Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know for respiratory physiology
This is the only book that my physiology lecturer told to buy. Even though it looks small, the contents are exactly what is required for this module. Explanations are clear, and make the understanding of the topic rather straight-forward. The topics are logically divided and the chapters are in the right order. MCQs at the end of each chapter allow for self-check. Also,...
Published on 6 Feb. 2009 by Ursula D

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not just breathe in and out is it!
Great and extremely informative to get to the real nitty gritty of respiratory function. Starts by assuming the reader has a high level of knowledge already, so careful thought needed to digest the information. Do not expect to scan read this and gain understanding, this needs careful reading. as a critical care practitioner, it is useful for ongoing learning, from a...
Published on 7 Jun. 2011 by nursey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know for respiratory physiology, 6 Feb. 2009
By 
Ursula D (Galway, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials (Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials (West)) (Paperback)
This is the only book that my physiology lecturer told to buy. Even though it looks small, the contents are exactly what is required for this module. Explanations are clear, and make the understanding of the topic rather straight-forward. The topics are logically divided and the chapters are in the right order. MCQs at the end of each chapter allow for self-check. Also, some of the calculations that are basic to understanding of the topic have a separate appendix at the end with the formulas and sample questions.
I would highly recommend it to any med student for respiratory physiology module.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended text for the Australian Primary ED trainee exam, 2 April 2009
By 
M. Ramachandran (Adelaide, SA Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a must-have book for the Australasian emergency training primary examination.
Good book to understand the basics of respiratory physiology and the electronic student resources on "The Point" that accompanies the book is fantastic.Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials (Point (Lippincott Williams & Wilkins))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know, 18 Dec. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, everything you need to know about resp physiology in a nutshell. Easy to understand and remember. Extremely well written. One of the best buys so far and great for exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing :), 14 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials (Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials (West)) (Paperback)
This book is pretty amazing. It covers the needed concept in a very simple manner. If you just take time to read it I think the book is worth a purchase! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, thin but takes time, 12 July 2010
Great book, am 'reliably' informed it is essential for the FRCA exams. Typical US book - printed on thin cheap paper but the content is solid, took me some time to understand everything, but it is core resp physiology pure and simple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A consultant beater......, 30 April 2001
By A Customer
They say good things come in small packages. Well it just happens to be true. a tiny book but gives you all the information you need on the difficult subject of respiratory physiology.The topics are well divided and there are frequent clinical examples. The diagrams reinforce and explain the text which can be confusing. I read the whole thing in one sitting. This is the main book of choice for answering those tricky questions that your consultant asks!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's not just breathe in and out is it!, 7 Jun. 2011
Great and extremely informative to get to the real nitty gritty of respiratory function. Starts by assuming the reader has a high level of knowledge already, so careful thought needed to digest the information. Do not expect to scan read this and gain understanding, this needs careful reading. as a critical care practitioner, it is useful for ongoing learning, from a ventilator and physiotherapy perspective, but it is not an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another of my favourite physiology books - really really good.
I learned a lot from this & haven't found another resp book as good.
It's very small & thin, so not a massive over-detailed book. I really recommend this for understand physiology of the lungs. Also, it helped me a lot to understand pathology once I knew physiology of healthy lungs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good-but topic still hard, 13 May 2011
I found it very helpful revising for my first year medical school exams.
It is a bit wordy at times and looks a lot into the respiratory tests (good/bad depending what you're looking for).
Ultimately for me whichever book I buy it will not make respiratory physiology easy.
I'm still glad a bought it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I hate this book..., 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...but it is one of the key texts that the college wants us to read. It is, therefore, an unpleasant necessity. The language used is reasonably clear. Buy it or regret it...simples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials (Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials (West))
Used & New from: £0.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews