Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The handmaidens necklace
I had previously read the other two books regarding the necklace in book form and when I saw the third one of the trilogy on kindle I just had to have it. I loved it.
Published 10 months ago by pat small

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly formulaic...
Not as enjoyable as the first two books in the trilogy - but if you have read the others this does wind up the series. As other reviewers have mentioned, the writing seems a bit stilted at times and the conflict rather "haven't I read this before in a dozen other novels?". Not a dreadful read just... dull!?
Published on 27 May 2006 by Anna Oxford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly formulaic..., 27 May 2006
By 
Anna Oxford (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Handmaiden's Necklace (Mira Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
Not as enjoyable as the first two books in the trilogy - but if you have read the others this does wind up the series. As other reviewers have mentioned, the writing seems a bit stilted at times and the conflict rather "haven't I read this before in a dozen other novels?". Not a dreadful read just... dull!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Second Chance At Love!, 14 Mar 2006
By 
Kristi Ahlers (Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Handmaiden's Necklace (Mira Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
Ms. Martin’s last entry in the Bride Trilogy is not as strong as the others…but not as dismal as it could have been. This story seemed to lack the heart the previous titles offered. Still this was a nice regency romance a stand alone read if you’ve not read the previous titles in the series.
Five years earlier Rafe and Dani are engaged to be married. They are in love and all is right with the world until Rafe is lead to believe his Dani has been unfaithful. He finds her in a very delicate situation with another man. Crying off from the marriage, Rafe leaves Dani to face the gossips and to be shunned for her part in the escapade. She claims innocence but Rafe is to hurt to listen. Years later Rafe has learned that he has been duped. Dani had been telling the truth and he now vows to win his ladies heart back at all costs. He follows her across the Atlantic and keeps her from marrying an American…but at what cost? He has to resort to blackmail…he will do what he must because there is still a large attraction between them. Will he ever be able to win Danielle’s heart for his own?
Danielle has lived the past five years in seclusion. She has been ruined in the eyes of society when Rafe ended their betrothal all those years ago. She is wants a happy ending more then her next breathe so she agrees to marry an American. She sets sail with her ladies maid and aunt for Philadelphia. There she hopes to have a fresh start with a happy ending. She is not prepared for Rafe’s arrival and explanation. Or his need to have her at all costs. She agrees to marry him…but she will not love him again. At least she thinks she won’t love him…but she can’t forget how he makes her feel. When someone starts trying to kill them will they be able to sort out their feelings or will a killer manage to bring an end to their happy ending.
This was a push/pull romance and honestly it did start to wear a bit thin towards the end. Still Ms. Martin was able to create a wonderful secondary romance which was a pleasant addition to the story. Rafe and Dani were endearing characters but the vehicle in which Ms. Martin kept them separate did not allow for a believable romance. This was the weaker of the three stories but a fair addition to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The handmaidens necklace, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had previously read the other two books regarding the necklace in book form and when I saw the third one of the trilogy on kindle I just had to have it. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 11 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handmaiden's Necklace (Mira Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the third book in a kind of trilogy and I have read all three. I liked the third and the first book - thought it was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh Kat Martin - Where is the Romance?, 17 Feb 2006
By 
MaryGrace Meloche (Ontario, Canada.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Handmaiden's Necklace (Mira Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
Kat Martin wraps up the "Bride's Necklace" trilogy, with THE HANDMAIDEN'S NECKLACE and measurably, the final entry lacks emotion. Martin's writing style is wretchedly distant and for a genre that floats in emotion, a distant writing style is a major problem!
Five years ago, their betrothal ended. Rafael Saunders, the Duke of Sheffield, promised her forever - but he believed the lies. Once, Rafael and Danielle were in love, but their marriage never happened - he had believed the lies! Losing him cut deep . . . and now . . . now . . . he wanted to do it all over again . . .
Rafael Saunders, the Duke of Sheffield, no longer was a passionate youth. Danielle's betrayal still pained him; yet, he could not forget the woman who had stolen his heart. The memory of Danielle still haunted him and suddenly Sheffield wanted to know the truth . . . what really happened five years ago? F I N A L L Y, Rafael decided to get to the bottom of his nightmare! And shockingly . . . it seemed the entire affair was nothing more than an enemy enjoying a cruel, vindictive joke.
Now . . . let the games begin!
Quietly, Rafael Saunders and Danielle Duval wed. Kat Martin's game? The standard "discontent/deception" theme. For weeks, Rafe and Danielle do not make love - Danielle needs time to adjust. The necklace is missing - is Danielle lying? As, the Duke of Sheffield, Rafael desperately needs an heir - Danielle is barren and consciously she holds back the truth. An attempt is made on Danielle's life - is Rafael responsible?
This is cagey writing. By using the "discontent/deception" theme, an author can cover much ground. In THE HANDMAIDEN'S NECKLACE, Kat Martin remains true to form. The "discontent" theme displays lustful nights and unpleasant days. The "deception" theme uncovers guilt and half-truths. Both themes are acceptable if the story has a degree of excitement; unfortunately, here that is not so! When it comes to the romance genre, the reader wants and demands emotion. Kat Martin is a bestselling author; unfortunately, "bestselling" and "expertise" do not necessarily create winning novels. Without a doubt, Kat Martin wrote THE HANDMAIDEN’S NECKLACE from experience - not from her heart!
Grade: C-
MaryGrace Meloche.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Handmaiden's Necklace (Mira Historical Romance)
The Handmaiden's Necklace (Mira Historical Romance) by Kat Martin (Mass Market Paperback - Jan 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews