Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why do people hate this film?
I honestly don't understand what all the fuss is about. Why do people hate Waterworld? Why was it instantly disregarded before it was even released? When you really think about it, how much different IS Waterworld from the more recent Pirates of the Caribbean movies? They are quite similar if you think about it. Waterworld also cost $75 million less than the average PotC...
Published on 2 Feb 2007 by Inspector Gadget

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kev, but not at his best!
As a Kevin Costner fan, I have seen this movie several times, but it is not him at his best! The film's genre is completely against it, not that it worried me because Kevin has a tendency to make little gems that most critics slate or ignore (take 'Tin Cup' for instance). But it's review as being Mad Max on water is pretty correct. There are nice touches here and...
Published on 8 Aug 2000


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why do people hate this film?, 2 Feb 2007
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I honestly don't understand what all the fuss is about. Why do people hate Waterworld? Why was it instantly disregarded before it was even released? When you really think about it, how much different IS Waterworld from the more recent Pirates of the Caribbean movies? They are quite similar if you think about it. Waterworld also cost $75 million less than the average PotC budget. But because those movies have Johnny Depp in mascara the whole world loves it! Hypocrisy!

With a lot of behind the scenes trouble (director Kevin Reynolds walked off the film and Costner had to finish the final third of filming himself) and negative pre-release buzz, everyone expected Waterworld to fail. Boasting a budget of 175 million (the most expensive ever until Titanic 2 years later) it was sure to be a flop, especially with the snooty public and critics blasting it before its release. Then, the unthinkable happened. Upon release, Waterworld actually managed to prove critic expectation wrong and be a good movie, receiving good (albeit ignored) reviews and finally earning a grand total of $255 million at the Box Office. This is before video, laserdisc, TV, DVD and Blu Ray sales. Does that sound like a flop to you?

The plot is far-fetched. Yes, but so is a plot involving fish-men, giant squids and Orlando Bloom as anything remotely masculine. But you accepted that quite easily. So just, for a minute, believe that if the polar ice caps DID melt that the world WOULD be covered in water. Set hundreds of years after this particular cataclysm, Waterworld follows the journey of The Mariner (Kevin Costner, who is only referred to a few times but never actually named), a man who is one step beyond human as he has the ability to breathe underwater and has webbed feet.

Early on in the movie, The Mariner comes across an Atoll, a floating small town complete with its own Waterbillies. When the Atoll is seized by crazed madman baddie boss Dennis Hopper as The Duke of the Deez (as in Exxon Valdeez), The Mariner escapes with Enola, a little girl who may hold the secret of Dryland and her guardian Helen (the totally gorgeous Jeanne Tripplehorn). Not happy with anyone leaving the party The Duke sends his army of filthy smokers to catch The Mariner and discover Dryland for himself.

Waterworld has a lot going for it. It's everything an action/sci-fi movie should be. There is so much escapism in the stunning seascapes and tropical feel. James Newton Howard's exotic score (replacing a rejected score by Mark Isham) is breathtaking and I seriously recommend you hunt down Waterworld (Original Score). The action is almost entirely special effects and stuntwork and it's brilliantly done. The editing is also quite impressive as is the amazing sound design. Waterworld is far superior to many, more expensive action films but still carries this burden of negative, unfair public opinion.

I have only ever seen the 136-minute cut of Waterworld that was released into cinemas and subsequent VHS etc. But a Director's Cut of 176 minutes has been shown on TV in America several times. This version apparently restores several scenes that tie up loose ends and answers a lot of questions about how the this particular watery future works as well as revealing that Dryland is actually Mount Everest. Other than TV airings, this version has never made available to the public (the extended DVD was still cut and had censored swearing). The Blu Ray was a chance to put it right, but Universal fumbled the ball and have had a terrible track record with their catalog movies. Never say never though.

Don't have prejudices against this movie. Think different and see for yourself how good it is.

I've often wondered why Waterworld was filmed flat. Surely a film of this size and ambition should be made in Panavision or some other equivalent. But no, 1.85:1 is it and the 1080p transfer looks brilliant. Suntans come off as deep and brown, water shots have lots of previously unseen detail and fire is bright and...er...firey. You'll know what I mean if you watch it. A few shots though, particularly some CGI shots, can come across a heavily grainy. But I think that this is probably just a production problem rather than a mastering error. A huge step up from the standard definition DVD.

Regarding the Academy Award-nominated sound design you're in for a sonic assault. Waterworld sounds incredible in DTS HD-MA, and you'll love it. Sound effects and explosions come through clear as a bell and with plenty of base and James Newton Howard's lush score will make you feel all warm or thrill you to bits, depending on the scene.

No extras through. A tragedy. Especially since there has to be so much behind the scenes material. No commentary. No deleted scenes. Nothing! A very poor effort on Universal's part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eco Armageddon, 2 Jan 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Waterworld [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
The production standards of this film are stunning, including a quarter of a mile wide floating artificial atoll constructed especially for the movie and regularly manoeuvred so it always pointed out to sea.
Kevin Costner is the Mariner, a mutant that can breath under water and lives on an astonishing trimaran controlled by complex lever and pulley mechanisms and other wonderful improvisations. He is later joined by Helen (Jeanne Tripplehorne) and Enola (Tina Majorino) a great performance from a ten year old girl.
The villain is Deacon (Dennis Hopper) and as a fan of his in other films I query his casting in this role, he is just too over the top for the rest of the film, the contrast is so great it brings an unfortunate taste of “Treasure Island” (including an eye patch) which jars.
However the environment of a world overwhelmed with water was not well thought out, some examples, where did all the petrol come from for the water skies, why is everyone so hungry when the seas must have been teaming with fish, the Mariner and Helen would have been crushed to death during the descent to the bottom of the ocean, with so much water why is there never aly rain.
With special effects, stunts and gadgets that are stunning, great photography and direction, this film is well worth watching if it takes your interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the haters - I LOVE this film!, 11 Mar 2010
This review is from: Waterworld [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I honestly think this film is amazing! I do have a distinct love for kevin Costner which probably clouds my judgement, but who cares?! I remember watching this when i was younger and when i saw it on Amazon for cheap as chips i couldn't resist. Rewatching it as a far more cynical adult i've decided that my younger self had awesome taste in films. If you hate it then fine, but you should at least watch it with an open mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The US Extended Verison, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. P. G. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recently ordered the two disc US version featuring the Theatrical release and the Extended Cut (40 mins longer). I simply wanted to see the Extended version, and my review is based on this. Essentially, its the usual thing with the odd scene extended and a few new scenes inserted, some of which are interesting, but not really essential. The most interesting areas are the Atoll and the final Dryland scenes, both have much more in them, and the Atoll scene gives a better view of life on the Atoll and fleshes out Jeane Tripplehorns character a bit. I enjoyed the extended version of this great film, a pity its only availabe in the US. The only thing i noticed with the Extended cut was that one scene had actually been trimmed, the scene where The Deacon interrogates the two prisoners after storming the Atoll; the scene where his henchman shoots the "losing" prisoner is cut ! That was poxy. But still, a 5* rating for this "Mad Max on Water", which is a 5* film anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Waterworld - Kevin Costner is innocent., 30 April 2002
By 
Mr. K. O'connor "Kevin" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterworld [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
It was only after I'd seen the film that I was told how dreadful it was. I wish somebody had told me earlier - I feel dirty..and used. I realise now that I have thoroughly enjoyed this movie under false pretences.
I remember the days when a young(ish) Clint Eastwood grimaced his way through a whole bunch of dollars - more or less giving birth to the anti-hero - what a shot in the arm for the genre that was. So....imagine the same character with flippers and you're halfway there. Mind you, there's more than a referential nod to Errol Flynn, there's more swashing, buckling and derring do than anyone called Kevin really has a right to participate in, but he pulls it off with more aplomb than most. What's more, you never feel as though he's taking liberties - he plays the whole thing straight - which is quite something when you consider the size of the holes in the plot and the infernal nit-picking that ensued as a result. And as for Mr Hopper, yes he's a cartoon villain - that's pretty much what I paid my dollar for - he may not be an American Psycho, but he's got an eyepatch and that's good enough for me. Anyway, why are you looking at him when you've got Ms Tripplehorn on screen ?
All in all it's hardly a a work of high art, but if you're the type that thinks poor reviews are a plus point, then you'll buy it anyway - and you'll have a great couple of hours.
Anyway - what do I know - I loved the Postman too.
Ignore the tiresome little typewriter tappers.
They need to get over it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kev, but not at his best!, 8 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Waterworld [VHS] [1995] (VHS Tape)
As a Kevin Costner fan, I have seen this movie several times, but it is not him at his best! The film's genre is completely against it, not that it worried me because Kevin has a tendency to make little gems that most critics slate or ignore (take 'Tin Cup' for instance). But it's review as being Mad Max on water is pretty correct. There are nice touches here and there, but you have to watch the film more than once to appreciate them, and I can see how people would be put off this on first viewing sufficiently as not to see it again. That said, Kevin does well with a difficult part (he's SUPPOSED to be quiet and moody but it's hard to do anything WITH that!). I don't like Dennis Hopper at all in this movie, though - he is too over the top.
There are some good underwater scenes - like Kev helping her to breathe, and that incredibly fast swimming he's able to do - I like it! I also like the idea of 'land-sickness'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic idea is (aprtially) wasted, so make a sequel!, 29 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Waterworld [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This sci-fi movie is nothing less than brilliant..! That is, until the 'Hollywood safety belt' is strapped on (nice and tight) after circa 1 hour. The setting - the Earth after a massive 'Greenhouse effect' - really fascinates me (but where do cigarettes come from?)
Kevin Costner ... as the quiet, mutated mariner, and 9-year old Tina Majorino gives a notable convincing and mature performance as the bizarre orphan, Enola. The Deacon's (Dennis Hopper's) lines are both humourous and grotesque, but Jeanne Tripplehorn is completely misplaced, as is the ending...
As another reviewer stated, 'Waterworld' actually deserves a sequel, and if Costner doesn't like the idea, then let a French director handle the project, and let Jean Réno (in Luc Besson's 'Leon', 1994), act with Tina Majorino. When you've seen this movie, you'll agree that there is enough potential for a more dangerous sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a world, 15 Aug 2012
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never before has a film been so undeserving of hate. I honestly don't understand what all the fuss is about. Why do people hate Waterworld? Why was it instantly disregarded before it was even released? When you really think about it, how much different IS Waterworld from the more recent Pirates of Caribbean films? They are quite similar if you think about it. Waterworld also cost $75 million less than the average POTC budget. But because it has Johnny Depp in mascara the whole world loves it! Hypocrisy! With a lot of behind the scenes trouble (Reynolds walked off the film and Costner had to finish the final third of filming himself) and negative pre-release buzz, everyone expected Waterworld to fail. Boasting a budget of 175 million (the most expensive ever until Titanic 2 years later) it was sure to be a flop, especially with the snooty public and critics blasting it before its release. Then...the unthinkable happened.

Upon release, Waterworld actually managed to prove critic expectation wrong and be a good movie, receiving good (albeit ignored) reviews and finally earning a grand total of $255 million at the Box Office. This is before video, laserdisc, TV, DVD, HD-DVD and Blu Ray sales as well as all of the merchandise and the huge show at Universal Studios Japan. Does THAT sound like a flop to you? The plot is far-fetched. Yes, but so are the POTC plots involving fish-men, giant squids and Orlando Bloom as anything remotely masculine. But you accepted that quite easily. So just, for a minute, believe that if the polar ice caps DID melt that the world WOULD be covered in water. Set hundreds of years after this particular cataclysm, Waterworld follows the journey of The Mariner (Kevin Costner, who is only referred to a few times but never actually named), a man who is one step beyond human as he has the ability to breathe underwater and has webbed feet.

Early on in the movie, The Mariner comes across an Atoll, a floating small town complete with its own hill...er Waterbillies. When the Atoll is seized by crazed madman baddie boss Dennis Hopper as The Duke of the Deez (as in Exxon Valdeez), The Mariner escapes with Enola, a little girl who may hold the secret of Dryland and her guardian Helen (the totally gorgeous Jeanne Tripplehorn). Not happy with anyone leaving the party The Duke sends his army of filthy smokers to catch The Mariner and discover Dryland for himself.

Waterworld has a lot going for it. It's everything an action/sci-fi movie should be. There is so much escapism in the stunning seascapes and tropical feel. James Newton Howard's exotic score (replacing a rejected score by Mark Isham) is breathtaking and I seriously recommend you hunt down the soundtrack CD. The action is almost entirely special effects and stunt-work and it's brilliantly done. The editing is also quite impressive as is the amazing sound design. Waterworld is far superior to many, more expensive action films but still carries this burden of negative, unfair public opinion. Yes, there are logical errors, such as minor characters having gold fillings, Dennis Hopper referring to a flushing toilet, and present day localized accents, but...it's a movie!

I have only ever seen the 136-minute cut of Waterworld that was released into cinemas and subsequent VHS etc. But a Director's Cut of 176 minutes has been shown on TV in America several times. This version apparently restores several scenes that tie up loose ends and answers a lot of questions about how the this particular watery future works as well as revealing that Dryland is actually Mount Everest. Other than TV airings, this version has never made available to the public. Which is quite annoying as there is a huge fanbase for it. This new Blu-ray edition features the theatrical edition only, sadly, but it comes in a nice package. However, the slip-case isn't tight enough and the case falls out, plus the shrink-wrap was far too tight and permanently skewed the slip-case. Thankfully, it doesn't come in an dreaded eco-case. The BD itself is presented in 1.85:1 1080p with DTS HD-MA sound. The only extra is a trailer.

Don't have prejudices against this movie. Think different and see for yourself how cool it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A big fish in a small pond, 18 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterworld [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Something of an oddity here and in my mind, Waterworld doesn't suffer by comparison either to action adventure movies or those in the post apocalyptic genre. Costner continues to offer us the difference between an actor and a star, to me he's the former and his projects are better because of it. As a leading man, the Mariner is more of an outcast than many before or since and not just becuase he's part fish! He's rude and distant, his actions and mannerisms are just a few steps from being feral and I believe this turned off critics during early viewings. The fact that the human side of the Mariner becomes far more prevelant didn't warm critics to him and it was left to the public to decide; they ignored the critics and the film made money, the notion that it was a flop is not born out by a glance at the published figures. The threat of global warming and knowlege of a distant ice age serve as an enabler to suspend disbelief when viewing a world covered by water, not that it's necessary, you know you're watching a SCI fI movie. The changes in language, the customary trade between drifters offers the viewer something of a backstory to how citizens of the new world have developed. Of course in any movie like this there has to be a bad guy and we get a tanker ship full of them. Dennis Hopper is, in equal parts villian and jester chewing scenery and hamming it up with the best of them. The action set pieces are vast and impressive, the musical score has a haunting depth to it and the troubled productions controversial sets are majestic. I enjoyed this so much I even bought the novelisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extended version is disappointing!, 19 Sep 2011
By 
I. R. Barnes "*technobabble*" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a review of the Extended Version of Waterworld only.

I've always loved Waterworld despite the criticism upon it's release and I think it thoroughly deserves the success it ultimately garnered. I have been waiting to see the extended version of the film ever since I saw a small bit of it on TV many years ago. However now it is available on DVD, albeit Region 1, I must say I'm slightly disappointed. I'm usually a fan of extended versions and Director's cuts of films but this almost feels like a bit of a hack job! First of all the extended version is rather bizarrely edited for violence, language and nudity which is something that really infuriates me, and secondly some of the extended scenes feel unfinished and recycled. A good example of this is when the Mariner disarms Helen by trapping her under his sail and then climbs to the top of his mast, we can clearly see Enola's crayon drawings at the top of the mast only seconds after she has just discovered the box of crayons! Also there are several repeat shots of the Smokers' ship The Deez emerging from the fog throughout the extended film which I feel ruins the surprise value this shot had in the theatrical version where it was only used at the end of the film finally revealing where the Smokers' had been based. Another extended shot used during the atoll attack sequence shows a jetski flying through the air on wires - clearly an unfinished shot and obviously the reason it was cut out in the first place!

Don't get me wrong some of the new scenes are interesting, there is an atoll scene where a meeting to decide the fate of the Mariner takes place, there is a scene that shows just exactly how the Mariner was able to find the Deez to rescue Enola, and some of the extended scenes on Dryland at the end of the film are quite good but there's nothing really you couldn't live without! For me it doesn't feel as polished as the theatrical version it's more like a rough cut!

So for those wanting to know whether to buy the extended version or not I'd say not to bother, stick with the original theatrical version, until Universal decide to do a complete restoration job on the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waterworld [DVD] [1995] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 2.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews