Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2011
Great book - Still reading as I keep going over passages as it's just so wonderful to know how easy it is to find God in this trouble world. If you want to know God, hear from God, feel God and get to know Him this book is for you. But don't take my word for it - take your own word for it!
33 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
I am really blessed to read Jonathan Welton's book on the Seer's gifting. His teaching is very clear and precise. Highly recommend to Christians who seek to understand their newly awaken spiritual senses, in particular when they think they are "seeing things" and don't know what to do with it. He has answered a lot of my questions and helped me to understand what has been happening.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
The School of the Seers: A Practical Guide on How to See in the Unseen Realm

This one of best books l have ever read on the Prophetic Ministry.
lt has an indept teachings and practical insight of the Prophetic Ministry.
lt very easy to understand, inspiring and powerful.
You will not put it done when you begin to read, very fastinating.
You will discover your call and receive impartation.
A very chapter ends with activation of the giftings of a Seer and the Prophet.
You will know the difference between a SEER and the PROPHET.
lt an excellent book and l would also want to recommend this other book to you, by JIM GOLL titled: 'THE SEER'
Thank you.

The Seer: The Prophetic Power of Visions, Dreams, and Open Heavens
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
Number one I don't think I am the target demographic for this book. It felt like it was being written for young adolescent boys. So maybe that was one reason I didn't like it. Number two Jonathan has some 'amazing' supernatural experiences cataloged but I never felt he explained what the point of them were. If they don't point you to Jesus directly or bring someone into a closer relationship with Jesus so they can then be empowered to help others, then I am not interested in 'amazing' supernatural experiences for 'amazing' supernatural experiences sake. I was quite surprised by my dislike for this book because I have read his blog and have really liked the way he has explained certain things.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
“The School of Seers” is a book by Jonathan Welton, a Charismatic Christian author. He is sympathetic towards the Azusa Street Revival, the Word of Faith movement, the Kansas City Prophets and Vineyard. Welton claims to be a seer (a non-Christian would perhaps call him “psychic”) with the ability to look into the supernatural realm.

Jonathan's wife Karen Welton has written a foreword, from which I quote: “Jonathan explained seeing strangers walking down the street; some had a light or aura around them, and he knew they were filled with the Holy Spirit. He could see a dark cloud surrounding others, and he knew they were depressed or tormented by demons. Even more exciting to me were the angels. They usually radiated light or fire. He could describe the color and style of their garments, their facial expressions, and many other details. Certain angels carried staffs or swords, and some, but not all, had wings. Some angels were the size of men; others stood at eight or ten feet tall or taller. Occasionally, he would see angels who were assigned to specific Christians. In youth group, when we worshipped the Lord with abandonment, countless angels would flood into the room. They would join with us in praising, singing, and dancing. Sometimes, when the worship was cut off, Jonathan saw them crying, knowing that the will of man had overruled what the Holy Spirit wanted to do. He described these experiences in profound detail, as if he saw them as clearly as he saw me.” (Kindle Locations 192-200).

Jonathan's book is supposed to explain to other Christians how they, too, can get these miraculous powers. There seem to be three possible methods. One is through impartation from another person who already has them. Welton claims to have received the gift of seership as a teenager from a Charismatic pastor.

The second method includes meditation on God's word, prayer, worship, fasting and “prayer in the Spirit” (speaking in tongues?) during which God may speak directly to the believer. Above all, faith is necessary. By “faith”, the author seems to mean absolute confidence in Jesus, rather than the wishy-washy-mushy faith rightly or wrongly associated with the mainline churches. Interestingly, the examples the author gives of successful applications of his method comes from revivalist meetings or other collective acts of worship, not from lone individual mystics. Indeed, he says at one point that collective worship is an important part of the process of receiving the gifts. The miracles are often experienced by more than one person, sometimes by entire congregations. (Of course, skeptics would impute this to mass hysteria.)

The third method of receiving the ability to see the spirit-world is never described, but it seems to be open to believer and non-believer alike. New Age believers or Spiritualists can also see angels, spirits and auras. However, they lack the proper authority to do so. Without faith in Jesus and Biblical discernment, they fall easy prey to demons. There are also Christians who somehow acquire the gifts by themselves, get condemned by mainline churches, and then drift away into the New Age scene. Welton calls these people “spiritual orphans” and believes that Christian congregations must reach out to them.

Welton strongly emphasizes that the Bible is the criterion by which private (or collective) revelations should be judged. This is easy enough when dealing with very basic doctrine, such as the incarnation, but it obviously becomes more difficult when the Bible isn't entirely clear on a subject. Thus, Welton doesn't believe in a pre-tribulation Rapture, hence rejecting any revelations to that effect, but how does he *know* what the true interpretation of Revelation might be? The Book of Revelation isn't particularly perspicacious! Welton also believes that God has “mysteries” he wants to impart to the believers, but if so, the Bible cannot be the sole criterion of truth, since the “mysteries” cannot be checked against proof-texts. They wouldn't be mysterious otherwise! Also, what's the point of God revealing anything at all, if the Bible already contains all the answers? There isn't any sustained discussion about these conundrums in the book. Note also that the author supports controversial preachers such as Kenneth Hagin, who many Christians regard as heterodox.

I had hoped for a more hands-on guide, complete with much more testimonials, so I can't say I really liked “The School of Seers”. Part of me only wants to give it two stars. However, in the end I gracefully impart the OK rating (three stars) on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
Very much enjoyed this book - i read books as an experience - as i rarely remember too much of what i read!!! I do not like the title much, think it lets the book down - a few non-christian friends asked whether it was an occult book!!! There was a couple of concepts I were uneasy with, but that's good - shows i were not reading the book blindly I suppose. Anyone with obvious gift for prophecy, or seeking to develop the gift should read this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
The Bible reflects a world in which angelic, demonic and other spiritual realities affect our physical world. This book claims that a gift of seeing realities in this 'spiritual world', both 'directly' (e.g. seeing angels, or the Holy Spirit seen as water or fire) and somehow symbolically (e.g. seeing words written on angels or people) may be sought and received from God. Faith is important for receiving and operating this gift. The book takes the view that faith can be increased through disciplines such as prayer and fasting. Each chapter concludes with practical exercises for the believer to undertake for the fruitful pursuit of this gift of seeing into the spiritual realm. Overall there is a fair measure of content in the book. It moves swiftly with straightforward examples and explanations and so can be read very quickly. The popular format gives a large amount of space given to larger print, subtitles and layout. I had hoped for much more content in a book at this price and of this number of pages. Often a chapter or subsection works with a single anecdotal example or scripture verse; much fuller explanation and reflection would be welcome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2011
Great bible based book, I was sceptic about the name to start as to me it sounded a bit pagan but there definitely seems to be anointing on this book. I would strongly recommend it to any born again.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
If you are lost or simply want answers to the unseen realm this book will explain in plain easy language. Do the exercises as you read it's a fantastic tool to discovery. I highly recommend it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
I had bought this book because of 'seeing' various scenarios over several years and wondered if there was any practical teaching on what you do with what you 'see'. I am still processing and at the end of each chapter there is practical instructions which I haven't yet put all into practice. I wanted something which would be for a beginner who really had no idea and in that respect it is very helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse