Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...We're On A Mission From God..." - The Blues Brothers on BLU RAY (Augmented Reality Edition)
Part of Universal Studios "100th Anniversary" celebrations - there are 15 UK-released titles in this 23 April 2012 BLU RAY and DVD series - and "The Blues Brothers" is one of them - an "Augmented Reality" issue.

So what is "Augmented Reality"? It's a 3D mini-show that's built into the front sleeve of each release. You download the free "Universal 100 App" from...
Published on 29 April 2012 by Mark Barry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
i thought it was an ok movie hubby loved it
Published 6 days ago by Amy Gerrard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Why did I wait so long, 22 Feb 2009
All the recommendations were spot on, this is a must see film. Great characters, great music, and very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Is Some Serious Fun, 1 Aug 2002
By A Customer
The film was panned by critics and cinema goers alike upon its release in the early '80's, but now it has become a cult classic and deservedly so.
The film is about two Blues musicions, "Joliet" Jake and Elwood Blues, played excellently by James Belushi and Dan Aykroyd. The nunnery in which they were raised is to be sold outright to the board of Education so Jake and Elwood reform their old band and try getting gigs to raise money ("Maury Sline got us a lot of good gigs, He got us the Palace and the Tick Tock, I got him laid so he owes me").
While trying to raise the money they manage to p*ss off everyone from ex girlfriends to the cook county police, "f**king Illinois Nazis" and finally "Big Bob and The Good Ole Boys"
Their is also one of the best car chases in movie history........through a multi story shopping center, and finally the police cars pile up like bodies in a Quentin Tarantino movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Nov 2000
By 
lmskel@aol.com (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
This is one of the best films ever made. It has action, music and plenty of comedy so everyone is entertained. I have been watching The Blues Brothers for years and it never fails to make me laugh. It is the way the brothers stay calm thoughout and the fact that it takes so many to catch them! There are some completely ridiculous scenes but they all work! And the amount of celebs in this film is amazing. I would recommend this film to absolutely everyone. It doesn't matter if you're not a blues fan, and don't think it's anything like Blues Brothers 2000 because it isn't. - Please watch this film you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars See this film, 27 Jun 2000
By A Customer
I was first a cynic when introduced to this film, but after one viewing all my doubts were washed away, why even my grandad aprooved of the car chase.
I will not elaborate on the storey, since that is well covered elsewhere on this page, suffice to say this film is well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blues Brothers mayhem to save mission, 13 April 2000
By A Customer
Jake, recently released from prison and his brother Elwood put their old band back together, for a gig to save their former home, A MISSION, from having to close. What ensues is great music, lots of celebs in cameo appearences and the gratest car chase in film history. A cult classic, if ther ever was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sound, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this film, although the DTS5.1 lossy sound track was a shortcoming on previous releases. I heard via bluray.com that this release had DTS-HD Master Audio. Still to be confirmed - anybody tried it yet? I'll be disappointed if this is just a another repackaging exercise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 Nov 2010
I loved this film! I watched it with my parents and my sister when we rented it from a video shop and liked it so much i went out and bought it the same week. Very funny. I especially like the dark glasses. Also, lots of excellant lines to quote!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOBODY COULD DO IT BETTER, 28 July 2007
By 
L. Wilson (Natal South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It goes without saying that the combination of Dan Aykroyd and the late John Belushi couldn't be anything except frantic. Definitely under estimated in its day (1980) it is now an all time classic with a cult following that has no age boundaries. If you have never seen this film, and if you need to read the reviews maybe you haven`t, then life has deprived you of a very necessary dose of pure humour cleverly wrapped in a musical production and a cast that defies probability. Get a copy at all cost or live to regret a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We're on a mission from god...", 21 Jun 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The absolutely seminal Blues Brothers is a must in any DVD collection. It has something for everyone - Blues and soul music that gets even the most stubborn of feet tapping, acid one liners, terrific and immortal car chases, laughter, tears, and most of all, a mission from god.

The Blues Brothers, Jake and Elwood are on a mission from God. Fresh out of prison, Jake is reminded of his promise, by Elwood (who ironically turns up in a police car) to visit the Orphanage where they both grow up. Jake reluctantly agrees.

After a somewhat less than warm welcome from the nun, they realise that $5,000 dollars are needed to save the Orphanage from closure, and set about their mission to reform their old band and raise said dosh in time.

Cue wild chases which have probably never been bettered (the mall chase is an absolute scream) a psychotic ex-girlfriend, played by Carrie Fisher, who paints her nails and reads up on explosives at the same time - neo-nazis, country music, every police car thought possible, and star turns from Aretha Franklin and Ray Charles.

It's funny, with an absolutely legendary soundtrack, and brilliant deadpan humour. Come on, buy it and enjoy this cult classic over, and over and over again....

...but let's not mention to Jake again the fact the blues mobile was swapped for a microphone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Brilliance, 21 Jan 2001
By A Customer
The Blues Brothers is one of the first films (excluding Disney) that I ever saw, and I have never forgotten it. It follows the revival of the Blues Brothers' Rythm and Blues band, and features some of the best car chases you will ever see! Their dry wit and excellent music makes this one film not to miss, and one DVD you will never regret buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blues Brothers [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 0.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews