Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 28 August 2004
Being a huge fan of the Preacher series, Punisher was the obvious next step. I was not dissapointed..just. The art work is quite frankly gorgeous. If you have read Preacher then the drawings are very familiar with expressionand action perfectly rendered. The colouring is out of this word (stand out being a the Punisher reflected in a sleazy morgue attendent's eyes)with machine vibration and speeding trucks digitally altered.
The writing is great yet seems a bit effortless. The Punisher has a collection of odd characters with their quirks and (sometimes) recognisable traits with the enemy, Ma Gnucci as a hybrid of Grandma and Herr Star - evil spliced with sadistic wit. The inclusion of Dare Devil and Castle's side stepping of Murdock's moral objections was great fun.
I enjoyed The Punisher Vol. 1 and Volumes 2 and 3 are on order. I hope that the stories take a slightly darker turn as the magic ingredient - realism/ believability - is missing. The killings are too comic. There is no sense of tragedy, which essentially is Frank Castle's life.
Later in the novel there is a rare copy of Punisher kills the Marvel Universe which has to be read to be believed. Punisher literally takes out every single superhero and villain you can think of - Spiderman, Hulk, X-Men, Dr. Doom etc. Great fun, worth the price of the book on its own.
Buy and enjoy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 11 April 2001
For those people new to 'The Punisher' this is the perfect place to jump on, collecting the 12 issue maxi-series recently run by Marvel comics. This sees Frank Castle back to his old self, gone are the abysmal avenging angel days and back is the hell-raising vigalante we all know & love. Whats better is that its fell into the hands of Garth Ennis & Steve Dillon, the winning team behind 'Preacher', the epic run of comics that recently ended with issue 66 over at the Vertigo inprint at DC. The series runs like a John Woo film on steroids as Castle launches a one-man war on the local gangsters with sometimes hilariously violent results, a few select examples include a run in with piranahs, polar bears & suffocation via a michelin-man lookalike landing on top of you. As if he hasnt got enough on his hands Daredevil gets to take a shot at him with cool results & three other people around decide to take crime fighting into their own hands with ridiculously bad results. Ennis also manages to pose the serious question of just what punishment fits the crime though through these bungling Punisher wanna-bes. All in all this is a triumphant return for the mighty skull chested one and would come with the highest reccomendation.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 January 2009
As a general rule of thumb, I tend to offer up reviews for works that I think are worthy but havn't had a decent amount of reviews as of yet (that way I can bring them to the attention of potentially interested others). However, now I am adding an 8th review to a book which has already garnered four and five star reviews.

The main reason for this is that I finished it last night - after a two day blast of intense reading - and thought it was so enjoyable that I just had to add my two-penneth worth.

What's to say that hasn't already been said? What to elaborate on?

Well, the nice thing about this is that it is a tight and complex little storyline that is done and dusted in the 12 issues that make up this book. Steve Dillon's pencil work is fantastic and utterly believable. The inks and colours are excellent additions to this. The character of Frank Castle, a.k.a. The Punisher, is that of a simple and vengeful creature, but he does have levels of compassion which are brought forth by interaction with others, particular his neighbours. Generally, he works as a cypher for some excellent set pieces and also the inclusion of some excellent other characters.

This is VERY Garth Ennis and, as a lover of Preacher and The Boys, I found this an easy and involving read. Highly recommended.

I've just got the Punisher omnibus now - to finish this Marvel Knights run - and I'll soon be following that with the Punisher Max series.

Never thought I'd love reading the Punisher, myself. Always thought he was a bit of a one-dimensional character. But in Garth Ennis's capable hands, this becomes one of the most exciting comic series of recent years.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
If you've not been in touch with Frank Castle for some time then this is an excellent reintroduction. Click buy and wait for the hail of ammo. Fantastic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 24 November 2001
The Punisher is back. Which is definitely the point this volume makes from the beginning to the end. If you like Ennis, you'll love it. If you like Frank Castle, you'll love it.
And if you want to see what use as weapons three cuddly polar bears, a pizza, and an overweight slob can have, pick this up and get ready to laugh.
And then, in the background, there are the four other killers; the psychotic churchman that is The Holy, the fastidious white-suited Elite, and the gunbarrel of the people, Mr Payback in their triumvirate, and then... The Russian. Buy it. Then buy the new series - because you're going to love what Frank's doing now if you pick them up from #1 onwards.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 20 March 2005
I can only say WOW! But I'll say more. Fantastic artwork, excellent stories and the "What If" story close to the end of the book. I see where the 'not so bad' 2004 punisher film got its side plots from. Gotta Go....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 11 May 2001
I have been a Punisher Fan for about 13 years. I really enjoyed the Circle-of-Blood Mini Series, loved Volume 2, but hated "Avenging Angel".
However, I have to say that this is probably the best Punisher material I have ever read. Absolute classic Punisher material.
Not only does it display Frank Castle as his old ruthless self, it displays fantastic artwork and wrting that is very, very funny without loosing it's dark feel.
If you have never read The Punisher or if you are a die hard fan - this is a timeless classic.
The bears scene with Ma Gnucci will always make me laugh!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 26 April 2001
You know what I loved most about Garth Ennis and Steve Dillon's Punisher? A little in-joke for Irish readers. Every time someone turns up and throws up at a scene of sickening carnage (and this happens quite a bit) left by Frank Castle, they use the colloquial sound effect "boke". For fans of native Ulster onomatopoeia, this is a real treat. Of course, boke spotters will probably remember the poet/critic/academic Tom Paulin using it on Late Review, much to the amusement of Mark Lawson and Tony Parsons, with it going on to become an recurring gag on subsequent shows. Here's hoping "boke" becomes the standard throwing up sound effect within the entire Marvel Universe. Maybe some day soon Wolverine, Ben Grimm or Peter Parker will groan "boke" over a shiny white New York toilet after a dodgy pizza or a Dr. Doom-spiked cigar.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Punisher: Welcome Back, Frank (Punisher (Unnumbered))
Punisher: Welcome Back, Frank (Punisher (Unnumbered)) by Garth Ennis (Paperback - 13 April 2011)

The Punisher Volume 1: Black and White
The Punisher Volume 1: Black and White by Nathan Edmondson (Paperback - 2 Sept. 2014)

Punisher Max Volume 2: Kitchen Irish TPB (Graphic Novel Pb)
Punisher Max Volume 2: Kitchen Irish TPB (Graphic Novel Pb) by Leandro Fernandez (Paperback - 7 Dec. 2005)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.