Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prayer, Politics and People.
This wonderful book works on a number of different levels. It gives an insight into the thoughts of the new Pope and the directions in which his pontificate might move. It certainly gives the lie to his having anything whatever to do with opporession or discrimnation from what ever quarter it might come - even the former regimes inArgenmtina. On another level it is a very...
Published 17 months ago by Mr Richard Norton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
thought it would be better, some very long words made it difficult to read and understand. but both seem very dedicated and human and deeply wish to make a better godly world.
Published 4 months ago by Cherry Smalley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prayer, Politics and People., 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Heaven and Earth: Pope Francis on Faith, Family, and the Church in the Twenty-First Century (Hardcover)
This wonderful book works on a number of different levels. It gives an insight into the thoughts of the new Pope and the directions in which his pontificate might move. It certainly gives the lie to his having anything whatever to do with opporession or discrimnation from what ever quarter it might come - even the former regimes inArgenmtina. On another level it is a very useful and clear example of Chrisitan-Jewish relationships and the curent state of this dialogue. Finally, this book should be read by anyone interested in the interface between relgion and politics and the quest for sovcial justice in both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Heaven and Earth, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an ideal book for the lay person, whatever his/her religious beliefs. It is very accessible and does not demand a profound understanding of theology though it deals with profoundly important issues. What really appeals to me as I read it is that I have a sense of actually being in the company of the Pope Francis and Rabbi Skorka while they exchange their views. One gets the feeling of being in the presence of two very holy men who nevertheless are very much in tune with the 21st century. I would heartily recommend this book to anyone who is interested in exploring theological questions, as well as world issues that affect the lives of all of us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dialogue between Two Remarkable Men., 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent erudite introduction to Roman Catholic and Jewish theology. This is a genuine Moral and Ethical dialogue between Pope Francis (Jorge Mario Bergoglio) and Rabbi Abraham Skorka spread over a period of time whilst living in Argentina. I felt as though I was intruding into their private lives A wonderful read from which I have gained so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pope Francis in revealing discussion, 30 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Heaven and Earth: Pope Francis on Faith, Family, and the Church in the Twenty-First Century (Hardcover)
This book is a revealing discussion between the then Archbishop of Buenos Aires and the leading Jewish leader of his country. Monsignor Bergoglio is sincere and willing to talk about any issues related to national and worldwide religious matters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 19 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. Frances M. Mclean (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A significant step in establishing a rapport between faiths. The dialogue is informal yet profound.
I have found this book encouraging and comforting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pope Francis' dialogue with an elder brother in faith, 17 Mar 2014
By 
WILLIAM JOLLIFFE (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pope Francis and Rabbi Skorka demonstrate great respect for each other's views. They make real the Catholic church's commitment to dialogue with its elder brothers in faith. This book casts considerable light on Pope Francis' personality, and his openness to other human beings. Let us listen to the real Pope Francis (eg his prepapal record), NOT to the fantasies of the political left about the sort of Pope they want Pope Francis to be. In English translation, in the Spanish original, this book provides some of the reality of Pope Francis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pope Francis, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gives an excellent insight into the new Pope's thinking on many subjects. Well worth a read, even for non-Catholics, because you will get another view of Catholic teaching that isn't hidebound. An uplifting and broadening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Heaven and Earth - Pope Francis on Faith, Family and the Church, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't finished this book yet but I've rated it highly because, so far, I just love it. I will review it in full, when I complete it. I recommend it to other readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent conversation, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read and follow collection of discussions about life in general and faith in particular. Helped me understand what is meant by "Intimacy of Faith" and "Reality of God's Love". .....Well I could go on for ever...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thought it would be better, some very long words made it difficult to read and understand. but both seem very dedicated and human and deeply wish to make a better godly world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Heaven and Earth: Pope Francis on Faith, Family, and the Church in the Twenty-First Century
Used & New from: £10.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews