Customer Reviews


255 Reviews
5 star:
 (215)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...We're On A Mission From God..." - The Blues Brothers on BLU RAY (Augmented Reality Edition)
Part of Universal Studios "100th Anniversary" celebrations - there are 15 UK-released titles in this 23 April 2012 BLU RAY and DVD series - and "The Blues Brothers" is one of them - an "Augmented Reality" issue.

So what is "Augmented Reality"? It's a 3D mini-show that's built into the front sleeve of each release. You download the free "Universal 100 App" from...
Published on 29 April 2012 by Mark Barry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars unable to download
I was unable to download this video, after loading as appropriate method, I would like a credit for the rental fee, I don't want to "dis" on the movie because i wasn't able to watch it,
Published 8 months ago by Sharon West


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 426 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Greatest ‘Modern Musicals’, 29 Sept. 2014
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Musical .... hmm. Not really sure what defines a musical, I guess. You could argue only something with its own original music, in which case John Landis’ classic 1980 rhythm and blues (and, indeed, soul) fest would not really qualify, whilst Richard O’Brien/Jim Sharman’s 1975 classic (and other main 'contender’) The Rocky Horror Picture Show would. Whatever, Landis’ film is a simply irresistible, intoxicating roller-coaster ride, containing some of the greatest musical renditions in cinema (courtesy of James Brown, John Lee Hooker, Aretha Franklin, Ray Charles, Cab Calloway and The Blues Brothers Band themselves), too many killer lines to count, two of the most spectacular car chases in cinema (necessitating the film’s $27m budget) and career-best performances from its stars, John Belushi and Dan Ayckroyd.

And having just watched the film for the first time in over a decade (slap those wrists, I know!) I can confirm that it has lost none of the infectiousness I first felt on seeing it in that college fleapit of a cinema back when it was released (actually, in a double bill with Landis’ other great film, Animal House, in which Belushi is almost as good). There are, of course, far too many classic scenes to list – although it is tempting to try I must admit – but as an abridged version I will merely mention the (perhaps) more obscure: Jake and Elwood shuffling their chairs in front of The Penguin, SCMODS, Henry Gibson’s Nazis jumping off the bridge and Jake dropping Carrie Fisher’s 'jilted fiancée’ into the service duct followed by a 'let’s go’. And then, in terms of the various musical (and other) 'stars’ making 'guest’ appearances, simply a mention of a (notable) couple – Chaka Khan in amongst James Brown’s choir and Steven Spielberg (very convincingly) playing the geeky Assessor’s Office clerk.

It was with a mixture of horror and dumbfoundedness that I read recently of some of the criticism that the film had attracted on its release (a 'simplistic’ plot, 'incredible’ moments, etc). Suffice to say, this is one of those 'cult films’ that I most certainly 'get’ and that will (I’m sure) continue to garner affection and (new) fans for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Blues Brothers, 2 April 2013
One of my favourite films is "The Blues Brothers". This movie is quite old (1980), but I think that it is one movie that you have to watch at least once in your life.

Plot:
It is the mesmerizing story of two brothers who grew up in a orphanage in Chicago.
In the first scene, one of them (John Belusci as Jake) is being released from prison and his brother (Dan Aykroyd as Elwood) is waiting for him in a police car.
After that, they go to the orphanage where they grew up and they are informed that it will close if someone doesn't pay 5000$ to the IRS. So they decide to try to get their old band together again which they had before Jake went to prison.
During the movie the brothers go around the city trying to convice the other guys of the band to come back to play blues songs around the USA.
At the end of the film they are able to find 5000$ for the orphanage with an amazing concert but the entire band have to go to the prison because in many situations they are against the law especially of the Highway Code. The film is also famous for the enormous number of police cars destroyed during the final chase... but they are "on a mission from God".

This film is a brilliant and hilarious musical. What I particularly liked was the fantastic soundtrack bulging with amazing songs which are very famous nowadays. When I think about this movie it reminds me of the enthusiasm I felt when I was a child and I watched it for the first time.

Enrico
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boys, you got to learn not to talk to nuns that way. ?, 25 April 2012
(THE FILM)

After the release of Jake Blues (John Belushi) from prison, he and brother Elwood (Dan Aykroyd) go to visit the orphanage where they were raised by nuns. They learn that the church stopped its support and will sell the place unless the tax on the property is paid within 11 days.

The brothers decide to raise the money by putting their blues band back together and staging a big gig. They may be on a "mission from God" but they're making enemies everywhere they go. Featuring performances by some of blues finest, James Brown, Cab Calloway, Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin and co-starring John Candy, Carrie Fisher, Henry Gibson and Steve Lawrence.
WHAT CAN I SAY?
The Blues Brothers'! Cool music, great comic lines from Akroyd and Belushi, and the best and most over the top car chase in the history of the cinema!! What other movie offers over 100 police cars being smashed to pieces in a wild car chase..Just incredible to watch, just when you thing the sequences is going to end, it just carries on.
Made in the days without Special effects, it is a truly marvellous moment, and worth watching the movie for the sequence alone.
This film is guaranteed to make you tap your feet, laugh out loud, gasp as both a mall and and entire fleet of Chicago police cars are destroyed, and believe in the magical powers of an old cop car.
WHY THE OLD COP CAR HAS THE MAGICAL POWER?.
."You want answers?"
- "I think you are entitled for answers
- " but do you want the truth!"
- "I think you can handle the truth!
the truth is They'll never get caught. They're on a mission from God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true cult movie, 20 Feb. 2005
By 
Duncan McLeod (Bogota, Colombia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The best of the SNL spin-offs. John Landis (he of 'Trading Places', 'Animal House' and 'An American Werewolf in London' fame) creates one of the best comedy/musical films of all time. Its true that not everyone finds this film funny (my cat got up and walked out halfway through but everyone else was rolling in the aisles) however I'll guarantee they'll be jiving along to the musical set pieces! Don't just settle with adding this to your wish list. Buy it. Now. Go on then...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Blues Brothers, 28 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent comedy with two of Americas funniest men.An action packed film with plenty of laughs with a great sound track comprising of some of the greatest Blues artists of the last decade.The Brothers take on a mission from God with the help of their friends and set up the old blues group again to raise money to save the orphanage run by the sister superior called the penquin. The ending has more vehicle smashes in one film and people chasing around than all of the holywood films put together.All together a great film for all to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic, 2 Jun. 2010
By 
L. Thorn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of my favourite films of all times, The Blues Brothers merges brilliant comedy, swinging blues rhythms with explosive action-filled fun.
John Belushi and Dan Aykroyd at their finest with appearances of some of the greatest musicians in the world (Aretha Franklin, Cab Calloway, James Brown, John Lee Hooker etc.).
Not everyone's cup of tea however, but for those who love the music and can watch explosions without worrying about who will tidy up the mess, it is thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Blues Brothers: UK BD specs, 24 Aug. 2011
By 
D. Vitale (Rome) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Runtime: 148' (Dir. Cut) + 133' (Theatrical).
Region A, B, C.
Video codec: MPEG-4 AVC, 1080p. (Disc size: 48, 3 GB)
AR: OAR 1.84:1
Languages: English only (DTS 5.1).
Subs: English (HoH), Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish, Icelandic.

Extras:
# Stories Behind the Making of The Blues Brothers (56')
# Transposing the Music (15')
# Remembering John (10')
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Joilet' Jake and Elwood Blues, 10 Oct. 2002
The Blues Brothers is a great film for car chases, music and comedy. After the release of Jake Blues(John Belushi)from prison, he and his brother Elwood(Dan Aykroyd)go to visit the orphanage where they were raised by nuns. They learn that the church stopped its support and will sell the place unless the tax on the property is paid within 11 days. Jake and Elwood decide to raise the money by putting their band back together called 'The Blues Brothers Band' and performing a big gig. Elwood is certained they are on a 'Mission from God' but they're making enemies everywhere they go. With James Brown, Cab Calloway, Ray Charles, Aretha Frankin and co-starring John Candy, Carrie Fisher, Henry Gibson and Steve Lawerence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Joilet' Jake and Elwood Blues, 10 Oct. 2002
The Blues Brothers is a brilliant film, for car chases,for music and comedy. After the release of Jake Blues(John Belushi) from prison, he and his brother Elwood(Dan Aykroyd) go to visit the orphanage where they were raised by nuns.
They learn that the church stoped it's support and will sell the place unless the tax on the property is paid within 11 days. Jake and Elwood decide to raise the money by getting the Blues Brothers Band back together and do a huge gig. Elwood says 'Were on a misson from God' but they are making enemies everywhere they go. Elwood is a good driver when it comes to escaping from the police. The Blues Brothers is a film everyone must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classics, 12 Sept. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes the Blues Brothers were a white front on black music but the intent was pure and the movies work wonderfully as comedy action R+B musicals with OTT car crash ballets. Writer and star Dan Ackroyd is one of the few class acts in Hollywood and this THREE (not four) DVD set includes both the classic Blues Brothers movie and the lesser but still delightful 18 years on sequel with John Goodman effectively replacing John Belushi. The extra materials consist mainly of enjoyable anecdotes from the musicians, cast, and director John Landis of both movies. A third DVD with some stage performances of Beulshi/Ackroyd fronted Blues Brothers Band stage performances is a plus.

Since both movies survive repeated viewing far better than almost any other films, this is a nice DVD set to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 426 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews