Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WARM AND HOPEFUL
Those eagerly awaiting a return to Seattle's Blossom Street will be pleased with Macomber's sequel to The Shop On Blossom Street. Many remember that cancer survivor Lydia Goetz opened a shop, The Good Yarn, which soon housed a knitting class of four women who forged friendships and helped each other through life's rough spots. The same kind of caring and helpfulness...
Published on 3 May 2007 by Gail Cooke

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware!
This book - Back on Blossom Street - is the same as Wednesdays At Four; don't get caught like I did and buy them both! Very annoying and expensive mistake.
Published on 11 May 2008 by Book Addict


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WARM AND HOPEFUL, 3 May 2007
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Those eagerly awaiting a return to Seattle's Blossom Street will be pleased with Macomber's sequel to The Shop On Blossom Street. Many remember that cancer survivor Lydia Goetz opened a shop, The Good Yarn, which soon housed a knitting class of four women who forged friendships and helped each other through life's rough spots. The same kind of caring and helpfulness are found in Back On Blossom Street. Those who enjoy a feel-good listen will find it here.

For those who don't understand the healing properties knitting offers, Lydia explains it thusly, "Knitting was my salvation. That's something I've said often, I know, but it's simply the truth. Even now, after nearly ten years of living cancer-free, knitting dominates my life. Because of my yarn store, I've become part of a community of knitters and friends."

She is now beginning a new knitting class and this time the work is on prayer shawls. Among the knitters are Colette Blake, a young widow employed at the new shop next door that offers flowers and floral arrangements. Colette had been romantically involved with her previous employer who is now frequently ordering flowers - all too much for her to process. Clicking needles right along side her is Susannah Nelson, the owner of the flower shop.

Making a return visit is Alix Townsend, the daughter of ne'er-do-well parents who is now engaged to Rev. Jordan Turner. The wedding, which she had imagined as a small, meaningful occasion is quickly becoming a major social event. Now, just a few months before her walk down the aisle Alix is beginning to wonder whether or not she is cut out to be a minister's wife.

Add to these worries Lydia's sister's daughter being the victim of a car jacking and Lydia's gradual awareness that her history of cancer may prevent her from ever having children of her own.

However, according to the author's premise, there is healing in friendship and often a solution to one's problem is discovered in the words of another.

"Back on Blossom Street" is a warm, pour yourself a cup of tea reading experience.

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware!, 11 May 2008
By 
Book Addict (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This book - Back on Blossom Street - is the same as Wednesdays At Four; don't get caught like I did and buy them both! Very annoying and expensive mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pleasant read, 7 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Back on Blossom Street (A Blossom Street Novel) (Paperback)
This book is based in a knitting shop on blossom street. It is the fourth in the series I think but the first I have read. Each chapter focusses on the life of one of 3 main characters; Lydia- the owner of the knitting shop, Alix who works at the bakery across the road and is due to get married in 4 weeks but is having her wedding taken over by other people, and Colette who has recently moved into the flat above the shop. She is a widower with several secrets in her past which we learn more about as the book progresses. This is an easy read which requires very little effort. Very enjoyable though, I will be looking out for more in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macomber Magic, 23 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The "Blossom Street" novels are a good read, you feel you know the characters,the books flow well from one another. With new dilemmas and great friendships forming, some members of previous novels inter-woven with new ones, you feel you know how their lives are continuing even when they are not the main characters in each novel. Well written and a joy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a feel good book, 21 July 2008
Although the plot lines are a little transparent, this is an easy and relaxing read. I finished the book with a smile and I'll no doubt read the next in the series, Twenty Wishes, next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the Blossom Street series of books by Debbie Macomber - they are heartwarming, funny and I thoroughly recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 15 Jun 2014
By 
G. Robinson "robbo1" (sheffield england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again debbie macomber kept me tied to a book , you want to get to the end to see how it all turns out but on the other hand you do not because you dont want to finish the book .It is not charles dickens but it is a great light read with characters that you care about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back on Blossom Street (A Blossom Street Novel) (Paperback)
Good book, great series, have loved every one of these books, just want to read and not put any of them down. Feel sad that I have read everyone and have to wait for a new one to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back on Blossom Street, 30 May 2014
By 
Ann Davie (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back on Blossom Street (A Blossom Street Novel) (Paperback)
I received this book today and it was well wrapped. I love all Debbie'sbooks, so wanted to collect all the Good Yarn books. I would recommend this seller and this item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading at its best, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Mary Chipping "MC" (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back on Blossom Street (A Blossom Street Novel) (Paperback)
The Blossom Street series was introduced to me by a friend and I was enchanted. This 2nd book in the series about the wool shop although in some ways a follow on from the first could be easily read as a 'stand alone'. The characters are good and not overstretched. Their different hopes and fears merging easily into a good story. I look forward to reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back on Blossom Street (A Blossom Street Novel)
Back on Blossom Street (A Blossom Street Novel) by Debbie Macomber (Paperback - 23 Mar 2011)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews