Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (186)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing set of monster movies
This boxset contains so many memories for me. Memories of BBC on Friday nights after 11 pm when they used to show monster movies - the old ones with the little aeroplane circling the globe at the beginning along with Hammer Horrors and the like.

The box-set contains 8 postcards illustrating the movie posters for the 8 films within this box-set: Dracula;...
Published 18 months ago by Su

versus
6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flawed "Creature" disc. Disappointing.
I just received my copy today and put in my disc to check out the transfers. I don't own a 3D Bluray player so I was watching the 2D Creature disc. I couldn't believe my eyes as it was glitching. The last 3 chapters are unwatchable. What I can't believe even more is that this problem has been reported on amazon and other sites. A real disappointment that these...
Published 21 months ago by paulisdead


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing set of monster movies, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This boxset contains so many memories for me. Memories of BBC on Friday nights after 11 pm when they used to show monster movies - the old ones with the little aeroplane circling the globe at the beginning along with Hammer Horrors and the like.

The box-set contains 8 postcards illustrating the movie posters for the 8 films within this box-set: Dracula; Frankenstein; The Mummy; The Invisible Man; The Bride of Frankenstein; The Wolf Man; The Phantom of the Opera; and the Creature from the Black Lagoon.

There is an interesting booklet about Univeral and the monster movies which they made.

.
DRACULA - 1931

Bella Legosi stars as the infamous blood sucker of Bram Stoker's famous book, with Edward Van Sloan as Van Helsing, Dwight Frye as Renfield, Helen Chandler as Mina and David Manners as John Harker.

Extras:
- Commentary - David J Skal (film historian)
- Road to Dracula
- Lugosi - Dark Prince
- Dracula the Restoration
- Monster Tracks (interactive/pop-up facts)
- Dracula Archives
- Score by Philip Glass
- Trailer Gallery

.
FRANKENSTEIN - 1931

Boris Karloff as "The Monster" in the film that made him a star. Frankenstein was "based" on the famous novel by Mary Shelley.

Extras:
- Commentary - Rudy Behlmer (film historian)
- Commentary - Sir Christopher Frayling
- Frankenstein Files - How Hollywood made a Monster
- Karloff - The Gentle Monster
- Monster Tracks
- Universal Horror
- Frankenstein Archives
- Boo! - Short Film
- 100 Years of Universal - Restoring the Classics
- Trailer Gallery

.
THE MUMMY - 1932

Boris Karloff appears in another of his famous "monster" roles.

Extras:
- Commentary - Rick Baker, Scott Essman, Steve Haberman, Bob Burns and Brent Armstrong
- Commentary - Paul M Jensen (film historian)
- Mummy Dearest - A Horror Tradition Unearthed
- He Who Made Monsters - Life and Art of Jack Pierce
- Unravelling the Legacy of the Mummy
- Mummy Archives
- 100 Years of Universal - Carl Laemmle Era
- Trailer Gallery

.
THE INVISIBLE MEN - 1933

Claude Rains takes on a role of the man whose experiments turn him invisible and paranoid.

Extras:
- Commentary - Rudy Behlmer (film historian)
- Now You See Him - The Invisible Man Revealed
- Production Photographs
- 100 Years of Universal - Unforgettable Characters

.
THE BRIDE OF FRANKENSTEIN - 1935

Elsa Lanchester joins Boris Karloff in this sequel to the 1931 hit.

Extras:
- Commentary - Scott MacQueen
- She's Alive - Creating the Bride of Frankenstein
- Bride of Frankenstein Archives
- 100 Years of Universal - Restoring the Classics
- Trailer Gallery

.
THE WOLF MAN - 1941

Lon Chaney appears as the iconic lycanthrope.

Extras:
- Commentary - Tom Weaver (film historian)
- Monsters by Moonlight
- Wolfman - From Ancient Curse to Modern Myth
- Pure in Heart - Life and Legacy of Lon Chaney Jr
- He Who made Monsters - the Life and Art of Jack Pierce
- Wolfman Archives
- 100 Years of Universal - The Lot
- Trailer Gallery

.
THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA - 1943

Claude Rains, Nelson Eddy and Susanna Foster appear in this story of fame, talent and a love triangle.

Extras:
- Commentary - Scott MacQueen (film historian)
- The Opera Ghost - A Phantom Unmasked
- Production Photographs
- 100 years of Universal - the Lot
- Theatrical Trailer

.
CREATURE FROM THE BLACK LAGOON - 1954

Extras:
- Commentary - Tom Weaver (film historian)
- 3D Blu-ray version (requires compatible 3D player, TV and glasses)
- Back to the Black Lagoon
- Production Photographs
- 100 years of Universal - The Lot
- Trailer Gallery

.
Many of these extras give a fascinating insight into the workings of Universal Studios and the "monster" movie genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Universal, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just received the Universal Monsters on Blu-ray and I am very pleased with the results. Creature is presented in 1.85:1 for the first time. Dracula looks very good (but still lots of grain), and yet in the Spanish version there is hardly any grain at all. Hard to believe they were shot at the same time as each other. But no matter what, the Blu-ray brings out things that you never noticed before. And the sound is truly amazing. Top marks for this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfection, 6 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I own a significant number of films on a variety of formats.
When I was a young lad, I remember watching these Universal dark fantasy films on a black & white television and I would tape the dialogue on an old cassette recorder and play it back over and over, playing the movie in my mind.
In 1980, a friend of mine invited me to his house and played a beta video of a movie on his tv. I was dumbstruck. He actually "owned" a movie.
The floodgates soon opened.
In the following years, if it was Universal Horror, I bought it.
Universal was quite prolific introducing their library to the masses. I think they put EVERYTHING on VHS or damn near. So I bought it and was enraptured.
Now in this day and age of torture porn and slasher flicks, none of these movies are horror. They are dark fantasy and as far as Frankenstein is concerned, science fiction. Works for me.
Following the release of Van Helsing, (a "good" movie) Stephen Sommers advocated for the re-release of these classic horror films on dvd in the "Legacy Series". For this alone, if nothing else, this man must be applauded.
Not only did we receive the main classics but all the sequels and affiliated movies. I was awe struck and bought them all.
Now, Universal has taken these main classics and given them the care and attention they so richly deserve.
The difference from previous releases is staggering.
They are as good, if not better than seen the first time in theatre.
And Creature From The Black Lagoon in 3D...are you serious? Worth the price of the entire set alone!
If you do not buy this set, you are losing out on not just great movies but a chance to touch history. You actually get to "OWN" the movie. I'm humbled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Creatures!!!, 2 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, what to say about this lavish boxset unleashed upon us by Universal. 8 classic monster movies (9 if you count the Spanish Dracula seperately) immaculately presented on Bluray for our viewing pleasure.

All I can say after viewing both Draculas, Frankenstein and a quick viewing of the other movies in the set, is STUNNING! Thank you Universal. The picture quality is quite incredible as far as I can see. Viewing on a 42" TV through a PS3. The upgrade in picture and sound quality, from the DVD editions, is remarkable as you would expect. I have compared them haha.

My only little gripe is the version of Phantom of the Opera is not the version from 1925 with a really creepy phantom but the 1943 one which I havent seen but Im sure is a fine film and is also the only colour film of the entire set and as such, to me, seems slightly out of place. Nevermind though, with a package this good it seems churlish to gripe.

Extras for all the films vary in quality but all have at least a commentary or 2 from some well regarded film historian/buff/scholar and some form of making of the production included. Great stuff all round. In particular the featurette on restoring Dracula for HD was very interesting.

We even get a 3D version of Creature From the Black Lagoon whcich will be nice when I get my 3DTV :)

Rounded out with a set of postcards with the original posters for the films and a brilliant booklet brimming with info this set is a must own at its ridiculously cheap price!!

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Box: LANGUAGES AND SUBTITLES, 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Since Amazon seem to be unable to provide their customers with this useful info for foreign buyers, I'll do it myself (after receiving my copy and checking the specs on the back)

Languages on each disc: English, French, Italian, German, Spanish.

Subtitles: to match all the languages above, plus Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Blu Ray Release EVER., 9 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This set just oozes love and attention.
From the packaging, to the special features, to the film transfers it it something to cherish.
If you are still one of those people who are unconvinced by Blu Ray look at this set. Compare the transfer from the Dracula DVD to the Dracula Blu Ray. Impressed? You should be!
All eight classics are loaded with genuinely fascinating special features, you get beautiful postcards of the movie posters and a very informative,nice booklet.
I will cherish this set for years to come - perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice to see a quality region free release, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This item was just as advertised, a quality region free set at a great price. More content providers should consider region free releases, I would love to buy more BBC/English programing and would do so if it we region free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Combination of Amazing Quality, fast shipping, wonderfully low price, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First the quality of what I've looked at so far, Mostly the Mummy, one of the weakest regular DVD productions: it's inhumanly good. Though is flows smoothly, each frame has the sharpness and modernity of a still photo shot yesterday! The sound and score betrays the pictures age, but it too has been mastered to a level of quality never before reached and probably not to be surpassed.
The packaging is a bit cumbersome but not worth complaining about. Extra features abound. I've recently seen a TCM real theater screening of a double feature, Frankenstein and Bride of Frankenstein. I am a firm believer of seeinig films in the theater if at all possible, but this set completely justifies watching them again and again at home.

I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I only hope for a Hammer Films collection on this level containing each of its main horror films: Curse of Frankenstein, Horror of Dracula, The Mummy, Phantom of the Opera, Curse of the Werewolf and perhaps the remarkable strong sequel Revenge of Frankenstein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Outstanding, 3 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What Universal have done here is nothing short of a miracle. The treatment that the transfers of each movie has been given is truly magnificent. Dracula has been in the past nothing short of unwatchable due to the terrible hiss on the soundtrack and old worn image. Now it's finally returned to the way it should have been seen. Im sure all of these movies look better than they did when they were released.

I'm honestly lost for words in telling you just how brilliant these discs are. I haven't been able to watch creature in 3d as i don't have a tv compatible with it but watching in the standard view its breathtaking Mrs Adams has never looked so sexy . you can see everything. the blacks are black the whites white, the sound is beautiful and movies have always been brilliant just not this brilliant.

this will be a box set you'll treasure forever and will be able to share your kids in future. What universal have done is make these movies acceptable for audiences of all types and they have saved and restored these classics to an unbelieveable standard.

Well done Universal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent box set., 31 Dec 2013
By 
Alan Parkinson "Rosco O Gymru" (Abertawe,Cymru.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll start by stating that I paid only 18 for this box set. I won't review the actual classic films, as if you are interested in this set, then you already know they are classics of their time. The packaging is well presented, discs are two in each fold out wall. The booklet is informative and the postcards are lovely (worth framing for mini posters on the wall). Each disc is packed with plenty of extras. Conclusion: If you are here for the classic films, then buy this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Monster Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 47.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews