Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Read
This is a bit different from David's previous books (of which I have all), in that it's done in short stories followed by recipes. I love Paris and wouldn't have been without this one, David's observations on his life as both an American and Pastry Chef in Paris had me laughing out loud on more than one occasion. Some of it I totally associated with, as Paris is one of my...
Published on 20 July 2009 by KM Cook Book Queen

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh no
So, for a chef moving to Paris it would sound like a match made in heaven. But, with this book it doesn't. Whilst the stories touch on being interesting, there is no real depth and this could be forgiven. My biggest issue are the recipes. They range from being a little complex to being simplified to the point of idiocy. Cut a large tortilla into triangles. Brush these...
Published on 23 Aug. 2011 by Gee Em


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoy!!, 20 Jun. 2010
This review is from: The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the World's Most Glorious--And Perplexing--City (Hardcover)
If you enjoy food and paris then this is the book for you.Haveing been to paris for the first time sept 09 i was amazed at the food shops and wanted to learn more about the way to make this beautiful food at home. Sweet life does that.also the book gives a interesting look at life as lived by a non parisan. All in all a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as I hoped it would be, 7 Sept. 2009
By 
M. Richardson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the World's Most Glorious--And Perplexing--City (Hardcover)
I loved reading this book. The author has a light touch (as a pastry chef I should hope so), he's witty and engaging and you can feel his enthusiasm for food pouring out of every page.

A must for food lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, 1 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely book full of wonderful anecdotes and delicious recipes. It really transports you to Paris and perfectly captures the very distinctive Parisienne character. If you like 'foodie' books I can thoroughly recommend this one. Bon appetit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Have fun reading, 3 Nov. 2011
I enjoyed this book very much,the whole story of moving from the States to Paris, laughing at comments on Parisians but also on American tourists! It's nice to have fine recepies also to try and cook yourself after reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it! one of my favourite books, 19 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love it! one of my favourite books. A must have if you are visiting Paris or just love the city. I enjoyed it so much I brought a copy for my family friend who is currently living in Paris on a University exchange,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lebowitz rocks!, 14 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love David's writing style: witty, sharp and pithy. ...every page had me chuckling. And the recipes? A bonus. Buy this book - it's a literary treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good reading, 8 Nov. 2013
By 
M. Steinmann "Girl" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enjoyed the book and appreciated the recipes included. cannot think of of anything more to say except that it brought back memories of paris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Neat Book, 14 Sept. 2012
By 
G B Othen (Lechlade, Glos United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fun, funny book. It is great at bedtime when you just need a little delicious relaxing reading. The recipes are enticing too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh no, 23 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the World's Most Glorious--And Perplexing--City (Hardcover)
So, for a chef moving to Paris it would sound like a match made in heaven. But, with this book it doesn't. Whilst the stories touch on being interesting, there is no real depth and this could be forgiven. My biggest issue are the recipes. They range from being a little complex to being simplified to the point of idiocy. Cut a large tortilla into triangles. Brush these with oil and put in the oven for 20 minutes and you get tortilla chips. I mean honestly..... Hence the two stars, the book is a little bit of everything and a lot of nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously witty... spent the days with him ..., 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Deliciously witty...spent the days with him in Paris ( at least that is what it felt like). Most enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the World's Most Glorious--And Perplexing--City
Used & New from: £19.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews