Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent,really funny & True
This book hits the nail on the head for all those women out there that can't understand why men don't understand us and for all those men why you find us all so complicated. I laughed from the minute I started to read this book it is light hearted but would help couples worldwide to understand why things seemed not to be going as they thought there relationships would...
Published on 25 Oct 2001 by Mrs C Cavanagh

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The author has just one message and one only
After reading all the great 5 crown reviews I was looking forward to reading this book and dived straight in. To begin with I found it good fun, although the large type-font and block quotes reiterating arguments made in the main text are a bit irritating. However, it soon becomes apparent that the authors have only one point to make and I found myself desperately...
Published on 12 May 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent,really funny & True, 25 Oct 2001
This review is from: Why Men Don't Listen and Women Can't Read Maps: How We're Different and What to Do about It (Paperback)
This book hits the nail on the head for all those women out there that can't understand why men don't understand us and for all those men why you find us all so complicated. I laughed from the minute I started to read this book it is light hearted but would help couples worldwide to understand why things seemed not to be going as they thought there relationships would. The answers are so obvious that they are probably there all the time, love is a blinker thing sometimes. This book helps clarify things in a lighthearted and funny way. An excellent read for mis-understoods everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understand and laugh at your differences, 23 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Why Men Don't Listen and Women Can't Read Maps: How We're Different and What to Do about It (Paperback)
Based on 12 years of clinical research on the male/female brains. An interesting, funny and enlightening read. Understanding your differences is the key to putting them in their place and laughing at them instead of fighting about them or feeling resentment and frustration. It also makes you aware of why you are the way you are, therefore, eliminating the need to prove yourself as anything else. For everyone in a relationship of any kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The author has just one message and one only, 12 May 1999
By A Customer
After reading all the great 5 crown reviews I was looking forward to reading this book and dived straight in. To begin with I found it good fun, although the large type-font and block quotes reiterating arguments made in the main text are a bit irritating. However, it soon becomes apparent that the authors have only one point to make and I found myself desperately hoping, in vain as it happens, that the discussion was going to get somewhere and then move on. But no, they just keep making the same point over and over. This does start to wear on you after a while. As a professional biologist I was very disappointed at the lack of reasoned discussion about the vast amount of evidence they allude to in support of their thesis. Furthermore, one or two of their statements are patently incorrect, reflecting a poor understanding of genetics. This does tend to undermine one's confidence in the book. Altogether a very superficial attempt which ends up trivialising an important topic. Yes it's quite good fun and easy to read but don't waste your time reading past the third chapter. Oh yes, and they publish it themselves which speaks volumes. Didn't notice that before I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sort of Australian Mars/Venus book., 11 April 2000
By 
John Peter O'connor - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The authors start from two straightforward premises:
Men and women are very different in the way that they act, react, think and feel.
These differences are the inevitable consequence of our biology.
The first of these is a lot less controversial than the second and, perhaps the book would have ruffled fewer feathers if the authors had stuck to the first premise. However, the caveman-cavewoman analogies do help them to illustrate their points.
The book is well put together in a pretty light-hearted style. While not being unputdownable, it is an easy read. One quibble though has to be that, after a while, many of the jokes seem to be a little tedious.
As well as illustrating the differences between men and women, the book gives examples of how these lead to conflict and misunderstandings. Their advice is pretty much to learn about the differences and grin and bear it.
Of course, the book goes over much the same ground as the Mars-Venus stuff but, it does so at a somewhat simpler and, some would say, superficial level. If you get to the end of Mars-Venus and absorb what it says then this book is not for you. On the other hand, If you found M-V to be too heavy and a bit pretentious then the lighthearted and more direct style of this book could be just what you need.
At the end of the book, there is a substantial list of references and further reading. This varies from other popular psychology books to research papers which provide the scientific backing for the authors ideas. Unfortunately, they just list these with no comment and no attempt to categorise the items. This means that the list is of little use to a reader interested in exploring further topics or referring to some of the research on which the authors ideas depend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superficial pop science for the masses, 16 Jan 2001
By A Customer
The one idea behind the book - that men and women act differently due to biological differences - is not sufficient to fill an entire book. There is therefore a good deal of repetition - and limp jokes. The analysis is superficial, since it seems the authors start with their one great idea then take on board only scientific data which supports their view - a fundamental flaw and one common to the rash of pop science books for the masses which aim to reinforce commonly held prejudices using a light dusting of dodgy science. Save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great set of advice....a poor set of facts!, 9 May 2003
By A Customer
There are the good and the not so good things that I have to say about this book. I have been interested in factors and socio-biological mechanisms that control and influence the interaction between the sexes and also their respective behaviors in general, and is why the front page looked interesting.
Well the upside of the book for me, as a male, has been that that people of the opposite gender do seem more discernible now! So the book can be helpful if you look forward to increase your 'social range', get along better with your partner or just make better companions in general with people of the opposite gender.
And here's the downside; this book can be utterly dissapointing from a more scientific point of view if you want some greater insight into what really ticks within us and why we do what we do. The book floats throughout on a superficial level, just mentioning some scientific experiments when needed to support a seemingly pre-opinionated statement. There has been categorization of men and women into two separate behavorial clases on the basis of criteria as brutally simplistic as those which would be used to distinguish cotton from wool! The talk is based more on certain biological evidences ( which again I found to be trivial and am pretty skeptical about) rather than complex sociological factors. The book tries to answer too much with too little of solid facts and evidence, something which may even be referred to as being pseudoscientific. In fact, this book has almost no scientific maturity or depth, and some claims will seem to be out right juvenile.
So to sum it up, it's a good handbook for knowing and making more friends of the opposite sex, but hey if you are looking for seroius answers, this is definitely not the material to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Men Don't Listen and Women Can't Read Maps: How We're Different and What to Do about It (Paperback)
Very funny book. It also explains in a scientific way how and why the different sexes react to situations differently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read!, 4 Nov 2011
By 
Mrs T "Bookworm" (Nottinghamshire UK) - See all my reviews
I can highly recommend this book particularly if you're struggling to understand your 'other half'. My husband and I laughed out loud at some of the suggestions in there, they seemed to be very true. It also explains the reasons we can't always understand our partners in a very easy way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting Difference between Men and Women!, 16 Sep 2008
This review is from: Why Men Don't Listen and Women Can't Read Maps: How We're Different and What to Do about It (Paperback)
I was particularly interested in the difference on how to read maps between men and women. I hadn't recognized that before, though. Certainly, it is strange to turning the map around so often. It seems quite logical to most women to turn the map according to the direction where they are going, while men think it's ridiculous. In this case, men have better spacial skills than women, I guess. On the other hand, Allan and Barbara Pease also seemed to say that men get more distracted than women. What does it mean? According to this book, men generally hate being talked to while driving. I just wondered why men have this sort of downside in spite of their great spacial skills. At first, I thought this applied to new and/or poor drivers because they tend to be too nervous to talk while driving. However, I gradually found out that it is a matter of how to arrive faster at where they are headed for. Overall, it may be hard to judge either spacial skills outweigh concentration or vice versa.
So I wish both men and women could use well-balanced spacial skills and concentration. Therefore, they wouldn't have to waste their energies on arguments in cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, but lacks critical scientific rigour., 6 Dec 1999
By 
ch0pper "ch0pper" (SOUTHAMPTON, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
OK. It was amusing in parts, but irritatingly wrong in others.
Furthermore, one of your female reviewers has also managed to get her tights in a twist.
There is NO doubt that there is gender dimorphism in the human brain, and that this is BIOLOGICAL and not LEARNED.
I would strongly suggest that any readers who are interested in following this subject further could do far worse than looking at work published (mainly in the scientific literature) by Prof. Rose and his group from the Open University's Brain Study Group ..... That stuff is a real eye-opener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Why Men Don't Listen and Women Can't Read Maps: How We're Different and What to Do about It
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews