Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
This film has, as of August 2012, been voted the best film of all time by the British Film Institute's Sight and Sound magazine in its 10 yearly poll where a panel of distributors, critics and academics vote. This is the first time in 50 years when this honours has not been bestowed on Citizen Kane.

James Stewart was one of those rare Hollywood stars who...
Published on 2 Aug. 2012 by Numinous Ugo

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing happens till about 10 mins at the end.
Dull.very slow,don't waste your time,i can see why it bombed at the box office.If this was any other director it would have been forgotten years ago.
Best movie of all time???come on.
Published 11 days ago by Mj


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 2 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
This film has, as of August 2012, been voted the best film of all time by the British Film Institute's Sight and Sound magazine in its 10 yearly poll where a panel of distributors, critics and academics vote. This is the first time in 50 years when this honours has not been bestowed on Citizen Kane.

James Stewart was one of those rare Hollywood stars who brought real magic to the screen. He was an everyman, he was often vulnerable and flawed. In the hands of a lesser man his character in that other Hitchcock classic Rear Window [DVD]could have been a real turn off for audiences.

I don't want to spoil this movie for anyone but Vertigo contains one of Hitchcock's rather naive, schoolboyish, plot devices. The very notion that policemen, even in the 1950's would be expected to recklessly pursue a suspect across the steep rooftops is rather absurd and as for the behaviour of the nun at the end...

Although Hitchcock has been blamed for the misconception that vertigo is the fear of heights this was not because of any misunderstanding on his part. In a key scene Scottie Ferguson (James Stewart) explains to Midge Woods (Barbara Bel Geddes) that he suffers for acrophobia (fear of heights) which results in vertigo (a type of dizziness, where there is a feeling of motion when trhe sufferer is standing still) It made sense to call the film after the sympyom as this tied in with the visual representation in a visual medium. Nevertheless verigo has become synonymous with acrophobia in the public imagination because of this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great blu ray, 13 Nov. 2013
A great blu ray of a classics film ,story is evident to all with half an interest in films so will not review the film. Packed with extras Vertigo boasts an impressive 1080p/VC-1 encoded video .The results are terrific -- for the most part -- and there are only a few troubling shots that detract from the overall presentation, Colors are quite striking, fleshtones are lifelike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock at his absolute best, 29 Nov. 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
Vertigo is an amazing, incredibly absorbing motion picture. This is vintage Hitchcock--complex, disturbing, and brilliantly shot. San Francisco has never looked more beautiful than it does in this movie, which features backdrops of the Golden Gate Bridge, a forest of giant sequoias, and other local landmarks. Jimmy Stewart, one of my personal favorites, delivers a dead-on performance, and Kim Novak is wonderful in her dual role (even though I kept wishing Grace Kelly were playing the role). Even some of the bit actors are stars in their own right--"Grandma Walton" plays a hotel manager and "Milburn Drysdale" from The Beverly Hillbillies plays a doctor. In a more important (and somewhat confusing) role, Barbara Bel Geddes (Miss Ellie from TV's Dallas) plays Scottie Ferguson's (Stewart's) long-time friend. The music is a perfect fit with the cascading emotions of the story, as Hitchcock understood just how important the musical score is to the overall presentation. The sense of vertigo is conveyed rather well by the camera action, and the psychedelic dream-like sequence was original and intriguingly uncanny. I cannot imagine why this film was not a ringing success with critics and fans alike when it was initially released because it is a model of incredible filmmaking.
I hesitate to even mention the plot because it is incredibly complex and should be experienced by the first-time viewer with no preconceptions and no prior knowledge of the twists and turns involved. It is a pleasure to watch a movie in which the viewer simply must participate on an intellectual level to grasp the evolution of the plot. I believe the plot is hard to figure out, which is a wonderful thing. My own initial suspicions were quite wrong, I am pleased to say, although I was a little disappointed that the character who earned my suspicions was sort of forgotten in the final stages of the action.
This movie is a masterpiece. It works on all levels, and while some may feel the first half of the film develops a little slowly, there is plenty of action and revelation to be found in the last half. It is a little over two hours long, so you should be sure to set aside enough time to watch the movie without any interruptions or breaks. And for goodness' sake, do not let anyone tell you what happens before you watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 6 Mar. 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film in the fifties, when I was twelve. I was deeply impressed and I have never found any reason to change my mind. It was my first insight into the facts that adults have fears and vulnerabilities and they suffer. Kim Novak was subtly sexy and I could see why James Stewart's character fell for her. The film made me, for the first time, identify with adults and begin to understand their world. Stewart plays Scottie, a detective who has to resign from the police force because of his intense fear of heights, and he is asked to investigate the activities of the wife of an acquaintance. He becomes involved with her, but then she falls to her death in an apparent suicide. But is she really dead?
Stewart and Novak both turn in sensitive, accomplished performances. Like so many of Hitchcock's films, the theme is obsession. Although not everyone thought so at the time, this is a very good film and I regard it as one of the best films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning DVD, 22 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
The film is awesome, one of Hitchcock's best, mesmerisingly watchable and with great performances. However I was amazed by the quality of the DVD, the sound and print are spectacularly good (restored), and the extras almost unparallelled for a film of this age. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 16 Oct. 2002
By 
M. Goulden (Gtr, Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vertigo [VHS] [1958] (VHS Tape)
In the documentary, 'Obsessed With Vertigo', the restorers of the film say that they are envious of those who are able to watch the restored version of Vertigo without ever having watched the film at all before. Well, I am one of those people and I was awestruck by it.
Every aspect of the film is stunning: the directing, the acting, the sets, the music etc, but in my mind it is the cinematography which stands out. The clarity of colour and the lack of fog to create this dream-like vision of '50s San Franciso added a quality to this film that I can't really put into words. Some credit must go to those who have painstakingly restored this cinematic classic, because if it hadn't been for them I might not have been so struck and impressed with what I was watching.
But, having said that, I can't even comtemplate not being mesmerised by this film. As I said, everything about Vertigo is stunning. It is one of those rare things where everthing flows together seamlessly. Each separate bit of the movie has its own time to shine, its own time to stand up to be noticed. It is the kind of movie that knows where it is going, and is going to hook anyone and everyone into watching it as it slowly weaves and winds its way through towards the end. I love to watch these kind of movies, the kind that rope you in slowly, movies that at times move along at a snail's pace - not having to be concerned with the introduction of action sequences and things blowing up, movies that increase the tension little by little until the climactic crescendo at the end is finally reached. Sadly this is all too rare in modern cinema (The Shawshank Redemption is a fantastic exception), but from watching Vertigo and subsequently Rear Window, it is obvious that HItchcock was the supreme exponent of these kind of movies.

I love every minute of Vertigo, and I've never tired of watching it simce. The term 'a piece of art' has become over-used in recent years, but in order to find the words to descibe Vertigo I can find no better phrase. It is breathtaking and I urge you, as a person who is now 'obsessed with Vertigo', to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Hitchcock Thriller Gets 'Proper' Paramount Blu-ray Treatment, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alfred Hitchcock will forever be my favourite film director and 'Vertigo' is one of his best, right up there with 'North by Northwest' but just shy of 'Notorious'.

This new Blu-ray gives this classic the proper treatment with a resulting picture and sound which are equal to the best you can see on an HD presentation.

If you need enlightenment on the basics of this film or disc, please see the perfectly adequate Amazon synopsis on the 'front' webpage for this item, EXCEPT the single paragraph entitled 'Product Description' which I think reveals too much about the story.....

The 'background' joke with this new Blu-ray issue is that it shows how Paramount CAN give the correct treatment for a Blu-ray product when they put their mind to it.

I say that considering the, for example, awful effort for a more modern classic 'Casino' (by the best modern-day director, Martin Scorsese) that Paramount pushed out (see my review) and even had the temerity to have a label on the box for it stating 'The Perfect High Definition Experience'.

Well, this Blu-ray is devoid of any labelling 'fanfare' and is almost bland in it's packaging, yet the HD result is equal to the (Warner) Blu-ray of 'North by Northwest' - it should blow your socks off !

So, when you add in the novel and often ground-breaking cinematography effects in 'Vertigo', an intriguing plot, a marvellous musical soundtrack, some great acting performances and (of course !) the other Hitchcock magic elements we all know he produces you have the very definition of perfect entertainment.

There's really nothing more to say, except for you to perhaps choose a second Blu-ray to qualify for the present '2 for £10' Amazon offer and make things even batter value ! I recommend 'The Constant Gardener'.

Even if the offer has ended, any 'normal' price is still a bargain for this fantastic Hitchcock classic delivered in blemish-free, superb, HD picture and sound !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding film, 17 July 2010
By 
J. M. Harman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
There are occasions when, in considering a film, one is tempted to ask: "What made this movie so outstanding and lifted it from the status of a fine picture into a classic?" Certainly "Vertigo" falls into that category, for it is one of Hitchock`s finest films, possibly the best he ever made. Although the plot is rather improbable, and the director could perhaps have cut down on the automobile searches, this does not matter, as the film is excellent in all other respects. The film benefits greatly from the faultless performances of the players; in particular, Kim Novak.

On seeing the film for the first time, one feels rather cheated by the solution being revealed at such an early stage. However, in retrospect, one realises that the decision is the correct one, for it actually makes the story more credible. For example: when Scotty (James Stewart) meets Judy in the hotel, after her initial display of fear,she agrees after four minutes (I have timed this!) to go on a date with him and later agreeing to give up her job. Incredible? not when you understand her true identity and the fact that she has fallen in love with him - remember when, as Madelaine she said: "It wasn`t meant to happen this way" before going into the bell-tower.
As Robin Wood wrote in his review, had the revelation scene been cut, we would have marvelled at Judy`s gradual resemblance to Madelaine, until with the brooch scene, would have come the realisation that she really was Madelaine after all. There would have been nothing wrong in that treatment, but it took great courage on Hitchcock`s part to let us see the other version.

There are hints in the early part of the film of what is to come; when we first see Madelaine, she is in profile, which is how we later see Judy. On each occasion both are dressed in green; a colour which dominates the film, for Judy lives in an hotel which, in the evening, is illuminated by a green neon sign. This seems to link the two women together. It is rather ironic that when Scotty is searching for Madelaine, the girl he finally espies (Judy) is unlike the other girl, being auburn instead of blonde, wearing heavy make-up instead of being discreet, and direct in her speech as Madelaine was subdued.
Without doubt, a classic.

John Harman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional thriller, untouched by the passage of time...., 11 April 2010
By 
Blackmale (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
Pray they never re-make this!
The trick to making a quality thriller is first suspend reality then envelope the auidence with a story so tight as to leave no plot holes.
Vertigo is old, no doubting that, but the direction sufficently rich to allow you to depart your reality for a gentler world when "doin 'er in..." didn't involve a nail gun to the back of the head in close-up!American Psycho [DVD] [2000]
On the first count you have to faithfully leave 21C for the world the way Doris Day knew it.
I deliberately leave synopsis for the uninitiated, because VERTIGO is well worth watching candidly if you didn't know or long since forgotten. Hitchcock weaves an delicate series of sub-plots that cunningly divert you away from the tale you thought you'd come to watch. SIXTH SENSE's M.NIGHT SHYMALAN learned from the best.
There is an emotional connect with all the principal players. Leading from the front, James Stewart dominates but Barbara Belle Geddes (DALLAS's Miss Ellie) is an engaging though under-used second. Novak is introduced and darkly takes over as the romantic interest. There is perfect balance, throughout the pace is patient with no waste material in the beautifully colourful footage. Hitchcock himself is in there...somehere... performing his signature cameo (clumsily copied latterly by M. Night) and the supporting cast is refreshingly trim and strictly relevant.
Tradditionalists will revel in the social values of the time - manners, zero language/sex/violence which are relegated to implication or description.
Easily stretching beyond two hours, the film is neither tiring or wandering. Very entertaining and genuine departure from the hype-merchandise and celebrity obsessed mis-direction of today.

IMDB regularly lists in the top quarter of their 250 all time greatest and with very good reason.
Exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerizing masterwork, 22 May 2009
By 
technoguy "jack" (Rugby) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
Recently voted the top film of all time by Sight& Sound 2012 poll.The character Scottie Ferguson(Stewart),an ex-policeman,is haunted by a trauma,loses himself in a spiral,in order to bring a lost love back to life.a character attempts to live events twice in a loop.The hero attempts to recreate the image of a dead woman through another one who's alive.Gavin Estler tempts Scottie with a return to action,restoring his lost confidence.Once this route fails Elster intrigues him with the implausible story of Carlotta Valdes and the power it exerts over his wife Madeleine(Kim Novak).Hitchcock is at his Freudian zenith in exploring the terrain of the extraordinary.

This seduction manoeuvre captivates Scotty through the ghostly beauty of Madeleine,which convinces him to accept the fantastic tale and accept the mission to protect her.By following her in his car,the mix of contemplation, distance and growing curiosity,makes Scottie fall in love with an imaginary person he dreams of saving,not suspecting this is an actress, Judy, interpreting one of her many incarnations,a role.She disappears into a hotel and vanishes like a ghost,Scottie's hallucination?We are hooked.

His unconscious desires become a reality,when he saves her from drowning in San Franscisco Bay by the Golden Gate. He becomes responsible for her.They bond,exchange confidences,fears and dreams,while visiting different places. This phase is consummated with the unseen murder of Elster's wife,perceived by Scottie as a suicide he couldn't prevent.Scottie becomes a powerless spectator under the effects of the loss syndrome,revisiting the places he 1st followed Madeleine and those where they were together:giant sequoias,the solitary coast of swelling waves and winds, the Mission of San Juan Bautista.

Scottie bumps into Judy Barton,a carnal,vulgar shop assistant.She is an echo of his lost love.He becomes director, wardrobe designer and make-up artist attempting to transform her into Madeleine,the yearned-for image of his lost love.But Judy knows what Scottie and we don't.The key moment is the revelation of what really happened atop the bell tower of the Mission.This is structurally audacious:the death of the love interest half way through the film(remember Marion Crane in Psycho?).This alters everything we think we know:we shift from Scottie's viewpoint to Judy's,the victim.

Judy,trapped by the love for Scottie when she was experiencing his so intensely,gives herself away by indirect confession.In suspense,Scottie tries to regain control of the drama,his revenge is to force a confession out of Judy,he drags her to her death.This disappearance of Madeleine,leaves him suspended over the abyss,echoing the film's prologue chase over the roofs.We the viewers have been through a process of spiral ascents and falls, through ominous low and high angles as believers and sceptics,dupes,accomplices,meddlers and extras,witnesses and victims of 3 machinations:Elster's,Scottie's and above all and beyond,the masterly Hitchcock's.

This film has many treasured moments,getting drawn into a mystery,the yearning for an ideal love object,Judy's resistance to becoming Madeleine,the necrophiliac recreation of a dead woman,remoulding the woman as if you are undressing her,her re-emergence totally `naked' and ready for love,the greenlight of the ghostly image, then back down to reality in the locket.The rhythmic unfolding and pacing of the film,the effect of vertigo using the dolly zoom.The travel and dream sequences, the scenery and Herman's score to suggest the inner turmoil,together with the animal-like sensuality of Kim Novak and Stewart's angst-ridden performance make it an all-time great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vertigo [DVD] [1958] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £2.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews