Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an avergae Arnie Flick
Arnie pregnant and Danny DeVito delivering it. Yes it seems a very bad idea for a film but it is actually a very funny film. Arnie plays a man who is the Guinea Pig for an experiment who is only meant to take drugs to see if he could carry a pregnancy but on the sly he carries on taking them. Some hilarious moments as he starts to crave and become very emotional. Makes...
Published on 14 Mar. 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I vant my Larry......
Alex Hesse and Larry Arbogast are working on a new drug which will reduce the chances of a woman's body rejecting an embryo and causing a miscarriage.

When their funding is withdrawn, and human experimentation is denied to them, they decide to test the drug by briefly impregnating Hesse.

Hesse however becomes attached to his unborn baby.

A...
Published 16 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an avergae Arnie Flick, 14 Mar. 2000
This review is from: Junior [VHS] [1994] (VHS Tape)
Arnie pregnant and Danny DeVito delivering it. Yes it seems a very bad idea for a film but it is actually a very funny film. Arnie plays a man who is the Guinea Pig for an experiment who is only meant to take drugs to see if he could carry a pregnancy but on the sly he carries on taking them. Some hilarious moments as he starts to crave and become very emotional. Makes me realize that men do get the better end of the bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funny and sweetest film!, 21 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Junior [VHS] [1994] (VHS Tape)
I first saw this film when I was on holiday and I thought it was brilliant. The excellent compatability of Devito and Schwarzenegger make this film even better. Why not a pregnant man? It's definately a funny idea.
Yes, watch Arnie go through moods, cravings and pains as he carries through an experiment he should never have continued.
Schwarzenegger is the most talented man.
Thoroughly enjoyable film if you like heart-warming and funny stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film, 25 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Junior [VHS] [1994] (VHS Tape)
Arnie has played many great roles, but not one matches this. He's hilarious and unbelievably well-suited to the part. I consider it a sin that this film didn't get better ratings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorites!, 10 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Junior [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I was so happy to find this when I did an Arnie search. How can you not appreciate a movie with a MAN that is pregnant?! The perfect movie for all those ladies out there who have wished there partner was the one having the baby. I remember watching this in the theater when it first came out and every time I see the film again I fall in love. Arnold and Danny play off each other perfectly and you actually believe that Arnold is pregnant! LOL If you have never seen this movie, you are missing out on one of Arnold's greatest comedies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I vant my Larry......, 23 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Junior [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Alex Hesse and Larry Arbogast are working on a new drug which will reduce the chances of a woman's body rejecting an embryo and causing a miscarriage.

When their funding is withdrawn, and human experimentation is denied to them, they decide to test the drug by briefly impregnating Hesse.

Hesse however becomes attached to his unborn baby.

A high concept idea 'Arnie gets pregnant', let's reunite him with Devito, and we have another Twins on our hands....

But without a decent script and jokes, you don't and unfortunately the script is dire, and the novelty of Arnie being pregnant wears off, when you realise he does nothing but act camp for three quarters of the film.

It was such a good idea though, and Reitman can do this sort of comedy in his sleep, but the magic just isn't there, and after the blow of Last Action Hero, Arnie must have thought he would be back as the king of the movies.

How wrong everybody was.

Thompson and Devito escape unscathed, but only just.

A horrid waste of talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average Family Fun, 7 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Junior (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
This is a touching and very easy watching comedy, showcasing a natural talent for emotive acting from Schwarzenegger with a decent performance over-shadowed by hidden by his action roles. Teaming up with Danny DeVito once more from their “Twins” encounter, their relationship helps move the film forward, once more using their polar opposite personalities for great effect; the diminutive DeVito caring for the towering giant Schwarzenegger.

It’s one of the more family friendly films out there, with nothing likely to offend or embarrass any age. There was only one use of strong language in a great comedic situation and there’s no threat of villainy, it’s a simple film powered forward by emotion and their on-screen chemistry of the stars.

The draw of this film is seeing the established tough-man Schwarzenegger experience the highs and lows of the emotive journey though pregnancy as he slowly becomes more in touch with his feminine side as his waistband grows. He shows a good, restrained performance in this which is very authentic, and enjoyable to watch. DeVito again keeps everything together in his likeable way, but Thompson sadly comes across a lot of the time as ditzy, over-the-top and just a little irritating in a role that is clearly a generic “family friendly” bumbling love interest. She’s harmless enough, but she is just a little clunky in places.

It’s not as funny as “Twins” sadly, and only memorable for the facts that it features action-hero Arnold Schwarzenegger become pregnant, which is a plot device as crazy enough to say out loud as well as see it. It’s not bad, but not brilliant either for a very mediocre, run of the mill 90s comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smarter than the average pair, 15 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Junior [VHS] [1994] (VHS Tape)
Dan and Arn make a giant leap towards being etched in the slab of Hollywood immortality, precious few stars of the silver screen can traverse from genre to genre as effortlessly as this unlikely pairing. The very sight of the Arnoplex turns me into a twenty stone freakaziod. A wonderful Emma Thompson ( from TV's 'Thompson') makes the divine trinity complete. If your a fan of unlikely comedy, this is as pleasurable an experience as your likely to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny film for Arnie!!!, 14 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Junior [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This film shows Arnie in a different light, showing people that he can play a huge pregnant she-male!
It is funny, ok totally unrealistic, the whole concept of men being child bearers but still funny to see a male step up to the plate and facing the worst pain imaginable to humans.
Worth a watch, a different type of Arnie film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 31 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Junior [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This is an all-round feel-good fun film! if you can look past the medical impossibility of a man getting pregnant, this is a great movie!
People have said that Arnold can't act, but i thought he did a great job in this =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable but only just, 2 1/2 stars, 3 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. E. A. Dobson "dwardstings" (West Yorkshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Junior [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I'm feeling generous, I'll give what is really a 2 1/2 star film 3 stars instead of 2. Out of the 3 comedies Arnie's done (I do not count Jingle all the Way as comedy, despite what others may think) this is the one I like least. Twins is my favourite and the first half of Kindergarten Cop is great. This is a one joke film which manages to be watchable mainly thanks to the like ability of its leads, minus Emma Thompson who is just annoying (I do like her in most other films).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews