Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 137 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must read for anyone interested in radical Islam in Europe
Before you buy this book, you should ask yourself a simple question: am I interested in radical Islam in Europe and do I doubt the PC "elites" ability to deal with it? If the answer is yes, then you will enjoy this book. This book is not written by a neo-con, nor is it written by an apologist for terrorism. It is written by an openly gay man, who has lost faith in the...
Published on 25 May 2007 by M. McManus

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book.
The book is quite well-written and indeed a page-turner. The main problem is that the writer comes accross as being quite biased to islamic immigrants due to bad personal experiences. If the reader is quite knowledgable on the subject of immigration and islam, then he/she can read between the lines and concentrate on the hard facts (the book is abundant of them) without...
Published on 21 Jun 2012 by Scientist79


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Breath of Fresh Air..., 17 Mar 2011
By 
Ms. L. E. Spurr "lara-s" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: While Europe Slept (Paperback)
What a breath of fresh air this book is after all the years of "right-on" America-bashing - I found myself nodding all the way through it! IMO this is the single most important issue in Europe right now, and if people think that's an exaggeration, then go ask a Bulgarian, or a Pole, wether "we're really under threat from militant Islam, and if we really could end up losing our freedoms"...(both these nations have had to fight an aggressively expansionist Caliphate in former times.) If they're in any way clued up about their own history, they'll answer a resounding "yes - and some!" (as will, incidentally, many ex-Muslims.)

This author's excellent, engaging style has prompted me also to want to read his "Surrender: Appeasing Islam, Sacrificing Freedom", which also has many 5 star reviews. Those of us who value freedom, democracy and civil liberties are going to have to be willing to stand by what we believe, what our ancestors have fought for, and be willing to get all "Churchill" about it in our attitude. The idea that those of us who are concerned about this are somehow closet racists and fascists is patently ludicrous (standing up against an inherently tyrannical, sexist, anti-semitic and anti-democratic ideology is NOT racist fascism - it just isn't, whatever "European Dream" types might want us all to believe!) If there was ever a book which basically hammered the final nail in the coffin of my regard for hypocritical, envy and shame-based, US-hating Euro-lefty drivel, it's this one! Pah! Such basically cowardly and sanctimonious "Greebil Wormtongues" have ruled the roost in Europe for way too long....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Voice in the Wilderness!, 9 Feb 2008
By 
Lars Kaaber (Copenhagen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: While Europe Slept (Paperback)
Being a European myself - a Dane - I can certainly vouch for the truth of Bawer's statements as far as Denmark is concerned. It is sadly true that our press is vastly tendentious and strives to educate, rather than enlighten people. In Denmark, this objective is made piece-of-pie easy by the fact that more or less all news passes through the same tendentious news agency. The result is a predominantly anti-American atmosphere that is very ill-founded on facts.
Other reviewers have gone into detail, so I'll stop here with the wish that Bawer's book be read in European schools and put a stop to this insanity a.s.a.p.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 78 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One Man's Travelogue of Doom!, 31 Mar 2007
By 
M. Tappin (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WARNING! This book is not for the squeamish! If you're a European and prone to bouts of depression then this book just might tip you over into an abject state of despair. It's stultifying stuff, without a glimmer of hope from beginning to end.

HOWEVER! I agree wholeheartedly with his analysis of our so-called 'moral and intellectual superiors'. They treat the views of the general public with patronising arrogance and contempt. Newspapers such as the Daily Mirror are all too ready to condemn anybody who favours immigration controls, or the preservation of their English identity as a racist. With the recent Big Brother controversy, they went berserk with self-righteous outrage. They were literally baying for the blood of Jade Goody (although she is a twit). It was tantamount to inciting her murder.

From my own experience of the conditions currently prevailing in the British education system, I notice it is firmly in the grip of the smug self-righteous left-wing middle class. Every academic subject is tainted by political correctness. For instance, Foreign language text books are full of "issues" such as 'right wing racism' and 'immigrant victims, the 'third world' and 'global warming' (blaming CO2 emissions and all the above on 'Joe Public' as usual). I'm sick of all their twisted moralising.

I thought the book laboured the point too much about European hostility to America and Americans. Yes the Yanks can be a little irritating at times, with their "we saved your arses in WW2" rant, and making war films about how 'they' won the war single-handed and minimising the not insubstantial contribution of their allies. As a Brit , that p***es me off, especially as our young men and women are doing their bit in Afganistan and Iraq right now. All good sons and daughters of the much maligned working class proles he seems to dismiss as a potential source of neo-nazism. Unfortunately Bawer let himself down here, with his College Boy contempt for the uneducated masses. He's not so different from the European elite he critisizes after all! He appears to be an academic elitist snob. Generally speaking I think most us have no particular axe to grind regarding Americans.

I just wish this book could have offered something more in the way of a hopeful solution, other than mass immigration to the United States. Turning oneself into an immigrant, in order to escape 'immigrants' would be quite a paradox. Besides the problems Bawer highlights also exist in America. The only way to escape Islam completely would be to go and live on the moon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: While Europe Slept (Paperback)
It requires a quite extraordinary sharpness of vision and incisiveness to see the hidden roots of future catastrophe. This book provides a powerful discourse and timely warning of danger virulently plaguing the fabric of western society. Highly recommended for those who are in denial and acutely dismissive of reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A depressing, but much needed book, 9 Oct 2008
This review is from: While Europe Slept (Paperback)
It`s a depressing read, but it`s a necessary read. It`s true that`s there`s a lack of written sources and documentation in a scholary way, but it`s not intended to be that kind of book.

If you`re familiar with the scandinavian media, and watch international news on a regular basis, you`ve heard and seen much of what he refers to. You could also do your own research on names, events etc.

Theo van Gogh was killed, many Europeans and scandinavians are Anti American, the statistics he qoute are real, etc... all the events are basicly well documented elsewhere, even if they`re not in his book, or at least as some would have it. You know to nuance, be openminded and deconstruct what he is saying.

If you want to read a book where "The magic integration fairy" works and everybody is happy, then this book is not for you. If you dismiss it as just his oppinion or experiences, you`re missing the point. He`s a reporter/journalist, it`s his job to report his experiences as he sees them.

This book is about muslim integration in europe, why it failed, seen through the eyes of an american who was tired of New York and the american way, only to find a europe that was and to some extent still is in denial about the growing rift between muslims and non-muslims in europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 69 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short on facts?, 14 Dec 2006
By 
Mike J. Wheeler (Kingswinford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this directly after reading Oriana Fallaci's fairly appalling 'The Rage and The Pride'. I was expecting something much better than that and obviously I got a much better written book (it really couldn't have been much worse). Saying this though how MUCH better is this work by Bruce Bawer. It takes the same subject (Europe's supposed kowtowing to fundamentalist Islam) and though this lacks the downright near-racism (the right word and I'm no liberal cultural relativist!) of Fallaci's book it is still over-emotive and under-analytical for my liking.

Yes the writing style is good - this is an easy to read book - but how much of this is true and how much is anecdote and Bawer's opinion?

First criticism - The book is packed with 'facts' about the rise in Europe's Islamic population, their lack of integration, 'fetching marriages', sponging off the welfare state etc. I would have expected for a book whose argument rests on the relentless stream of 'facts' that these would be carefully referenced. But turn to the back - there are NO references here. How then am I to check that these 'facts' are true in themselves? I cannot.

Second criticism - This is a book based on Bawer's experience as an American living in Europe. Though he has spent some time living in Paris, the vast majority of his experience appears to have come from living in Amsterdam, Copenhagen and Norway. Anybody who pretends that these are really 'typical' of Europe needs his/her head seeing to! He also treats Europe as if it were a single entity, as homogenous in its culture and attitudes as his American homeland. This is quite obviously false. For the British reader it appears that Bawer has very little knowledge of the UK from what he has written. I cite as examples Bawer's assertion as important the decision of Julie Burchill to leave The Observer because of its anti-Israel slant - since when did anybody take Julie Burchill seriously and suggesting that likewise Richard Ingrams of The Observer is a formulator of public opinion (truly laughable just like Ingrams).

The lack of references and the 'misrepresentation' of Europe is a problem because he gets facts wrong that I DO know about so how can I trust him on that which I know nothing? Here's an example. Comparing Europe to the US, Bawer cites a long list of inventions that were made in the US suggesting it showed the innovation of the American spirit. He cites as 'American' discoveries/inventions - calculator (Japan), CDs (International but really Dutch and Japanese), DNA (3 Brits, 1 American at a UK university), the Internet (British), transistor (German but developed by US), computer (very, very debatable!). See what I mean, if Bawer wants this work taken seriously he should really at least look up basic facts. How do I know about the rest of his book?

The problem is that Bawer seems an outright fan of the American way over the European way every time. He claims not to be but this is classic neo-Con stuff. his problem is not just with Islam but also with European politics (I have sympathy with his position there), the Welfare State, European foreign policy - pretty much everything about Europe. One wonders why he stayed so long.

The sad thing is this IS an important subject. The threat from anti-democratic Islamic fundamentalists really should be taken seriously. So far I've read two books on this and for my money both fire very wide of the mark. Fallaci's because it was sheer lunacy but Bawer's also because it reads like a Daily Mail editorial - short on facts but big on hate. I wonder how much of Bawer's opinions are coloured by the fact that he is gay? He states that his partner has been attacked by Muslims in Europe. Awful though this is, it seems to have coloured his opinion of Europe as a whole. He also seems to elevate the assassinated Pim Fortuyn to entirely uncritical sainthood.

What about the good things? Well Bawer is spot on about the attitudes of some of Europe's cultural and political elite. The attitude of the EU to democracy and the 'real' views of its people is utterly disgraceful. The demeaning of anyone who has 'populist' views. The (actual) separation of Europeans and Muslim immigrants (usually self-inflicted by Muslims?) and the (planned) promotion of state-funded Muslim schools is potentially nightmarish, bringing to mind the disaster that is Northern Ireland.

Overall even with this criticism Bawer has at least attempted to wake people from their slumber and it's a pretty good read but I'd take a lot of what he says with a pinch of salt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOODBYE TO THE EUROPE WE KNEW!, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: While Europe Slept (Paperback)
A book that everyone should read...An absolute eye-opener to what is happening in Europe and it's too late too change anything now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frightening stuff, 28 Oct 2010
I very much agree with T Mappin here. I think the book is generally a fascinating read - but I do think Bawer can be awfully over-sensitive as an American.

And also, he actually claims political correctness started in Europe! NO! Political correctness started in the US at universities and then spread to Europe!

Some stats are exaggerated: it is not 40% of Antwerp that is Muslim but 15% or so. There is no need to egg the pudding.

All in all however the book does highlight the misplaced multiculturalism and political correctness which had led liberals - yes, liberals - to appease fascists so long as they have a brown skin and a religion. Sadly, that is still happening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not backed up in a meaningful manner, 29 May 2008
This review is from: While Europe Slept (Paperback)
Much of what the author says from purely an observational point of view is interesting and thought provoking. You can see elements of what he says in the UK, especially the blindness of authorities with regards to the radical threat, the way that the moderate muslims keep quiet as a whole with indivduals only speaking out, and also the way that immigrants regardless of religion etc "can", i.e. not always and thus not all, take advantage of the state and political correctness. However, in the book, these are observations intertwined with personal experiences by the author and not ,yet anyway, based on factual evidence with regards to "all" the muslims in these countries or Europe as a whole. Added to the fact that he is overtly an American patriot, and for the way of life esposed by the US, it's difficult to agree with what he says 100%. If it was written as personal observations or in an autobiographical way about the author it may have had more effect. Instead, it is adding to the American ideology, against the rest of the world type of mindset and not just radical Islam, with America being the only glimmer of hope, "you're with us or you're not.." type of sentiment. More should be done by the liberal muslims to stand up against these thugs and bullies in their religion. Maybe they have fallen into the same sort of placid acceptance that nothing can be done as have many in western Europe. That in it's own way is dangerous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Aug 2013
By 
Rd Harper "Rod from Weymouth" (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: While Europe Slept (Paperback)
Want to be scared about your future and your children's? You should be read this and do nothing is not an option!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

While Europe Slept
While Europe Slept by Bruce Bawer (Paperback - 1 Jan 2008)
Used & New from: 0.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews