Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure chest of information for fans of Harry Potter
This is a really good book; it is presented well and the information it provides is very insightful. Reading this shows how much research J. K. Rowling must have carried out for her Harry Potter books. There is information about old legends that I had never heard of before (for example the Hinkypunk, which appears briefly in chapter 16 of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of...
Published on 28 Oct 2002

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Encyclopedia would have been just fine
I have to say that this book really dissapointed me. Since I first read the title, a SORCRERS COMPANION, I thought.."WOW It must be worthy"
but know that I own it I realise it is not what I expected. I mean, this book is good as a reference guide to all the supernatural things in HP but nothing more.
Anyway, if you want to have some reference about HP books,...
Published on 8 May 2003 by death_moon_elf


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure chest of information for fans of Harry Potter, 28 Oct 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sorcerer's Companion: A Guide to the Magical World of Harry Potter (Paperback)
This is a really good book; it is presented well and the information it provides is very insightful. Reading this shows how much research J. K. Rowling must have carried out for her Harry Potter books. There is information about old legends that I had never heard of before (for example the Hinkypunk, which appears briefly in chapter 16 of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban).
The book is set out in alphabetical order making information easy to find. Each entry in the book has a reference for which Harry Potter book is relevant. And although the references are for the American editions, because the chapter reference is given, cross reference is still fairly easy.
This is a great book for fans of the Harry Potter series, both young and old. The background information only seems to add to the magic of the series, showing how magic has always been a part of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful to look at ..., 3 Oct 2003
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sorcerer's Companion: A Guide to the Magical World of Harry Potter (Paperback)
This is a beautifully put together piece of work, with wonderful illustrations.
Unlike many of the guides to the Harry Potter universe, references are subtle and not scattered everywhere.
This book gives information about a lot of the supernatural/magical side of the Harry Potter books and goes into more detail than some other guides.
Nice and understated as far as the Harry Potter references go - this is a good and beautifully presented book for those interested in magic - whether that interest involves Harry Potter or not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting reference book for Potter fans, 7 July 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sorcerer's Companion: A Guide to the Magical World of Harry Potter (Paperback)
While this book does offer a lot of good source material on subjects touched upon in J.K. Rowling's Harry Potters novels (one through four, at the time this book was written), it is by no means an indispensable addition to the Pottermaniac's personal library. The references to events and personages in the Harry Potter books are rather haphazard, and in many cases it is apparent that the Potter link is primarily a gimmick designed to sell more books. This is not necessarily a bad thing, though, because there is information in this book I had not encountered elsewhere, and it does reinforce one's impressive appraisal of the fiber of actual legendry that went into the creation of Rowling's novels.
This book offers a concise encyclopedia of magical subjects, creatures, and legends. Much of the material will be familiar to anyone well-read, yet there are aspects to some of even the most familiar of legends, such as that of the werewolf or vampire, that I was unaware of; this consisted for the most part of the different ideas held by different cultures. What was evil to a European of the Middle Ages was sometimes a portent of good to an inhabitant of China or India, for example. Perhaps the most interesting items discussed in these pages are the more obscure legends of unfamiliar beings which I had never heard of before and which I had assumed J.K. Rowling had invented: e.g., grundylows, kappas, and redcaps.
The authors, a professional magician and his academic daughter, have written a book that can easily be read by laymen in the ways of magic. The concise, far from elaborate discussions of each topic can be easily understood by young readers obsessed with Harry Potter, making it a welcome, interesting, entertainingly informative read that does not so much add to the legendry created by J.K. Rowling as it does highlight the sturdiness of the foundation upon which her magical adventure stories are built.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As magical as Harry Potter himselF!, 24 Nov 2001
By 
suesheppard123@aol.com (ponthir, newport, sth wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sorcerer's Companion: A Guide to the Magical World of Harry Potter (Paperback)
The book provides a magical journey through the world that Harry Potter inhabits. In Alpabetical order, the author takes the reader through the beasts, superstitions, characters and legends associated with wizards and other magical people. Beautifully illustrated, the book has found its way through chidren and adults alike in our household!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for everyone that loves the Harry Potter books, 7 Feb 2002
This review is from: The Sorcerer's Companion: A Guide to the Magical World of Harry Potter (Paperback)
It's a perfect book through the magical world from A to Z and from Amulets to Zombies. If you like or really love the Harry Potter books, you should buy this book right now. Believe me, it's really useful.I loved reading this book. It shows you e.g. where to find a Basilisk, how to read palms or tea leafs and all the most strange things you can imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the facts mam, 26 Aug 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Sorcerer's Companion: A Guide to the Magical World of Harry Potter (Paperback)
This book covers many myths and magical beings associated with the Harry Potter saga. In general it is laid out in alphabetical order. And tackles everything from "Amulet" to "Zombie"
Yes I know we already know about werewolves and zombies from old movies like "My Mom's a Werewolf" asin: 6305538395 and "Weekend at Bernie's II" asin: B00005QT9P. But some creatures never make it to the big screen. So I went in search of ones that I had read about in other literature to see how accurate the book is. One sure test was on Veela. They had that nailed to a tee. Then what about a source to prove it was just not off the top of compiler's head. Sure enough there is a page-by page index and references to the source of information.
The book has sketches where appropriate and a fair bibliography.
Harry is more interesting if you know the background to what he is up against.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, 16 Aug 2002
This review is from: The Sorcerer's Companion: A Guide to the Magical World of Harry Potter (Paperback)
If your an avid Harry Potter fan and wondered where J K Rowling got all her ideas, then this is the ultimate book. It takes you through the history and myths of the characters, and beasts in the Harry Potter book series. There are some really lovely images too as well as great cataloging of dates and places from History. Really is a great read and one that you just keep going back to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for fans of harry, 10 April 2002
This review is from: The Sorcerer's Companion: A Guide to the Magical World of Harry Potter (Paperback)
This is a book that all fans of Harry Potter have to own! It is like an encyclopaedia of the facinating creatures and items mentioned in the wonderful Harry Potter books by JK Rowling. This book is a pleasure to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 8 Dec 2003
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sorcerer's Companion: A Guide to the Magical World of Harry Potter (Paperback)
This attractive little book is a wonderful resource for every fan of J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series. It takes the form of an encyclopedia of useful knowledge, giving you the information you need on such diverse things as cauldrons, grindylows, and petrifaction. Everything is here from amulets to zombies! The information itself it presented in an easy-to-read form, which makes this book perfect for readers young and old.
My twelve-year-old daughter is a huge fan of Harry Potter, and selected this book herself. She really loves the pictures and found the information quite easy to understand. She loves this book and highly recommends it to you, and so do I!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dictionary of Folk Lore, 7 Oct 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sorcerer's Companion: A Guide to the Magical World of Harry Potter (Paperback)
This book is well written. If you are a fan of Harry Potter and lover of folklore & mythology, you will want to read this book. It is filled with explanations on the subjects studied at Hogwarts like Arithmancy and divination. There are also explanations on all items from Broom Sticks to Witch. This book offers loads of information & facts. So hurry up and add this fun read to your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sorcerer's Companion: A Guide to the Magical World of Harry Potter
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews