Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars44
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2009
Susan Wiggs is one of those authors that you can trust to write a book which is an enjoyable read, whatever its subject. In 'Fireside' the main character, Bo Crutcher, is a baseball player. As an Englishwoman I know next to nothing about baseball and wondered if this would put me off the book; no it didn't, partly because the baseball isn't that central a part of the plot, but more because the author knows how to create a story and how to write characters about whom we care.

As the story begins we meet Kim van Dorn who has fled her collapsed relationship and returned to her mum in the small town of Avalon. Kim's life has changed hugely but her skills as a publicist for baseball players might actually come in handy when she meets Bo Crutcher who has just got the big break of his career.

But Bo's career isn't the only thing going on in his life. He has suddenly had to take responsibility for his twelve year old son, a boy he has never previously seen, and as Bo tries to begin to be a father as well as learning to perform for the media, he may have an opportunity to form a relationship with Kim. But with Bo's career and his care for his son at odds, what future is there for them?

This was an enjoyable story with appealing characters, particularly as the relationship between Bo and his son AJ unfolds. The romance side of the story felt subordinate to much of the action but it was well told nonetheless and this is a very worthwhile read for those who like gentle love stories.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book © Helen Hancox 2009
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2009
This is a story that tugs on your heart strings but also makes you smile. The characters in this book are well written and well observed. The development of Bo and his son AJ's relationship is superbly written and the supporting cast are (as always) very entertaining. This is a fabulous continuation of the series although I think my very favourite will remain Snowfall at Willow Lake.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
I am really enjoying this series easy to read and one story flows nicely onto the next. Can also read as a stand alone book. Shame you cant buy the series as it works out a bit expensive @ £4.80 per copy!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
Having read the other books about Willow Lake, this follow on was a great read. You catch up with the characters and see how their lives develop.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
I've loved getting to know the characters Susan Wiggs has introduced me to in The Lakeside Chronicles. Each book introduces more characters whilst still incorporating others already brought to us in previous books of the series. I would recommend The Lakeside Chronicles to everyone who likes gentle tales of believeable people living real lives.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
Although this book is part of a series, it can be read without reading the others first. Pretty predictable but then again just as you need it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
Every book in this series has a different story to tell. You can pick up anyone and follow the story. All well written and told with a lovely descriptive style. You can easily imagine yourself being there! Just ordered another three in the series, which I can't wait to read! Only small fault I can find is book 6 and book 9 don't seem to be available in Amazon? Anyone know why???
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Yes they are love stories but they are so well written and take your imagination to the Willow Lake setting. I find them extremely well written and so easy to read. I love spending a relaxing few hours with the bellamy family and their neighbours!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Another brilliant book - I struggled with first two of this series. Bought no 3 by mistake so glad I did, from 3 on I was absorbed hope there will be another one!! Now ready to start another Susan Wiggs book - downloaded and ready to go :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
I originally bought the first book in this series and quickly went back and bought all of the others too. Slowly working my way through them but they have all been great reads - got nothing else done though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse