Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Major Payne Major Laughs!!, 14 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Major Payne [DVD] [1995] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is the funniest wayons film ive ever seen and ive seen them all!Major paynes attitude with the children is so out of touch,which is what makes this so funny.If you like Damon Wayons you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Major Payne has hurt my sides with laughter, 30 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Major Payne [DVD] (DVD)
"Major Payne" is one of the funniest movies that I enjoy to watch over and over again. I thought that Damon Wayans delivered a knockout performance as the loud-mouthed, gold-toothed, trash talking, squeaky voiced Major Benson Winifred Payne. He was so funny that I nearly had a heart attack while laughing at the same time.

After a major drug bust goes extremely well in South America, Major Payne (Damon Wayans) returns to Parris Island, South Carolina and finds out that the U.S. Marine Corps is throwing him out of the military back into civilian life. After two weeks of civilian life, Payne is let back into the military under one condition: go to Virginia and train a group of delinquents for an ROTC program at Madison Academy. Payne regretfully accepts the job and puts each of the boys into 8 weeks of living hell! It becomes a fight because the boys do what they can to put Major Payne out of their lives!

I have so many favorites scene through out this movie but the one that shines the brightest is when Wayans had a dance sequence at a club where he performs a series of moves (including a very nice "robot"), and with the help of music from 2 Live Crew. Many of the gags are side-splitting funny, and the vocal tones and mannerisms of Major Payne are just spot-on hilarious. And the kids in the film do a remarkable job in their supporting roles. The kids in fact steal the show (especially the younger ones). Lots of absurdity in the movie, but still here and there peeks through a poignant maturity on the deeper symbolism of what boot camp is all about

Of course, it is a feel good movie so you know everything will work out in the end. Base on some of the lower reviews you can see that this movie is not for everyone, but at the same time is worth seeing. If you don't like it by the time Payne does his "Failure to communicate!" line then maybe it isn't for you. As for me it's utterly brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A laugh-riot!, 22 Mar 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Major Payne [DVD] [1995] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
When Major Benson Payne (played by Damon Wayans), a one-man-army in a Marine uniform, is discharged, he needs to find a new life. Given command of the Madison Academy Junior ROTC, he sets out to whip the gang of misfit youths into shape. Used to the toughest discipline and the hardest life, Payne is the children's worst nightmare, and there is nothing they won't do to get rid of him. Along the way, though, Payne and his command all learn a few lessons.
This movie is a laugh-riot! Wayans' Payne is hilarious, being just the right mixture of homicidal maniac and tender father figure, while the ROTC cadets make a perfect foil for the Major. My family have never laughed so hard at a movie as we did at this one, with my son being quite pleased with how the Major deals with a "monster" in a young lad's closet - "If he's still in there, he's not happy!"
This is a great movie, the one caveat being that there are quite a few colorful words tossed around by the Major and the cadets. That said, though, this was a hilarious movie that you and your family will like watching again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Major Payne [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film its hilarious great family entertainment I would recommend it to anybody it never got released in the UK shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant service prompt delievery, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Major Payne [DVD] (DVD)
i love the film and dvd arrived very quickly def would reccomend to anyone.
excellent service bought a few films before well happy with service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant and very funny film., 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Major Payne [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this film, very, very laugh out loud funny, dead pan comedy.
I wish they had done a sequel or two or three!!!
Sharon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool..., 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Major Payne [DVD] (DVD)
Haven't actually watched this item as it was a gift for my parents & they have thoroughly enjoyed it... So though I can't speak for it myself, it has been an awesome treat & a great laugh out loud belly laugh for my parents... And indeed a good purchase for me to have bought them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Major Payne [DVD] (DVD)
I rated it like that because they good.The people have one of the best Quality product, & I will show & tell my friends, how very very Good they are & they will also order for it too.
Thanks for the good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No pain no gain he he he, 12 May 2011
This review is from: Major Payne [DVD] (DVD)
Seen this when I was a kid an I loved then my mother taped over it :-( seen it on here and had to get it on DVD and it's still funny now as it was then, wot an epic film if u want a laugh then get this!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant service, 19 Jun 2010
By 
Ms. J. B. Devereux "jodev" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Major Payne [DVD] (DVD)
product arrived quickly, as described, made teenager very happy, will use again. Thank you!
Wonderful comedy good family fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Major Payne [DVD] [1995] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
3.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews