Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening and Challenging
Personally I loved this book but I can see why some "religious" types dislike it so much, it's a real challenging read.

John is a deep thinking and contemplative bible scholar, who has clearly spent a great amount of time researching his field. In his book, John methodically analyses various characters of the Christian faith from Old Testament Prophets to...
Published on 9 May 2011 by Kameal Celestee

versus
5 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid at all costs
John Crowder's views, quite frankly, are heresy. He is one of the most dangerous false teachers in the church today. Most of the people he mentions in this book are well outside of orthodox christianity. Just because they claim to have supernatural powers does not mean that they are from God - read the warning in Matthew 24:24. This book will only lead people astray and I...
Published on 11 May 2009 by Anonymous


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening and Challenging, 9 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle Workers, Reformers, and the New Mystics (Paperback)
Personally I loved this book but I can see why some "religious" types dislike it so much, it's a real challenging read.

John is a deep thinking and contemplative bible scholar, who has clearly spent a great amount of time researching his field. In his book, John methodically analyses various characters of the Christian faith from Old Testament Prophets to modern day Preachers and Evangelists, some of which are still with us today. Looking at the history of the Faith and the various paths it has taken.

What I really appreciated is that John takes such a balanced view, looking at each character for their faith and the way in which they minister in the supernatural along with a down to earth view of their lifestyles. John never attempts to cover up the controversies that have surrounded some of these key characters of the faith. There are points where John clearly agrees with their faith but disagrees with their lifestyle choices. This proves John to be honest and speaks volumes about where he is at in his own faith.

I found this book to be a personal challenge to enable me to receive God's power to achieve these great manifestations of my Faith. A real eye opener can't wait to read his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview over Christian Mystics from different times and generations, 20 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle Workers, Reformers, and the New Mystics (Paperback)
This book is a brilliant overview over the lives of many Christian Mystics from different times up until today. It doesn't seem to be meant as a reference book for this topic, but you can get quite a bit of details about different peoples focus, goals, failures and the great things that God has done with and through them.

Brother Crowder is sharing some interesting teaching in between the pages about the different people and I haven't read a book in a long time where I underlined so many quotes. The book is quite challenging in a way as well. Prepare to be challenged to the core of your way of living your faith and relationship in Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to be challenaged!!, 13 Nov. 2009
By 
E. Hart (Hayle, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miracle Workers, Reformers, and the New Mystics (Paperback)
In this book John Crowder draws together a collection of mini-biographies of many different men and women of God over the last 2000 years. In his book he is mainly concentrating on those who moved in unusual signs and wonders. (Romans 15:19,Acts 19:11) He sites many different people from the desert fathers to modern day healing evangelists.

If you google John Crowder you will find many vids - he put them up - that offend people. Inc Me!! I may not agree with the way this man presents the gospel message, but he has a message for the emerging generation. That message is: God is fun and does many strange signs!!

If you are a discerning and mature believer who has a passion for God, His Word and the power of God, this book is FOR YOU!!! If you think your opinion is the only opinion that is right - please stay away.

You may not agree with everything you read - BUT it will challenage you to see get passion and serious about moving not just in the message but the confirming signs too (Mark 16)!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wise and wide ranging overview of teh supernatural, 3 April 2008
By 
Mr. D. G. Austin "derek of gloucester" (Gloucester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle Workers, Reformers, and the New Mystics (Paperback)
An excellent overview of Christian mystics and miracle workers. From the desert fathers to modern day faith giants this book will move you to beilieve ' Yes I can do it too!' . What I liked was the extremes of some of the faith and types of people quoted ; they , like the old testament prophets do not fit easily into 'church' but are giants of the Kingdom. We are always promoting 'balance' in people ; this book shows God wants some very unbalanced but faith full people to follow their own path in God to further his Kingdom. The author demonstrates a good scholarly approach whilst exciting his readers to believe that experiential faith is the right kind of faith .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christians, know your history !, 11 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle Workers, Reformers, and the New Mystics (Paperback)
This book shares many examples of Miracles in the name of Jesus Christ over many years, in many countries, in many different streams of Christianity.
It is an inspiration to all Christians today, to follow in the footsteps, and learn from these ordinary believers who stepped out in Faith and saw their Extra-Ordinary GOD move by His Holy Spirit.
Lets live it!!.
Miracle Workers, Reformers, and the New Mystics: How to Become Part of the Supernatural Generation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New realm of faith, 11 April 2009
This review is from: Miracle Workers, Reformers, and the New Mystics (Paperback)
This book will offend the religious within you why?, this books tells amazing stories of faith like a man of god who talked with animals like adam did and people who would fly in the glory of god etc this booked changed my life i love signs and wonders because it shows god is so fun and this book shows you the God we have we are the new mystics, i highly recomend this book for those who want to have an incresing faith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid at all costs, 11 May 2009
This review is from: Miracle Workers, Reformers, and the New Mystics (Paperback)
John Crowder's views, quite frankly, are heresy. He is one of the most dangerous false teachers in the church today. Most of the people he mentions in this book are well outside of orthodox christianity. Just because they claim to have supernatural powers does not mean that they are from God - read the warning in Matthew 24:24. This book will only lead people astray and I cannot recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh my!, 7 April 2009
By 
P. Stanton (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miracle Workers, Reformers, and the New Mystics (Paperback)
This author may not fit into 'church' but he will sit comfortably in the occult. See him in action on you tube and you will get the gist of his message.
If you want to put the bible aside and join the trend of the modern false prophets, this book is for you.

I believe the book should have a sub heading "Please leave all discernment at the door before entering" You will be exchanging the truth for the lie if you buy into this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miracle Workers, Reformers, and the New Mystics
Miracle Workers, Reformers, and the New Mystics by John Crowder (Paperback - 27 Mar. 2013)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews