Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to survive a divorce
Sarah Giles has been married to Paul O'Brian for some years but unfortunately their marriage didn't get off to the best of starts as she confessed to an infidelity prior to their marriage on the third day of the honeymoon. From that point onwards things go from bad to worse. Unfortunately there is a child involved - Ben - who is four years old. Money is not a problem...
Published on 17 Sept. 2010 by Damaskcat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good little read!
Great little read I found by accident, wish I had read the 'The Last Year of Being Single' first now! It's not a majorly deep book but it is pleasant,keeps you interested and easy to pick up. All in all, pretty good!
Published on 26 May 2011 by Suki


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to survive a divorce, 17 Sept. 2010
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sarah Giles has been married to Paul O'Brian for some years but unfortunately their marriage didn't get off to the best of starts as she confessed to an infidelity prior to their marriage on the third day of the honeymoon. From that point onwards things go from bad to worse. Unfortunately there is a child involved - Ben - who is four years old. Money is not a problem for any of the characters in the novel as Paul has millions in the bank and Sarah is a travel journalist. I found the format of the novel slightly irritating as it is set out like a play interspersed with narrative, though I did get used to it after a few chapters.

I'm not sure Sarah is a terribly likeable character in herself though she does change and mature throughout the book and starts to see where she went wrong. Her friends are all supportive of her - which was good - but it is easy to see why as she provides equal support for them even when she has her own problems. What I did think was excellent was the way the book portrayed how emotions change during a divorce and the legal advice given to Sarah is excellent advice for anyone in the same situation. The whole book brought back many of the thoughts and feelings I had during my own divorce - without the telephone number sums of money involved!

The tendency for many people in the same situation is to accept any offers form the opposite sex just to reassure themselves about their own attractiveness and I thought this aspect of the book was realistic if not always comfortable reading. I thought this was an interesting book with some not terribly likeable characters. It is not a cosy read but does give the reader a very good idea of what going through a divorce is like. Does it come off? Not quite for me as I felt it was all a bit too clinical as though it was a non-fiction guide to divorce rather than a novel. Well worth reading in spite of my reservations and some of the conversations make you think hard about relationships in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good little read!, 26 May 2011
This review is from: The Last Year of Being Married: 1 (MIRA) (Paperback)
Great little read I found by accident, wish I had read the 'The Last Year of Being Single' first now! It's not a majorly deep book but it is pleasant,keeps you interested and easy to pick up. All in all, pretty good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice!, 17 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Year of Being Married: 1 (MIRA) (Paperback)
A nice bit of chick-lit. Easy to read without too much effort and interesting enough to keep you turning the pages. A good book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Tiresome, 3 April 2010
This review is from: The Last Year of Being Married: 1 (MIRA) (Paperback)
I thought this might be an ideal beach holiday read, but instead was driven to furious ranting by this shallow and shoddy piece of fiction. It didn't start well when the author refers to an alien in Men in Black - the main protaganist who stole Edgar's body - as a "fire breathing monster". I've seen Men in Black, and the alien in the Edgar suit didn't breathe fire. I know it's not the end of the world, and I probably sound sectionably pernickety, but it was irritating and indicative of the carelessness with which this book was put together. A few pages on, the about-to-be ex-husband throws a plastic mineral water bottle to the floor; on the next page this bottle has turned to glass and has now "smashed". Honestly. Did no-one check for consistencies before printing this? My main problem with was our "heroine" who is so staggeringly attractive that every man she encounters - and this is not an exaggeration - makes a pass at her. Every single one. Maybe I'm just being picky again - but isn't that just a touch unrealistic? What also doesn't mesh is that our heroine has, for years, been in a sexless marriage - and although this is not of her choosing, her sudden transformation once the husband is out of the picture (where she's having it away with pretty much everyone)is ridiculous and unbelievable. All of our heroine's friends are always reminding her of how wonderful she is, and her amazing personality, but we get nothing of that at all - none of the characters seem to have personalities at all and the whole thing feels very shallow. I left the book at the hotel book-swap, but kind of feel bad that someone else might waste their time with this. Don't waste yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't even deserve the one star!, 20 Aug. 2008
By 
PrincessClaire (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Year of Being Married: 1 (MIRA) (Paperback)
The thing. With this book. That makes it. Rather annoying. Is the way the sentences. Are all chopped up. Like this!
The writing style is beyond annoying. It is just impossible to be able to read this with any sort of flow. Dialogue is written not in prose, but like a play which is very odd for a novel. It just doesn't work and makes the story very stop-start.
However, my dislike of the book doesn't just end with the writing style. The main character is not very likeable and the way she behaves with various men is not what you would consider to be heroine like. The language is pretty graphic in places especially during the sex scenes. Now i'm no prude, nor am I old or stuffy (I'm 21!) but the sex scenes read like a 15 year old on the school bus discussing sex - very crude and as far removed from sexy as possible!
Not at all recommended - a real let-down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A frank and honest novel - dependence to independence, 28 Mar. 2005
I enjoyed this book. It is at times both raw and touching, dealing as it does with the irrevocable breakdown of a marriage and eventual resurfacing into a life if independence. Sarah Tucker guides the narrative from the initial breakdown to a conclusion which is as positive as it is sunny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Year of Being Married: 1 (MIRA)
The Last Year of Being Married: 1 (MIRA) by Sarah Tucker (Paperback - 1 July 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews