Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neil Gaiman puts Marvel's superheroes 500 years in the past
Admittedly expectations were going to be high when Neil Gaiman was signed to do a Marvel Comic. Gaiman's decision to create a unique vision of the Marvel universe set four hundred years in the past during the last days of the reign of Elizabeth Tudor, which certainly whetted my appetite to read this trade paperback collection of the mini-series. When you see Scott...
Published on 16 Nov. 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange things are stirring in renaissance England...
The skies are in upheaval; there are whispers of a growing storm ferocious enough to end the world. Strange creatures (the witchbreed) are stalking the woods and hillsides, and a young girl and her burly native protector are undertaking the long and dangerous voyage from the american colonies back to england, bringing strange, awesome powers and warnings of a terrible...
Published on 9 Oct. 2006 by Niall Mc Cann


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great quality and fast shipping. I got it for my boyfriend and he loves it! He collects comics and this was a fabulous new addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Original and enjoyable, 21 Nov. 2010
This was very entertaining if a trifle slow at some points.
There are some great lines in it especially from Dr Doom and Black widow.
The ending seems a bit rushed but for the most part it was an interesting story.
The artwork was pretty decent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvel book, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel 1602 HC (Marvel Heroes) (Hardcover)
This was a gift for someone who liked it very much. Delivery was speedy. I would recommend this to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars marvel, 9 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Marvel 1602 HC (Marvel Heroes) (Hardcover)
boy, is this good stuff!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very classy, 2 Jun. 2010
By 
P. M. A. Reidy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent reimagining of the marvel universe set in... 1602 surprisingly. Gaiman's style fits incredibley well in this time - a time of the inquisition and famed for witch hunting - allowing him to convincingly write a story for the characters that we know, but born out of time. Initially i think I expected a garish unsynched attempt to clash with the modern super hero spandex and all with the seventeenth century culture and it to clash jarringly. And it put me off reading this book for some time. However, i was mistaken and glad i was. This is Gaiman afterall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars World 311, 23 April 2006
This review is from: Marvel 1602 TPB (Paperback)
Although I'm not a great follower of Marvel comics, or any comics for that matter this was the first 'Graphic Novel' I've picked up and read. However this book caught my eye because my exposure to the television Marvel. Gaiman has taken some well known and adored marvel characters and placed them in 17th century england. The plot is thick and needs the reader to treat certain events separate from others for full understanding. The reader must also remember not to judge the charecters by there modern World counterparts (from earth 616).

This being the first Graphic Novel I've read i may be slightly biased to say i adore it, But i think with all the characters appearing the Graphic novel it allows fans and readers of all kinds to choose favorites and get involved in the plot. Although some would think that this would clutter the book, i think it allows a unique and yet varied selection of events to take place, where as if you were to limit the charecters to say just a small group far less events would of been possible and the Graphic novel may have become repetitive and dull in its length. Although some charecters only make slight appearances and mostly just fill background space makes it seem as if there over looked but i think it allows the reader to ponder and judge how this character came to be the way they are in the 17th century.

The cover art work is incredible and very eye catching, this would attract readers in its own right, however some say the actual pictures within the Graphic novel are terrible. I however disagree with this, The cover work and the separations within the book are breakingly entrancing, however the art work is good in its own right to. For the amount of charecters having to be drawn Andy Kubert has done well to make each and every character individually identifiable even if they're far in the background, this is an achievement within itself. The charecters are very well drawn to an extent however this depends on the critics view, after not everyone likes the same art style. The colouring is detailed yet simple, the use of diagonal lines is for the appearance of hand craft; i personally think this is a pleasant touch, however some seem to disagree which again is down to personal opinion.

Over all i suggest that readers of all ages, comics and styles should pick up this Graphic novel and give it a chance; i think it might just impress, even if your only impressed by one or two of the contents of the Graphic novel.

I gave this Graphic Novel four out of five, because as does everything it is judged on personal opinion, and to judge it as a five would merely be impressing my opinion upon the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Idea. OK Execution., 29 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr. Jk Waller (Tyneside, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The idea, to set the events in 1602, is fantastic (no pun intended) and it is reasonably well executed but could have been so much better. There is so much to toy with in this idea (So much was happening all over Europe at this time) which is ignored. The conversion to Tudor times of some character names is weak and feels a little lazy ('Scotius'!?) and the 'watcher's' inclusion seems totally pointless (and could have been done without). Art work is OK. All in all- A great idea and enjoyable read but could have been done so much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cluttered Storyline, Mostly Awful Art, 16 Mar. 2006
By 
A. Ross (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marvel 1602 TPB (Paperback)
The only Gaiman work I've ever read was his novel American Gods, which I didn't particularly care for, and my only exposure to the Marvelverse is via the various film adaptations of the last few years. This book caught my eye because of the amazing cover and the premise, which appealed to me as I had recently finished reading a non-fiction book about Elizabethan England. Gaiman has taken Marvel's "Silver Age" (pre-1969) characters and placed them in Europe at the dawn of the 17th-century. Some of them are now operatives of the dying Queen Elizabeth, some are independent entities, Magneto is a Spanish Inquisitor, and mutants are known as "witchbreed." It's a time of great uncertainty, as James lurks up in Scotland waiting to ascend the English throne, strange weather phenomena portend the end of the world, and an alien "watcher" dithers over whether to intervene in human affairs. All of this is interwoven with a strange artifact from Jerusalem, the Virginia colony in the New World, and all kinds of other hocus-pocus.
Frankly, the entire enterprise felt rather cluttered, with far too many characters running around -- you need a scorecard to keep 'em all straight. Of course you don't need to know the characters in order to follow the story, but I suspect that a great deal of the enjoyment many readers will lie Gaiman's transformation of beloved characters into period players (eg. Daredevil is presented as a blind Irish bard with some serious tumbling skills). People like me, who aren't steeped in the Marvelverse will probably get a lot less out of it. Quite a lot of the characters make only a token appearance, such as The Thing, The Beast, and then stick around only to clutter backgrounds. The story and art would have been better served by some judicious paring down of characters and tangents, allowing the core a little more breathing room.
The cover art that caught my eye is the work of poster designer Scott McKowen, who employs a modern scratchboard engraving technique somewhat akin to what most people think of as woodcuts. Each of issue covers, which serve as section breaks in the book, are absolutely breathtaking and beautifully colored. The same can not be said about the rest of the art. I realize I'm in the minority here, but Andy Kubert's penciling is terrible (especially faces) and the digital coloring by Richard Isanove is even worse. Every now and then there's a nice panel with an unusual perspective or close-up, or a decent sequence (my favorite is near the end of Part 3, when Nick Fury challenges a prisoner to a fight), but in general, the panels are jam-packed with characters and text. The "digital painting" colorizing is universally awful, and looks like lame airbrushing. Moreover, a filter of diagonal lines has been applied to most of the coloring, in a very weak attempt to make appear "hand crafted". Overall, a very neat premise with rather lackluster execution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marvel 1602 HC (Marvel Heroes)
Marvel 1602 HC (Marvel Heroes) by Neil Gaiman (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2004)
Used & New from: £4.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews