Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolverine, Origin - Hardback Edition
This is it!!!
Finally,the story Marvel have been holding back writing for 26 years. This novel collects together the massivly selling Origin series 1-6, in a Hardback Edition which prevents folding and creasing and will become collectable.
The story begins with Logan as a child and dramatacally progresses into his development as a mutant. Now we can learn about...
Published on 23 Jun. 2002 by MR EDDY

versus
2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excelent
Brilliant just brilliant great drawings, great storyline, great writing. Tells the story of Wolverine from child to someone similar to what we know now or at least he's on his way to being the man we know.
Only problem is it still doesn't explain everything leaves alot of his life still to be told.
Published on 11 July 2003 by ciaphas_cain


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolverine, Origin - Hardback Edition, 23 Jun. 2002
This is it!!!
Finally,the story Marvel have been holding back writing for 26 years. This novel collects together the massivly selling Origin series 1-6, in a Hardback Edition which prevents folding and creasing and will become collectable.
The story begins with Logan as a child and dramatacally progresses into his development as a mutant. Now we can learn about where he grew up, his friends, parents, his first job and his friendship with wolves. What's so special about all this, you might ask? Well, Logan has always been unsure of his past, and unlike Batman, who relives the nightmares, he has to put up with the mystery surrounding his upbringing.
The artwork here is incredible, and I have been drooling over most of the pages. It's almost possible to read the story without looking at the text. The story is completely sequential with no flashbacks or hidden mysteries revealed at the end as is so often cliched in graphic novels, you just follow the adventure like a ride.
For something as contentious as Wolverine's Origin, Marvel could have really flopped with this one, some fans didn't want them to do it in case they ruined the mystery. Wolverine's character is based so much on this mystery of the past. However, they've done a fantastic job faced with the fact that future X-Men films could have robbed them of the privilege, which would have been a disaster for everyone.
Included with the story is character bios, and loads of literature detailing how this comic came together from the first board meeting to e-mails between writer and editor which generally gives a good insight into how Graphic Novels are created.
You'll definately see Logan in a new light after this, a must for all X-Men fans and probably the best project Marvel have done since some of their Spiderman stuff, or better!
Buy yours now and watch your mates fight over who reads it first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Origin of Wolverine...It could have gone horribly wrong!, 22 May 2003
This review is from: Origin : The True Story of Wolverine (Paperback)
Well, what can I say. In all my years of reading comics, never has a limited series like this struck such a chord. I have never been a huge fan of wolverine, but through the appearences he has made in titles like Uncanny X-men among others, I was intrigued by the level of mystery surrounding his past. I saw the original comics fly off the shelves in brighton, but never really got inspired enough to actually buy them myself. On a whim I decided to see what all the fuss was about and bought the graphic novel...Possibly one of the best purchases I have ever made! This book is fantastic! I was completely gripped! It was such a delight to read as marvel could quite easily have murdered the story and the character by attempting to tackle the history of wolverine after such a long time (as suggested in the foreword, the spider-man clone saga springs to mind....but then everyone makes mistakes!) but thankfully they didn't. The book has a beautiful story, matched by the equally beautiful art work, and more twists than a game of black-jack! Keep up the good work Marvel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 16 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
possably the most eagerly awaited and most debated comic book story ever told, and definately the best trump card marvel comics has ever pulled!
after decades, finally, the origin of the misterious man known as WOLVERINE has been exposed.
a beautifully crafted story of sadness and despirate times, a tale of survival and coming of age which shows us the story of how a young boy grew to become a legend, with truely breath-taking art work which gives a real sense of the time and setting, and all 3 creators doing the best work of their careers so far.
this is marvel's greatest tale never told- and not a shread of spandex in sight.
this is a must for all wolverine fans, all x-men fans, all comic fans, and people who saw and loved the x-men movie can just pick this up for an x-celent prequel.
a book that you, literally,want to read again and again. trust me, i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mighty fine TPB from the house of ideas, 5 July 2010
By 
Shel (North East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've just re-read this as I'm about to start Wolverine: The End and thought it were good as time as any to return to this for another sitting. The last time I read through Origin must have been seven or eight year ago and although much of the mystery is lost the second time around a lot of what I remember being good stands up. The art, pacing, characters are all excellent. I won't mention the story as to start to describe a minor detail would lessen the experience.

Wolverine Origin was a damn fine limited series and good reason why graphic novels exist to collect them all together in one awesome TPB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Origin Of Wolverine, 29 Jun. 2007
By 
This review is from: Origin : The True Story of Wolverine (Paperback)
This is a fascinating story, which really gives us a great insight on how Logan became the man that we all know. The dark tone, and the hard-hitting drama serves the purpose of this graphic novel to perfection. If you are a big Wolverine fan, such as myself, then you will enjoy this comic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 19 May 2009
Seriously this is amazing. But ends unfinished and i have no idea what truly goes after it. Some help.
This will make you understand the beginnings of wolverine. Alot of light is shed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 28 Dec. 2013
By 
Andreas Hurtsen "Bp" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of Marvel's masterpieces. Beatuful art, extraordinary stand-alone story, little glinches of Logans future (Japan etc). Easy to love. Do not have to be a Wolverine fan to like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant. Such a gripping story. Now I am biased as my favourite Marvel character has always been Wolverine. But this story is truly epic. I could easily have read this in one sitting without stopping - but I forced myself to read 1 chapter per day after the 1st chapter - to savour it that is.

Great artwork as well, the page where he is running with the wolves ... I would want that one in poster size to hang on my wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PRODUCT EPIC........COMPANY WORDERY SHOCKING, 6 Mar. 2014
This came in a flimsy bubble wrapped pos bag and the order sticker massive thing stuck...
...ONTO THE COVER
Don't order COLLECTION ITEMS FROM HERE
NOT COMICS
NOT TP
...THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT APPRECIATION AND CARE OF A PRODUCT IS NOT MENTION A COMIC BOOK SLEEVE!
SO GET THE WOLVERINE ORIGINS BUT FROM SOMEONE ELSE OTHER THAN "WORDERY"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars COMPLETLY ABSORBED, AMAZING!!, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely loved this Wolverine's Origins comic book. it drew me in, took my mind and never gave it back to me. Completely absorbed. Brilliant artwork and the writing is marvellous. This is a dark comic and a perfect way to begin Wolverines origin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Origin : The True Story of Wolverine
Origin : The True Story of Wolverine by Marvel Comics (Paperback - 1 Dec. 2002)
Used & New from: £1.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews