Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars black ice
this story is fantastic'i had the book on saturday morning, and by saturday night i had finished it.i could not put it down .bastien is wonderfull,the dark secret agent you would want to look after you if you were in chloe's shoes,she get's in to trouble by helping a friend out,and finds herself in the wrong place at the wrong time , with the wrong people...
Published on 5 Mar 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little hard to believe at times
I did like this book, but I did find the relationship between Bastian and Chloe a little hard to believe. If I had been in her situation and been treated by a man the way she was I'd hate him not love him. The first sex scene between them definitely left a bad taste in my mouth.
Published on 27 May 2008 by Nightlover


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars black ice, 5 Mar 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Plymouth England) - See all my reviews
this story is fantastic'i had the book on saturday morning, and by saturday night i had finished it.i could not put it down .bastien is wonderfull,the dark secret agent you would want to look after you if you were in chloe's shoes,she get's in to trouble by helping a friend out,and finds herself in the wrong place at the wrong time , with the wrong people. a gripping story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stuart rocks, 1 Jun 2005
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Chloe Underwood comes from a family of doctors. Mother, father, siblings. They wish to pressure her into going to medical school, but at twenty-three, Chloe knows this is not the life for her - especially since she faints at the sight of blood. This is a theme common to Stuart's writings, apparent if you are a long time fan - which I happen to be. That feeling out of sync with one's family heroine is generally at the core of all Stuart's females. They drum to their own drumbeat, which makes the perfect target for the perfect Stuart badder-than-bad-boy, Gamma rogue, anti-hero hero. A pure case of opposites attracts to the power of ten.
In this Stuart tale, Chloe is an American in Paris. She is living on her shoestring salary of translating children's books, refusing to ask for money from her parents to get by. The parents refuse to accept one of their blood cannot be a doctor so they are keep the purse string tight hoping to bring Chloe to heel. Chloe's roommate wants to dash off with her latest boyfriend for the weekend. Only problem, she has accept a job to be translator for a group of businessmen for the weekend. She hits on the idea of sending Chloe in her place.
We quickly learn this was a bad idea. That is the one sticking point of the whole tale. Chloe is spirited to a secluded Chateau, and upon arrival the man hosting it want to send Chloe back. Chloe is getting bad vibes about the whole situation, but instead of accepting him sending her back she convinces him to let her stay. We are told Chloe can use the money and that she is restless looking for something to jazz up her life. Still, those reasons seem just a tad week when she is having misgivings about this set up.
These feelings of qualms continue to increase as she is introduced to the rest of the group, and they break into Italian. Supposedly Chloe speaks only English and French, but actually she speaks nearly a dozen languages. She thinks she covers well, listening to them discuss her and wanting her sent back to town. Okies. I would be out of there! But since this is the Resident Genius of Dark Romantic Suspense, I let Stuart run with the tale.
Chloe is immediately attracted to the sexy bad boy in the group. Bastien Toussaint is pure Stuart Gamma Rogue to the teeth. Sexy, dangerous as sticking your fingers in a fan, and just a bit weary of life in general. He's been so deep undercover for a mysterious group called The Committee, and figures he will have to kill or be killed before the weekend is over. Bastien is not thrilled to see Chloe, a lamb thrown in amongst the wolves. And with good reasons. These are illegal arms dealers. Murder and Mayhem is their stock in trade. It didn't take him two minutes to figure out Chloe understood everything being said - in every language. Worse, that talent will cost Chloe her life as one of them is ordered to kill her because they fear she now knows too much.
The next thing Chloe knows, she is off, running for her life with sexy Bastien. It a taught, edgy, sexy tale with Stuart at her best. Black Ice is ice so clear that it's deceptive. You don't see it till it's too late. Stuart's book come sat you're the same way! Echoes of her brilliant work Moonrise.
If you like your tales dark and your heroes darker...then strap on your ice-skates and take on the black ice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 13 Nov 2013
This review is from: Black Ice (Kindle Edition)
Really loved this book! I wasn't sure as I like an alpha hero normally. Real good guy. But c'or blimey sexy bad man Bastien.. Brilliant. Real page turner! Every spare moment was spent reading this book, finished in a day or two!
I do wish there was a little bit more to the ending, but overall it's in my top 5 books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best I've read in a while...., 22 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Ice (Kindle Edition)
I could not put this book down. It's an excellent story from start to finish. Even after finishing the book I couldn't stop thinking about it. The only downside is that I wish there was an Epilogue at end. It would have been nice to know how Bastien and Chloe relationship progressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little hard to believe at times, 27 May 2008
I did like this book, but I did find the relationship between Bastian and Chloe a little hard to believe. If I had been in her situation and been treated by a man the way she was I'd hate him not love him. The first sex scene between them definitely left a bad taste in my mouth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four women and a man., 23 July 2007
I don't understand the heroine, Chloe. She gets tortured by a sadist with a hot knife and all she worries about is that the so-called friend who sent her into such a dangerous situation will be angry when she returns her ruined designer clothes. In fact. Until the aforementioned friend, her room-mate Sylvia, was horribly murdered I was half-inclined to think she was one of the bad people in the plot.

One of the interesting things about this novel is that quite a few women get killed. But not in that slash-and-kill sexual way but in a 'bad people die' sort of manner. Another quirk is that it is the hero who is the object of sexual desire for most of the women featured in the story.

This novel is much better than a 'romantic suspense' genre. It is actually a good thriller with a hefty helping of sex and romance between the main couple. And a high body count. Plus quite a bit of emotional and physical pain.

Just for a change I thought the bad people were all plausible.

Obviously Black Ice is not as mesmerising as Cold As Ice. The heroine spends too much of the novel sleeping or drugged. And the relationship between the main couple has almost no quiet moments where they can just enjoy or discover each other's personality. However Chloe and Bastian do get around to declaring their love for each other...something that was missing from Cold As Ice.

It's still a better than average romance read though.

I like Anne Stuart's couples. Despite the fact that they are all privately educated, tend to come from old money and are better-than-average in the looks department...men and women. That's preferable to the romance trend (no doubt started by the success of Jane Eyre) where handsome heroes get involved with dogs. Just because most people work for a living does not mean that they are ugly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Ice
Black Ice by Anne Stuart (Paperback - 1 Dec 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews