Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't mind making mischief with this demon possessed warrior!,
Long ago a band of immortal warriors stole and unleashed the evil within Pandora's box. In the melee, the box was lost. As their punishment for the deed, the gods forced each warrior to 'contain' one of the demons within themselves. So the Lords of the Underworld were born. The warrior who opened the box (Lucien, former Captain of the Guard) was 'gifted' with the demon of...
Published on 11 Jun 2008 by Misuzmama

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I love Paranormal Romance books but I found this to be a bit predictable and could wait to finish it. I have read three in the series to give them an honest try but I won't be reading any more. I'll stick with the J R Ward books they are far superior.
Published on 21 July 2010 by Dottie33


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't mind making mischief with this demon possessed warrior!,, 11 Jun 2008
By 
Misuzmama (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
Long ago a band of immortal warriors stole and unleashed the evil within Pandora's box. In the melee, the box was lost. As their punishment for the deed, the gods forced each warrior to 'contain' one of the demons within themselves. So the Lords of the Underworld were born. The warrior who opened the box (Lucien, former Captain of the Guard) was 'gifted' with the demon of Death forever escorting souls to heaven or hell whenever the call came.

At present, some of these possessed immortals live a sheltered life high on a hill in Budapest. They struggle daily with their demons eventually succumbing to the demons desires. As well as warding off attacks by the radical humans called Hunters who want to see them and their demons dead.

The most serious and somber of the warriors is about to be the victim of a little mischief. For the minor goddess of Anarchy has her sights set on the sexy scarred warrior called Death. Lucien can't believe that any woman would be interested in him due to his harrowing looks, let alone a beautiful goddess. But Anya is. She's a stunning immortal who brings light into his dark soul and entrances his demon. Too bad he's been ordered to kill her.............

Woo Hoo! Another scarred hero book! I just love those! Lucien (Death) really didn't see the train called Anarchy coming until it plowed right into him. I thought Anya was hilarious. She flipped him upside down and inside out, teasing poor serious Lucien and keeping him totally off balance. I didn't know which way their fighting was going to go -would he actually try to kill her or kiss her (don't think you know what the answer is cause you don't!). They just made a great couple. I loved their bantering. I think Anya called Lucien *Flower's* (well he does smell like roses cause he's death ya know!) just to mess with his head and get him to lighten up -cause Death really needs to take a chill pill every once in a while. Anya is Anarchy after all, so she might make you crazy but thats the point. So that didn't bother me all. Lucien needs this kind of chaos or his soul will succumb completely to the dark demon inside. And for my favorite part -there's tons of sexual tension. Showalter didn't skimp on their love scenes either (more woo hoo!).

Along with the romance there were some major plot developments in DK as well. The Lords are still searching for Pandora's box, racing against the Hunter's to find it first. They gather new information which leads them on treasure hunts in separate parts of the world. Showalter also explains some more Greek myths/legends.

I thought that The Darkest Kiss was even better than its prequel The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld, Book 1). And it can be read as a stand alone since Showalter gives plenty of background information on the Lords.

Next up is The Darkest Pleasure (Lords of the Underworld, Book 3)which is Reyes (possessed by the demon of Pain) book. And then perhaps? Paris's book in Nov 09' -Ack! Over a year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a new book, BEWARE, 2 May 2013
This is Lucien & Anya's story which has been re-issued. I believe it's book 3 of the series. Please pay attention before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem of a read..., 7 Aug 2008
By 
Lola Creole (London,England) - See all my reviews
The other reviews for this book are wonderfully detailed enough so I won't offer anything other than my opinion here. I read a lot of Paranormal Romance novels but it is quite rare that I feel compelled to write a review on one. Lately I've been somewhat disillusioned with the whole genre, finding most of the stories lacking or very 'samey'. Even novels from some of the most respected PR writers (Ward, Feehan, Kenyon et al) have fallen a little flat. So I was not expecting too much when I picked up Gena Showalter's latest. After having read it, I'm so glad I did. It's a very enjoyable read - cleverly written, fast paced and evocative. I like a heroine with balls and a hero who can live up to her. I like a story that doesn't have a neat happy ever after or at least has some bumps on the road to happiness. Yes there are the same old tried and tested ingredients here - impossibly gorgeous women, alpha males, hot s*x, immortality and eternal love - but I think there's enough originality to warrant the purchase price. If like me you're tired of the same old same old, you should give this a try. I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Lords of the Underworld" series book 2, 31 May 2008
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As the immortal warrior responsible for opening dimOuniak (Pandora's box) and releasing the most vile demons imaginable into the mortal world, Lucien was cursed by the Greek Gods to become the Keeper of Death; killing indiscriminately for a hundred years or so before learning to control the demon forever bound inside him. Now ordered by Cronus, the leader of the Titans who have recently usurped the Greek Gods, to kill a minor goddess; he and his demon instead find themselves falling in love with their ideal woman.

Anya (aka Anarchy who appears in book one "The Darkest Night") looks like an angel and can smile sweetly whilst slitting a man's throat (both aspects appeal deeply to Lucien and Death). Yet if he fails to kill her, the other Lords of the Underworld face the powerful wrath of Cronus. They also face further threats from the Hunters; an organisation determined to destroy them and their demons, whilst a race is on to find four ancient artefacts scattered in South Africa, the Artic, the US and Egypt; powerful items that will lead to the location of Pandora's box.

The second book in this series is as phenomenal as the first. Anya lies, swears, steals and thoroughly enjoys killing her enemies throughout "The Darkest Kiss" (thankfully she's over her pyromania phase); she's also somewhat in denial over her feelings for Lucien (deeply afraid of commitment due to a curse placed on her by the Goddess of Justice) yet she's willing to give up her only bargaining chip to save his life. What a gal! Apart, she and Lucien are great characters, together they positively set the pages of this book on fire; be it their sword fights, verbal sparring or their more intimate encounters. From the moment they physically meet sparks fly; however both harbour secrets and deep hurts. Whilst the horribly scarred Lucien cannot believe Anya actually finds him attractive; Anya is dismayed Lucien believes her to have followed in her mother's footsteps; the Goddess of Lawlessness having a certain loose reputation amongst the Gods.

The other Lords of the Underworld feature significantly in "The Darkest Kiss"; something monumental happens to Paris (Promiscuity), Aeron (Wrath) escapes his imprisonment to hunt down four innocent women, whilst Reyes (Pain) frantically gives chase in the hopes of saving the life of one of them. Although the third book in this series "The Darkest Pleasure" is due for release next month, four weeks is far too long a wait and I'm left horrified :) to learn book four will not be released until Nov 09.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but The Darkest Night was better, 9 Jun 2008
By 
K. Ross "kliross" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the second book of the Lords of the Underworld...Anya is the goddess of anarchy and Lucien is the LOTU who has Death inside of him due to his part in killing Pandora and letting the demons loose from hell.

This one for me was alright I prefered Darkest Night more, I just didn't find Anya all that likeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Lordy their back!, 7 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Darkest Kiss is thrilling, dark and touching; the leads are brilliant together and this second book in the Lords of the Underworld series builds wonderfully on the first; the characters deeper, the action faster, the romance lovelier, I'm in no detracting from the first but I've got to say, Lucien's and Anya's story is a damn fine read, Showalter masterfully enhances the world and draws you into future books.

Anya is the goddess of anarchy (minor) and since entering into the Lords lives a couple of weeks ago to save Maddox's and Ashlyn's lives, she has become obsessed with the scarred and multihued eyed Lucien, Keeper of Death. This strong, capable, free willed, free spirited, fun loving warrior wants more than anything (curses, death threats, prejudice) for Lucien to notice her and to experience his kiss. But recently she's had to fit into her cloaked ogling sessions, running from the ever persistent Cronus, king of the Titans, he's after our heroine and not just because of her wild nature. She's eager to help in Lucien's and the other Lord's search for Pandora's box but he's infuriately resistant to her swearing, lying and stealing ways.

Lucien who holds the demon of death inside him has struggled to keep the scent of strawberries and cream from his thoughts ever since his verbal encounter with the strange female that helped him and his friends. Now after finally meeting Anya in person and sharing a searing kiss with her, he is enlisted to kill the woman who, unlike any other after so long has brought both him and his purring demon back to life. Resisting the order to kill this passionate, sparkling creature, whose deviousness makes him smile, Lucien tries to put distance between them, until the time when he ultimately will have to kill her, after all she must be playing him, for how could such a beauty want him?

Both characters have myriad secrets and threats hanging over them as well as insecurities and fears aplenty, all of which develop perfectly as Lucien follows the clues to the artefacts needed to locate the box with Anya in tow, in an exhilarating treasure hunt across the world. Their interactions are both intense and touching, their sparring great to behold.

I was marginally unconvinced about the threat the hunters posed in the first book, as Anya says "...what kind of moron wants to kill the Lords rather than make out with them a little?" he he But I've got to say the relentless presence of them coupled with the fanatical single minded workings of such sects...dangerous. The goal of finding the box also proves to be more complex as others intentions become known.

Although not much space is given to the other Lords in this book as it very closely follows Lucien and Anya but what we do get of them and their developing stories is shockingly good; I liked seeing more of Strider, but oh my Paris's tale is gripping and unexpected also Reyes and Danika's plight is added too as well as us hearing some news about Maddox and Ashlyn.

I would definitely recommend The Darkest Kiss; you will love it if you felt the same about the first. This, you don't want to miss if you like darkness, thrills and romance, great characters and sharp writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 21 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darkest Kiss (Lords of the Underworld - Book 2) (Paperback)
I love Paranormal Romance books but I found this to be a bit predictable and could wait to finish it. I have read three in the series to give them an honest try but I won't be reading any more. I'll stick with the J R Ward books they are far superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars i dont know what to say, 29 May 2010
By 
Milka Irikeva "mell" (croydon,london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darkest Kiss (Lords of the Underworld - Book 2) (Paperback)
Sorry but was a big mistake,but i bought that book and after 2 pages i trow the book.Very disapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good!!, 26 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Darkest Kiss (Lords of the Underworld - Book 2) (Paperback)
Ordered this book having read Darkest Night which was really good. The Lords of the Underword series is well worth the read. Even though Lucien has a demon inside him you can't help but be drawn in. He and Anya (the girl he loves) are really likeable characters. Its got fantasy, humor and forbidden love in. Its hard to put the book down as you get really involved in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love LOTU, 26 Feb 2010
By 
S. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darkest Kiss (Lords of the Underworld - Book 2) (Paperback)
Discovered Gena Showalter via P.C. Cast and I am made up I took the chance and purchased this books. Lords of the Underworld series is an absolutey fantastic concept, enjoyed them all even my husband has been reading them. Managed to read all first four books in just over a week as I couldn't put them down. If you want a really good read with a fantastic concept and excellent storyline then these are for you. Don't know if I can possibly wait until the next installment later in the year so please hurry up Gena!:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb600d384)

This product

The Darkest Kiss (Lords of the Underworld - Book 2)
The Darkest Kiss (Lords of the Underworld - Book 2) by Gena Showalter (Paperback - 18 Sep 2009)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews