Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pacifism über Alles!
All indications are that the USA and Europe are targeted for large-scale terrorism. Bawer revisits the Salman Rushdie affair that erupted in 1989 to demonstrate how the West's capitulation began in our era. For the bigger picture he goes back even further, to a time when armies of desert tribes bearing a new religion burst out of the Arabian Peninsula to conquer the...
Published on 15 Aug 2009 by Pieter Uys

versus
3 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bigoted drivel
An uniformed racist rant from one of the inspirations behind Anders Behring Breivik the Norwegian far-right mass terrorist. This book is very biased and uniformed without any real facts or evidence just conjecture ad prejudice,and is used by the self pitying whinny mob who have never met a muslim in their life to justify their bigoted view of the world. One star is...
Published on 26 July 2011 by Tabita


Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pacifism über Alles!, 15 Aug 2009
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
All indications are that the USA and Europe are targeted for large-scale terrorism. Bawer revisits the Salman Rushdie affair that erupted in 1989 to demonstrate how the West's capitulation began in our era. For the bigger picture he goes back even further, to a time when armies of desert tribes bearing a new religion burst out of the Arabian Peninsula to conquer the civilized world as far as Central Asia and Spain during its first expansion. Later waves led to the conquest of Hindustan, deep penetration into northern, western and eastern Africa and finally the subjugation of the Balkans.

Most of the conquered peoples were converted by force or policies of oppression and discrimination (Dhimmitude) except in the cases of Spain, India and the Balkans where the indigenous faiths stood their ground, eventually reasserting themselves through counterconquest or independence. In Africa, Christian Ethiopia was protected by high mountains and fierce defenders. Bawer shows how the crusades were a reaction to Islamic incursions and covers the USA's first ever overseas war, the one with the Barbary pirates in the early 1800s. Today, the target is the West's civil liberties of which free speech tops the list.

It's now clear that the Salman Rushdie affair exposed the cowardice of western leaders and intellectuals, introducing an era of intimidation aimed at undermining our basic freedoms. The triumph of multiculturalism & political correctness and the decline of Christianity in Europe handed the Islamists a 5th column, a weapon and a vacuum to fill. The consensus-über-alles European political & academic elites opted for appeasement. By now, this spirit of surrender has infected all aspects of European society including the courts, law enforcement and what remains of the mainstream Protestant churches of western and northern Europe.

Bawer devotes ample space to the cowardice of western media - especially the New York Times and BBC - that deny the threat by portraying radicals like Tariq Ramadan as moderates, by ignoring the treasonous statements of extremist clergy and all the while smearing those who dare speak out. Chronicling the crumbling resistance, he covers the murders of Pim Fortuyn in 2002, Theo van Gogh in 2004, the 2005 Danish cartoon controversy and the riotous reaction to a speech by Pope Benedict. As grand causes, the author diagnoses the horrors of WWII and the welfare state that followed as the breeding grounds of the pacifism-über-alles mentality which is leading to civilizational suicide.

The complicity of the media is established through hundreds of examples of underreporting, omission, silence & dissembling, every one backed up by verifiable sources and quotes. They refuse to admit the extent of e.g. honor killings & female circumcision in Europe, they obfuscate the nature of crimes and blur the identity of perpetrators and they deny that integration has utterly failed. In effect, two societies now exist in Europe: one of native Europeans & assimilated immigrants versus one of alienated, unassimilated populations in enclaves that are subject to Sharia law.

Trapped in wishful thinking, the media blame the messenger who increasingly risks prosecution under European speech codes. Bawer points out the slurs meted out to a brave defender of freedom like Ayaan Hirsi Ali. A favorite media tactic is to take recourse in moral equivalence with the mantra of "extremists on both sides," equating violent jihadis with their non-violent critics who are using the pen not the bomb. The late Oriana Fallaci faced trial in Italy when she passed away in 2006 and in Canada, Mark Steyn & Ezra Levant only triumphed over state kommissars due to their spirited defense and public support. In America, the First Amendment still guards freedom of expression, for now.

Meanwhile reality -- unable to conform to the fantasies of the elites -- continues to assert itself. Despite generous welfare payments and the lavish funding of leaders & representatives, the hidden society promotes crime and is prone to ourbursts of nationwide violence as France learnt in 2005. This by the way, was initially ignored by the US media and when eventually reported, the euphemism "youths" was employed for the vandals. Amsterdam that once prided itself on being the most tolerant city in Europe has become dangerous for gay people who are targets of this low-level Jihad. Yet the media still prefer discredited academics like Karen Armstrong and John Esposito over serious scholars such as Bat Ye'or, Robert Spencer, Ibn Warraq, Efraim Karsh and Andrew Bostom.

'Surrender' eloquently defends Enlightenment values as it attempts to rouse a comatose West. Besides the aforementioned observers, the alarm has also been sounded by Claire Berlinski, Theodore Dalrymple, Nonie Darwish, Brigitte Gabriel, David Horowitz, Caroline Glick, Melanie Phillips, Bruce Thornton, Phyllis Chesler, Walter Laqueur and Jamie Glazov to name a few. Let the author have the last say: "At least one thing seems certain: against people who are ready to die in the cause of destroying freedom, people who are not willing to speak up for freedom for fear of being called a racist or an Islamophobe don't stand much chance of victory."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to tolerate the intolerant., 1 Jan 2013
This review is from: Surrender: Appeasing Islam, Sacrificing Freedom (Paperback)
The elites tell us that Islam has always been part of one big happy human family. Islam is here and it is a wonderful thing. Islam is a foundational part of our civilization. Muslims make wonderful neighbours.
The elites tell us that if we don't get along with Political Islam, if we find a problem, then the problem is with us. The fact of the matter is that Mohammed attacked every single neighbour he had. His only success came through violence. His dying words were to hurt Jews, Christians and all Kafirs. Mohammed was Islam and he was never compatible with any Kafir. The Big Lie is just that. There is no way to live with Islam. Life with Islam is a succession of demands. Mohammed never stopped until 100% of his demands were met. That was life with Mohammed--the Sunna.

Islam is a civilization that is designed to extinguish all Kafir civilizations down to their last cultural vestige. Annihilation is Sunna. Mohammed did not stop until the Kafirs surrendered to his demands to change the smallest details of their lives into his way of doing. The last 1400 years of history is proof of the brutal efficiency of Islamic politics. There has never been a culture where Islam and Kafirs existed in long-term peace. After a long enough time period, Islam takes over the civilization. This is the goal of Islam.

But since Kafirs don't know anything about the history of Islam, they think that we will work this out like we always have. We will find a compromise. After all, in Kafir civilization, progress is made through teamwork and compromise. The first and crucial error is thinking that Islam is analogous to our civilization and that our rules apply to it. Let's compare Islam with our civilization's ideals.

Mohammed laid the perfect example of freedom of expression when he finally gained power in Mecca. In the beginning when he had no power in Mecca, he allowed argument about his doctrine. After he was driven out of Mecca and later returned as its conqueror, he issued death warrants against all of those who had disagreed with him. When Mohammed died, there was not a single person left in Arabia who disagreed with him. Intellectual subservience to Mohammed/Islam was total. The Sharia denies freedom of expression. Islam tolerates discussion of Islam only when it is getting started and is politically weak.

There are no human rights in Islam, because there is no humanity in the Koran, just believers and Kafirs. Kafirs have no rights. Kafirs are hated by Allah and are lower than animals.

Since Islam does not have a point of agreement with our civilization, there is no way to find any compromise. Islam is not part of our civilization and does not play by our rules. When we try to use our rules, we always lose. How do you compromise with a civilization based on the principles of submission and duality?

Islam will never eliminate the one concept that has brought it success, jihad. All of Islam's success has been based upon political submission, dualism and violence. What the Kafirs want changed is the violence, pressure, arguing and politics. Demanding the Kafirs' submission and using violence works for Islam. The violence, pressure, arguments and demands are not going to stop because they have worked for 1400 years and are working better today than any time in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SURRENDER - how to be aware!, 16 Oct 2009
By 
M. Crispin (U K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Needs reading by everyone who wants genuine knowledge of what is actually happening in the Western World in the present day. I was surprised by the depth of the research and that we are unaware of many things that should be compulsary knowledge - all genuine - only one point, the author does repeat himself at times but that is not a fault as that is needed for emphasis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book freom Bruce Bawer., 17 July 2009
By 
Having read 'While Europe Slept', and found it an excellent read, I came to this book with great expectations and was not disappointed. It is well sourced and brings together many things you may have read on the internet, putting a structure on a lot of diverse views about the Islamification of the west. A strong defence is taken on the principles of the enlightenment by a staunch defender of free speech. I would recommend this book for anyone interested in this particular debate, whether they agree with the author or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Coming Caliphate, 28 July 2010
Bruce Bawer has the courage, both physical and moral, to describe the appeasement of Islam embraced by Europe's Progressive Elite, not only high officials, but faceless bureaucrats as well, all under the rubric of "multiculturalism" and "diversity." The book does not forecast a rosy future for either the Continent or the Blessed Isles, unless of course, one's concept of "rosy" involves Sharia law. Bawer's book leaves one wondering at the incredible hypocrisy of the Left, which holds dear such concepts as womens' and gay rights, but can still support a culture totally opposed to such ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Important Book, 16 Oct 2009
Great book, with lots of information that you won t get from the mainstream media. Written in protest of the appeasement (that includes making blasphemy and criticism of religion a crime) and in defense of free speech, the cornerstone of a secular and democratic society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appease Now, Pay Later, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With the brutal beheading of Lee Rigby in Woolwich, London this last week, it is an event we shouldn't really be surprised by any more. Muslims have wanted to execute Salman Rushdie in a similar manner, as Bruce Bawer writes, as far back as 1989. Rushdie, the Indian/British author (of Muslim descent) was sentenced to death by Iran's Ayatollah Khomeini for Rushdie's book the Satanic Verses. Upon issuing the Ayatollah's fatwa, there were scenes we're now all too familiar with: violent protests worldwide with Muslims outraged over some book they'd never even heard of and certainly not read.

Looking back, what was strange about the Rushdie episode was not just the fatwa (religious ruling) itself, but the controlled reaction to it. Despite the many column inches dedicated to the problem, not a word was said about the underlying justification for the death sentence, the religion. More specifically, Islam.

A little over a decade later, and with a far higher Muslim immigrant population in Europe both Theo van Gogh and Pym Fortyn were murdered for their anti-Islamic opinions. As a result of this, Geert Wilders, Ayaan Hirsi Ali, and many more are in hiding needing around the clock protection for having expressed anti-Islamic views or simply written about subjects which the Muslim community considers taboo. What is painfully obvious is that not only is free speech is under attack in a way in which has never been experienced before, but there is a fundamental transformation of our culture and values being forced upon us. Yet to glean your information about today's world from the mass media, you wouldn't have a clue that anything significant is wrong.

Bruce Bawer, a gay conservative writer first came to prominence with While Europe Slept. In it, he wrote about his travels having left 'fundamentalist Christian America' to come to 'enlightened Europe', only to discover things were not as he'd been led to believe. Now in Surrender, Bawer essentially continues his essay but from a slightly different angle and argues that what has now emerged from our capitulation to the `religion we dare not speak of' is a perfect model of how non-Muslims should behave when under Muslim rule (dhimmis) in Islamic countries. There is now a `threat-culture', a self-censorship surrounding anything in print media, cinema, art galleries or universities; anything which attempts to question Islam, or give a differing opinion, or speaks out against some of the more barbarous aspects of Islamic culture.

As Bawer points out, the West had heard about the Israel/Palestine conflict, the Iranian revolution, a variety of terrorist actions by Palestinian guerrillas back in the '70s (including air plane hijackings) so it's not like we'd never encountered Islam before. All of these events kept the Muslim world in the headlines for years, but no one ever felt compelled to learn more about Islam. Bawer identifies the media as having a lot to do with that.

What Bawer does best, and why I find I can't get enough of his writing, is the way he explains the real stories behind the headlines, and his comebacks to the brainwashing BS of many of today's journalists when talking about Islam. Bawer's insights are one of the things I most enjoy about his writing. But the book is also highly entertaining because of the sheer amount of issues included. Among them is the history of jihad and the West, Islamic slavery of whites, and how the concept of freedom evolved in Britain and Europe.

Bawer explores the bizarre thinking possessed by the left as always thinking they are on the fringes of society, fighting to maintain their beliefs against the oppressive majority. Bawer points out that these people are now the university professors; the politicians, civil servants, artists and musicians; they staff social and cultural institutions, they are now the mainstream.

With Europe, Bawer shows the British and French media doing their part not to be out-dhimmied by the Americans, with the BBC's shocking series `Don't Panic, I'm Islamic' broadcast only two months before the 7/7 attacks (which, rather unsurprisingly, saw 5 of the Muslims featured in the documentary later charged in the July 7th attacks). But the French seem to win outright with their complicity in the Muhammad al-Dura affair.

Today we're in a utopian-dominated world in which a war is raging all around us. There are endless Muslim-terror stories being reported in the online media and blogs (look hard and you'll find tens per week, amounting to thousands per year), but completely ignored in the headlines as if nothing is happening. The events in Woolwich and the Boston bombings occasionally burst through to shatter this stupor the media work so hard to lull us into.

In Bawer's Surrender, much like While Europe Slept, I was surprised and outraged at just how much news I'd missed because of media silence. In an age of 24hr news, and a media with a supposedly insatiable appetite for the next story, we're reduced to reading yesteryear's news only when it's published in a book - which is only available online, because most bookshops won't sell it for fear of violence from Muslims. Thankfully, Bruce Bawer continues to fill the void left by the `free' world's media, informing voters of the facts which our news services have long since given up responsibility for. It is at least some small comfort (!) that Bawer is by far the enjoyable writer, tackling the issues that should be of greatest concern to those worried about the state of our democracies.

Cannot recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 5 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surrender: Appeasing Islam, Sacrificing Freedom (Paperback)
The enemy within that the media refuses to discuss,well researched book on how our very way of life and freedoms are under threat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent, 30 Aug 2013
By 
Rd Harper "Rod from Weymouth" (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like others very scary of the future of Planet Earth and non-Muslims. Recommended for Patriots and HMG everywhere No Surrender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bigoted drivel, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Surrender: Appeasing Islam, Sacrificing Freedom (Paperback)
An uniformed racist rant from one of the inspirations behind Anders Behring Breivik the Norwegian far-right mass terrorist. This book is very biased and uniformed without any real facts or evidence just conjecture ad prejudice,and is used by the self pitying whinny mob who have never met a muslim in their life to justify their bigoted view of the world. One star is too much. Zero is more like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Surrender: Appeasing Islam, Sacrificing Freedom
Surrender: Appeasing Islam, Sacrificing Freedom by Bruce Bawer (Paperback - 29 Jun 2010)
£11.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews