Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vicious satire of dysfunctional suburbanites
In Buffalo '66 twisted,but strangely alluring parolee Billy Brown has, in the hands of Vincent Gallo -- writer, director and star of this bleak, outstandingly creative film -- a seething, angered depth, molded by a lifetime of parental abuse, poor judgment and very bad luck and his wounded, embittered performance is captivating, and so is his filmmaking.
Greasy,...
Published on 17 Dec. 2003 by Candyflower

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A well observed movie!
I'm not really familiar with the guy in the lead role, but he's done a good job with this film. It's well observed, and quite funny and quite sad. I've seen better movies and I've seen much worse, but this is definitely worth a watch.
Published 22 months ago by Celluloid Hero


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vicious satire of dysfunctional suburbanites, 17 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
In Buffalo '66 twisted,but strangely alluring parolee Billy Brown has, in the hands of Vincent Gallo -- writer, director and star of this bleak, outstandingly creative film -- a seething, angered depth, molded by a lifetime of parental abuse, poor judgment and very bad luck and his wounded, embittered performance is captivating, and so is his filmmaking.
Greasy, resentful and just released from a five-year turn in the pokey -- he'd made a false confession to get out of a $10,000 debt to a bookie -- he has returned to his home town of Buffalo, New York, because he is desperately grasping for anything familiar to give his life some semblance of control.
He visits his vile, hateful parents (Anjelica Huston and Ben Gazzara)but only after wandering into a dance studio and impulsively kidnapping Layla (Christina Ricci), an innocently voluptuous tap student, to pose as his wife. It's a pathetic attempt to persuade them he has beaten the odds of his unfortunate upbringing, but it backfires.
"Buffalo '66" is a gloomy, slice-of-life drama about people with miserable lives, but at the same time it's a vicious satire of dysfunctional suburbanites.
Failing to find security at home, Billy drags Layla to the bowling alley of his childhood championships -- only to succumb to gutter ball syndrome. Later he demands she pose with him for photo booth snapshots to mail home the next few Christmases and feign that they're a happy couple "spanning time."

Adorably Rubenesque and dyed platinum blonde, Ricci gives a gradually and subtly revealing performance as Layla that helps cement the creative vivacity of the film.
Employing picture-in-picture flashbacks, subjective cameras, and an optically shocking, pioneering technique of pivoting around within a freeze-frame, "Buffalo '66" has an edgy, experimental air to it without feeling gimmicky. But as distinct as Gallo's style is -- the whole picture has a slightly grainy, over-developed look to it -- his visual stunts are used mostly to pry inside Billy's head, aiding the film's emotionally profundity instead of distracting from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Indie / Low budget movie, 1 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] (DVD)
This is Vincent Gallo's (Tetro, Funeral) directorial debut. It is a movie of fine acting, writing, and direction, and it features some truly fine cinematography. Buffalo 66 is one of the finest independent films that I have ever seen, and perhaps the most fascinating character study I have yet to see on film.

Christina Ricci provides gret performances as Layla, the odd but tenderhearted tap dancer who provides Gallo's Billy Brown with the only true love he has ever received. Ricci's performance is understated, and she relays just as much heartfelt meaning in one glance of her beautiful, dark eyes as Gallo does in his barrage of rapid-fire monologues.

There are also fine supporting performances from Ben Gazzara aka Jackie Treehorn and Angjelica Huston, as Billy's utterly dysfunctional parents, Mickey Rourke, as a sleezy bookie, Jan-Michael Vincent, as Billy's touchingly loyal friend and owner of a bowling alley.

On top of all of this, Gallo provides a wonderful performance as Billy Brown-a man who has spent so much of his life pining for love and tenderness that he doesn't know how to deal with it once it is staring him in the face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding...., 10 Sept. 2008
By 
yakattack! (sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This film is just bursting with absolute joy, very intense at times hilarious at others, vincent gallo's acting and directing are genius, you start by hating the character and as the film progress's you begin to really empathise with the situations he has been put through...christina ricci is also brilliant i especially enjoyed the tap dancing scene and the excellent ending...definatly recommended to someone who likes there movies offbeat but full of charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Cult Film?, 19 Nov. 2011
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Oh the trials and tribulations on on-line reviews. I do like this film very much, but was struggling with some people's 5 star reviews of it, describing it as the greatest film ever. So, given that I'd written recent 5 star reviews for Les Enfants Du Paradis and The Red Shoes, I thought 4 stars was probably more appropriate.

Vincent Gallo's film has all the hallmarks of the cult film - quirky acting, mumbling dialogue, illogical plot points, long periods with nothing happening, bizarre cameos for Hollywood stars (in this case Ben Gazzara and Angelica Huston), many unlikeable characters. However, Buffalo 66 also has more than enough redeeming qualities to turn the film into a (maybe minor) film classic (can such a thing exist? I think probably yes). Vincent Gallo is (for me) terrific in the lead role - arrogant, cruel, sexist - but, ultimately, strangely affecting, and even romantic. Christina Ricci is absolutely superb in this film, and is, for me, one of the 'lost acting geniuses' of recent times, who, by the age of 18 had made this film, The Opposite of Sex and The Ice Storm, two other magnificent performances, only to get lost (artistically) in the Hollywood machine.

The film is also of note to contain one of the great scenes in cinema - that towards the end where Gallo enters the strip club to the tune of the Yes song Heart of the Sunrise. This is cinema magic.

Should I revert to 5 stars - no I'll stay with 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsively entertaining indie flick, 22 April 2007
By 
Matt Pucci "mattpucci.com" (Here, there and everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Buffalo `66 is as fine an example of independent film-making as you're likely to find. Vincent Gallo's quirky, semi-autobiographical film, in which he stars as Billy Brown - a slightly unhinged, emotionally undernourished convict who kidnaps the surprisingly willing Layla (Christina Ricci) to pose as his wife - is easily the controversial New Yorker's best work to date and features stellar performances from the likes of Angelica Huston (almost unrecognisable as Brown's uncaring, football-obsessed mother Janet) and Jan-Michael Vincent - Brown's long-suffering best friend, Goon. Gallo is equally impressive in the role of Billy Brown; he's unpleasant, and prone to violence, but not entirely dislikeable. In fact, at times, he's almost child-like, and we sympathise with Brown, largely because of what we come to know of his background. The scene in which Billy visits his parents' house, for example, is one of classic suburban dysfunction - and hilarious at that.

There's a sense at times that Gallo is playing himself, rather than actually 'acting'; at others, he appears to be hamming it up a bit for comic effect (see the scene in which he forces Layla to pose with him in a photo booth and repeats the phrase "we're spanning time" ad nauseum) but he can be forgiven on both counts as a) the film is, as mentioned, a semi-autographical work and b) he is undeniably amusing.

Where this film impresses most, however, is in the sheer inventiveness and effectiveness of some of Gallo's techniques as director and Lance Acord's cinematography. Buffalo `66 has all the hallmarks of an indie, art-house film - but, refreshingly, these features actually contribute to our understanding of Brown's character and the advancement of the film's plot.

Brilliant stuff.

Matt Pucci
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film, 15 Jun. 2013
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] (DVD)
I have to agree with Billy Ray and Prof. Zebedee: this is a superb film. In terms of ambience it reminds me of Down By Law (Jim Jarmusch) and Paris, Texas (Wim Wenders). All of these movies are actually very different, but what they have in common is a distinctly downbeat, slow-moving vibe, interesting and well developed characters, beautifully directed and shot cinematography, wonderful soundtracks, and a melancholy tenderness.

I wish Gallo would make another film of this quality. His next film, The Brown Bunny, is interesting, and definitely worth watching, but not anywhere near as good or as enjoyable as this. I've often enjoyed seeing him in other movies (e.g. Palookaville), but nothing else he's in will quite prepare you for this. It's in a world of its own.

If you visit his website (vincentgallo.com), you'll soon learn that this is a man going resolutely his own way. I love that! Referring to himself frequently as a legend and a genius, and having done a bit of everything, from art and music, to acting and film making, he's a kind of obnoxious renaissance grouch. Personally I can find his cantankerous and even at times deliberately offensive stance quite endearing.

Even if not all his output merits the kind of rampant egotism he likes to affect, Buffalo 66 does: it truly is a work of genius. His own musical contributions to the film are okay, but the fact that he uses vintage British prog-rock - his use of several Yes songs is absolutely inspired - is really wonderful. In particular there's a crucial and very climactic scene, key to the whole movie, which is accompanied by the Yes song Heart Of The Sunrise. I won't try and describe it. Just buy the movie, watch it, and be blown away.

There's a vein of very dark humour running throughout the whole movie. The dysfunctional family of Gallo's Billy Brown character are tragically hilarious, in a way that's simultaneously cartoonish and yet hyper-real. All the acting and the filming is great. And the plot... Well, I won't go into any detail (other reviewers do), I'll just say that this film made me laugh, cry, and smile with a beaming grin that nearly split my face in two. This is a terrific movie, definitely amongst my all time favourites.

I hope he makes more films that, if not necessarily exactly like this, are at least as maverick and rewarding. I know he's made a few more shorter movies recently. But apparently he has no plans to release them. What a character!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerfully engaging, 3 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] (DVD)
This movie really offers some great moments and is nicely paced across its 105 minutes. The story starts with Billy who has just been released from prison after serving five years for a crime he didn't commit. Billy is prone to violence, mis-trusting, and has a score to settle. He's also spun his parents a huge lie about where he was, and on impulse decides to kidnap a young woman to accompany him to visit these parents - menacingly telling her that she'll be posing as his girlfriend. Oddly, she takes up the role enthusiastically, and we follow their progress.

Vincent Gallo is the writer/director and also acts in the role of Billy. Christina Ricci has the part of the unwitting yet willing girlfriend. There are several "big name" actors with cameo parts, including Rosanna Arquette, Ben Gazzara, Anjelica Huston and Mickey Rourke. The action fluctuates brilliantly between tense monologues and even more tense non-alogues (i.e. where nobody speaks), with some great close-up shots and fidgety nervous ticks - but not too many to be off-putting. The dysfunctional nature of the characters really shines through, due to quality casting and shooting. Much of the film anticipates the moment when Billy will get chance to settle his score - and when that moment duly arrives we are treated to sound and lighting that really emphasise the point in spectacular style. Perhaps a little bit art-house for some viewers, but for those with an appreciation of the finer detailed craft of movie-making there's a lot to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fight in a Photo Booth, 30 Jan. 2010
By 
Ms. L. J. Braisby "leigh" (Doncaster, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Vincent Gallo plays Billy who, fresh out of Prison, decides to go see his parents who have no clue he's been in jail as he's told then he works away with the CIA. Before going to see them he's on a frantic search for a toilet and goes into a Dancing Studio where he meets/insults (and abducts) Layla, who threatens and convinces her to pose as his "Wife" as he's told his parents he's married.
When Billys parents come into the picture you can see why Billy's got an attitude, some serious issues affecting his day-to-day life and is very argumentative (the dispute with his mum about Chocolate is rather amusing!) His Mum is a self-centred nutter who's biggest regret is missing Buffalo at Football due to the great inconvenience of her being in labour with Billy and his Father, a perverted iceberg.
But there's another reason he's in town and it's maybe one that's going to cost him his life... Or can a sudden, for the most part unrealised true love save him from his plans?
This film, written and directed by Gallo himself, is original, superbly directed and shot, quirky and simply lovely.
Be prepared to fall in love yourself...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT SO, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I'm no critic so I'll just say that I LOVE this movie so much. It's so funny, charming and cool. I've seen it numerous times but my 15 year old daughter saw it recently with no pre conceptions and she said it was one of her favourite ever films and she's a movie fanatic. Have nothing but LOVE for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 9 July 2004
By 
Sam Bennis "shammyb" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
What a fantastic film. Vincent Gallo is simply a genius. Directing the film, starring as the lead role, and making the music too!
The plot is simple yet absolutely true to life, the acting is first class with a great cast. The camera shots are fabulously artistic, as is Mr Gallo's character in most of his films. I especially loved moments like; when Billy and Layla leave Billy's parents house and argue in the car. At not one single moment does the camera focus on their faces, but on the road ahead, leaving the audience to imagine how they look.
Two things really stood out in this film:
. Throughout, you learn so much about Billy Brown. You meet his friends, his family and live his life. However, all you get to know about Layla, is her name...Layla. You don't even know her surname.
. Vincent Gallo's bright red boots. They're so cool. I want a pair. If anyone knows of some place which sells them, please contact me at my email address.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews