Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book In The Series So Far
The writing of the Shifters series has improved with every book. It's grown up along side Faythe, and Prey is easily the best so far. Not only within the series, but it's one of the best books I've read so far this year.

Faythe is well out of her comfort zone here, without the ever present support of her lover Marc, she is forced to be the strong one and lead...
Published on 30 Jun 2009 by Claire Mill

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars reading series even tho disappointed!
I have read all the books in this series so far and while i keep coming back for more, I am on the whole disappointed! So far every book has revealed parts of the plot early on that the reader would say ahhh there you go, only to have you hang on till near the end when the characters eventually cotton on! Are werecats just rather stupid creatures or does Vincent think...
Published on 10 May 2010 by A. Neilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book In The Series So Far, 30 Jun 2009
By 
Claire Mill "Cem" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The writing of the Shifters series has improved with every book. It's grown up along side Faythe, and Prey is easily the best so far. Not only within the series, but it's one of the best books I've read so far this year.

Faythe is well out of her comfort zone here, without the ever present support of her lover Marc, she is forced to be the strong one and lead the hunt for him. Knowing all along that they're more likely to find a body. She's got to deal with Manx's trial, a rebellious teen tabby, Kaci, who refuses to shift and her Pride in on the verge of war with several others.

One of the greatest aspects of the Shifters series is that the characters are far from perfect, making them easy to relate to. And no matter how much the characters grow and change in to the people they're becoming, they still have flaws. They're still real. Faythe shows a great deal of maturity throughout Prey, truly showing us the extent of her potential for the first time. But it doesn't stop her from making mistakes. The one character who arguably shows more development than Faythe in this, is Jace, which came as a bit of a surprise, but a very welcome one.

Prey is heartbreaking in places, and I'm sure there are many, many people none to happy about certain aspects, but everything has it's place and reason. It pulls no punches and is all the better for it. The plot is tight, with the subplots carefully weaved in to create a pretty prefect balance. There is no filler here. There are plenty of twists and turns, catching you by surprise on more than one occasion, and I was left hungry for more come the end.

Ms. Vincent stated that Prey 'would change everything' and it certainly has. I think just about anything can happen now in book 5, Shift, and I can't wait to see what that is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shifters Book 4, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prey (Shifters 4) (Paperback)
This is the 4th book in the Shifters series so it is very difficult to review without giving spoilers for previous books. If you're new to the series I strongly recommend you start reading from the beginning as this really is a series you need to read in order.

I was already a massive fan of this series but I honestly think that this is the best book yet. There was so much going on & I literally couldn't put it down! Marc is in exile which is bad enough but when he goes missing Faythe is out of her mind with worry. Along with searching for Marc she has to deal with Manx's trial and Kaci's diminishing health as she is still refusing to shift. That's nothing compared to the political maneuvers that Calvin Malone is putting into place to try and oust Faythe's father as the Alpha of the south-central Pride. If ever there was a character I wanted to climb into a book just to punch it would have to be Malone!

Prey takes you on a complete emotional rollercoaster - it is the first book in a long time that actually made me cry. Parts of the book are absolutely heartbreaking and although at the time I was crying "Noooooo" and begging Rachel Vincent not to do it, I do think that what happened is going to have an important impact for the series. The plot is as even more action packed than I was expecting and the number of twists the story takes is incredible.

We really do see Faythe start to grow up in this book. Without Marc to lean on she has to stand on her own 2 feet and I can see the makings of a great Alpha in her. She still isn't perfect and makes several mistakes but her character has come a long way since Stray. The book doesn't end on as much of a cliff-hanger as some of the previous books but don't let that make you think you won't be itching to get on with the rest of the series because you definitely will be. This really is a series that I can't praise highly enough - if you haven't already started reading it then you need to buy it now. I promise you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite in the series so far, 11 Nov 2011
By 
carly (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prey (Shifters 4) (Paperback)
This is the forth book in the shifter series and my favourite in the series so far. I am still in shock at all the life-changing things that have happened, Rachel Vincent has really shaken things up in this one.

Faythe has really had to grow up in this book and its great to see her taking charge. Marc is missing so faythe has to be strong and lead the hunt for him in the free zone. Kaci is getting sicker from refusing to shift and it's up to Faythe to try and persuade her.

Her father's (Greg) place as head of the Territorial Council is in the hands of Blackwell while the decision to keep Greg or not is made. War is also imminent because of the consequences of a shocking end to one of the pride cats.

Jace's character has really developed and we get to see a different side of him, he has done some growing up in this book too.

Rachel Vincent never fails to deliver. With down to earth and really believable characters. Shock moments, real emotion and lots of twists and turns throughout.

This book is a must read for fans of the series. I cannot wait to get started on the next SHIFT. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prey, 17 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prey (Shifters 4) (Paperback)
I only started reading these books a little while ago, and have gone through them really quickly, having to pre-order the last one because I can't wait to read it.

Prey picks up some time after Pride left off, and is infinitely better. Marc has been exiled from the pride following Faythes trial, and is now living in the free territory. A trip through the free territory to take Manx to her trial allows faythe to reconnect with Marc, only to have him go missing quite soon after that, with Faythe leading the search for him, even whilst the rest of the pride worries that he is dead.

But the problems don't end there, not only is mark missing, but Manx is on trial for her life, Kaci is refusing to shift and killing herself because of it, and Faythes father is under increasing pressure of a political nature thanks to the scheming of Calvin Malone who is trying to take over the territorial council, and take Kaci and Manx away from the south-central pride.

The book is fast-paced and keeps you hooked, and there are also some twists to the tale with the death of someone very close to Faythe, and a lapse in judgement that sends her head into a total spin. Prey doesn't disappoint, and you'll be desperate to read the next instalment 'shift' to find out what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Suggestion, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prey (Shifters) (Kindle Edition)
A friend suggested this series for me. She knows I like romance and paranormal books, this series had both. This series was slow in some places but overall enjoyable.

This series is about werecat shape shifters and their pride. Most Prides have toms but not many tabbies. Each Pride is lucky to have a tabby. The tabby is the Prides most treasured prizes. Tabbies are found to be attractive and fertile by members of the Pride and the Strays.

Strays are werecats that don't belong to a pride or whose who are human born.

Each Pride has enforcers. Enforcers can travel on 2 feet in human form or on 4 feet in werecat form.

Faythe is the only tabby in her Pride apart from her mother. She is wanted by many toms but her heart only wants one. She has many brothers and cousins but she will be Alpha one day if her father wants her to be.

Each book continues on from the last one.

I would recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prey (Shifters) (Kindle Edition)
Great escape from the daily grind of work, makes you feel part of the story, ideal for anyone wanting a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wahay the werecats!, 17 Sep 2013
This review is from: Prey (Shifters) (Kindle Edition)
I've just read Prey by Rachael Vincent. I was very impressed. It's a kind of saga about werecats. I learned a lot about werecat physiology, werecat politics, werecat society, werecat ethics, werecat genetics, not to mention werecat philosophy. There was also a good story attached. There was a great cliff-hanger ending which made one want to get the next volume and start reading. The question is, do I want to know? These books are in a sense a bit religious. After all, werecats are made-up constructs, just like God. You can say anything you like about their qualities. I read this book all the way through, but unlike other books I've read, I won't be going after others in this series. I think I got the idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only better book is the 6th in her series <3, 22 May 2013
This review is from: Prey (Shifters 4) (Paperback)
I absolutely love this series, they are actually amazing!!!

There is such a good story line, and you get so attached to the characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prey, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prey (Shifters 4) (Paperback)
Wow this series just gets better with every book. Rachel Vincent has written an excellent series I would recommend to anyone who hasn't read these books read them they are that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cat Lover, 17 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prey (Shifters) (Kindle Edition)
Cant wait for more. It is so much fun looking at the world through a part time cat's eyes. :) I read the books so far on my kindle and made a note of next publications date, so I'll be in there like a shot when the next book comes out. Many thanks to the author for agreeing to the books being accessable by kindle, via Amazon and for the books in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prey (Shifters 4)
Prey (Shifters 4) by Rachel Vincent (Paperback - 15 Jan 2010)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews