
D. P. McCarroll "evilcorp" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimates, Vol. 2: Homeland Security (Paperback)
It's true, when it comes to The Ultimates - Marvel's 'rebooted' Avengers for their Ultimate line - I'm torn. On one hand I love it, on the other I hate it, hence three stars. Let me try to explain:

Love: Millar's writing is superb. Strong characters and strong interplay BETWEEN the characters is essential to a good story, and Millar comes up trumps here. Add to that a genuinely threatening bad guy plus a twist that I didn't see coming, and I'm hooked. On top of all that, there's Hitch's artwork. The man is a genius when it comes to the 'widescreen' style he and Warren Ellis pioneered with The Authority. Plus, he draws Fury as Samuel L. Jackson. Awesome!

Hate: The Ultimates themselves. Okay, I 'get' that this is a modern take on the Avengers (and on superheroes in general) but most of the so called heroes are not in the least bit likeable. And that makes it VERY hard to really care what happens to them. Tony Stark is fine, and Fury is just too cool...but the others? Cap is a thug; Pym an overmedicated serial wife-beater; Wasp is a self-destructive vixen; Banner an irritating whinger; Betty Ross a border-line psycho with no morals who gets turned on by seeing the Hulk EAT a guy; Quicksilver & Scarlet Witch may be having an incestuous brother-sister relationship; Thor is unstable; Black Widow is arrogant, Hawkeye just plain bland and the Hulk... oh my God, the Hulk... is just an honest to God travesty. A constantly horny joke who eats people.

So you see my dilemma. When the heroes are about as far removed from heroes as they can be, they could all get killed, and I wouldn't really care. Which kind of defeats the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Surrender? Do you think this 'A' stands for France?", 18 Jun 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ultimates, Vol. 2: Homeland Security (Paperback)
Following the devastation wreaked by the Hulk in the first book, Bruce Banner is locked up for his irresponsibility. Nick Fury reveals a secret that could destroy Earth. And alien Nazis are running rampant! This could only be a job for - the Ultimates!

Mark Millar follows up his popular first book on the Ultimates with another strong volume. Homeland Security is in a way the ultimate distinction between good and evil - evil aliens intent on destroying Earth who are inhabiting the bodies of Nazis versus Captain America and co. The bad guys seem to have stepped out of a David Icke fantasy into the Marvel Universe.

The action is fantastic and the story good fun to read - Cap has a great line: "Surrender? Do you think this 'A' stands for France?". I'm still not sure what Jan Pym brings to the team though - Wasp? A woman who turns into a wasp? How does that possibly match Hulk, Iron Man, or Thor? Also Betty Ross' personality seems to have completely changed from the first book (which is good as she was a completely different character then). But small quibbles aside, this is great, action-packed comic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best comics I've ever read!, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimates, Vol. 2: Homeland Security (Paperback)
I am a huge, huge fan of the Avengers movie. I began aggressively reading comics in the wake of its release and my brother, who himself is an avid Marvel reader recommended this. It is the inspiration for the Marvel Cinematic Universe and I was enthralled by the fact that it was a blueprint for movie making. In fact, I even noticed that Marvel Studios picked certain scenes directly from the novel. I would recommend this to any new reader of Marvel or Avengers, specifically those who loved the movie. The art and story were also top notch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rollicking read!, 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimates, Vol. 2: Homeland Security (Paperback)
Just when you think the action has reached a climax, Millar races off towards another even more spectacular/ridiculous one. Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Millar steps it up for volume 2, 13 May 2011
By 
L Jones "iPhone Ninja" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimates, Vol. 2: Homeland Security (Paperback)
After a highly enjoyable volume 1 Mark Millar steps it up in volume 2. Alien invasions, internal conflict, deception al play their part and an awesome ending that makes you wish this was the plot of the Avengers movie next year. the artwork suits the style of the story and the series continue to add a fresh look on established Marvel properties. Highly recommended for any comic fan, but read volume 1 first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimates, Vol. 2: Homeland Security (Paperback)
Mark Millar's writing style is, for lack of a better word, beautiful; there's something completely alluring about it. Millar has a way of drawing the reader in immediately and almost forcing them to remain glued to the page until the last breathtaking page.
This is a must-read for any lover of comic books. The first volume of The Ultimates was a much-needed reboot for The Avengers. It was darker and grittier, yet also funnier, than anything that had come before it, filled with fantastic character interactions and pop culture references. Nothing has changed here, only grown. This volume is everything that volume one was and more. It's bigger, bolder and more extreme.
All of this is perfectly matched by the art style. Bryan Hitch perfectly matches the emotional fluctuations of glee, fear, dread, hope and so on by brilliant use of light, shadow and colour (or, in places, lack thereof). As Millar once said, the artist is 75% of what makes a great comic book. He is the director, lighting guy and cinematographer and this certainly rings true here.
Buy this. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 22 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimates, Vol. 2: Homeland Security (Paperback)
Oh this book is great. true avengers/ultimates in action, GREAT round off to the previous book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimates, Vol. 2: Homeland Security
The Ultimates, Vol. 2: Homeland Security by Mark Millar (Paperback - 5 April 2006)
Used & New from: £7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews