Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2001
THIS IS WHAT I HAVE WRITTEN IN MY BOOK REPORT FOR SCHOOL (15 years old from Israel)
I may not read much, still, every book I have Read is simply not as good as "Tuesdays with Morrie". Its words explain the Authors feelings in such way you'd think you are the one who wrote this book, you are the one this whole book is about, and this is a description of your own feelings. If I could purchase this book for the whole World, I would, in a minute. Obviously, I recommend this book to any Person who can cope with tears, sadness and Coping with emotions and be aware of them. Saying "Tuesdays with Morrie" is beautiful is An understatement. When you read this book, your laugh, you cry and most important you learn so many new things not only about who this book describes and learning to appreciate them - but you learn about your self and you learn to appreciate your self. All in all, this book is beautiful, easy to read and Easy to understand. Anyone will enjoy if only you Open your heart and you are willing to receive a gift you Will not get - anywhere else.
44 comments|114 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2007
The book chronicles one man's views on life from the perspective of the dying. Gloomy? Depressing? Not one bit! Just the opposite in fact. Morrie relishes the fact that he's been given a chance to tie up the loose ends, to say all of the things that he wanted to say to the people he cares about before being snatched away. For Mitch Albom, watching Morrie go through this is a chance for him to reflect on what's important in his own life. And isn't it interesting that the things that become important to us when we're stripped of our ability to enjoy all the frivolous trappings of our society are those very simple things that actually make us human ... love, family, friendship and so on. (Don't get me wrong, I'm all for a bit of frivolous unnecessary stuff - but without the cake as a base, icing would just be ... well ... soggy sugar! )

Don't be put off by the low scoring reviewers - a few of these have missed the point of the book completely! Morrie WAS a teacher - that's what he did in life, it's what he wanted to do right up until the end of his life and it's what he hoped would be his legacy after his death. He certainly doesn't claim to be an oracle or to have all of the answers ... he just wants to tell us what he's learnt in all of his years as a teacher, a father, a husband, a son and a friend.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2010
Does this short novella live up to the hype it generated? Well, yes and no. The lessons were good, but not always great. As with any general philosophy, it hits and misses depending on your individual circumstance. The pursuit of a money in a career does not gain you fulfillment? Sure, I'll buy into that one, but for the millions of workless people around the world it's a bitter irrelevance. The importance of getting married? Sure, that may make sense but not at the expense of abusive relationships and what about the increasing number of single people in the world? Are they condemned as a result?
Perhaps the most telling lesson was the idea of the little bird on your shoulder asking you if today is your day to die. It sounds morose, but it does help you make choices that veer you away from exploiting your fellow human beings - and that is a lesson well worth all of us learning.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Professor Morrie Schwartz is the mentor we would all like to have. Often we fail to seek out such a mentor because we feel inadequate or not worthy enough. If so, you will identify with Mitch Albom who seeks out his teacher's wisdom for the final time in this book. His fumbling should reassure even the most inhibited person to reach out for this kind of connection. That's the hidden beauty of this book, as Professor Schwartz's goodness shines through the narrowness of Mr. Albom's life.
This wonderful book focuses on the meaning of life, from the perspective of a teacher (Morrie Schwartz) who is about to lose his life and his pupil, (Mitch Albom) who has lost his focus on what is important. They come together for 14 Tuesdays (just like they did while the author was a college student at Brandeis) before the professor passes away of ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease).
This book is filed with the most beautiful sayings you can imagine. Here are a few examples: 'Giving to other people is what makes us feel alive.' 'Love each other or perish.' 'Everybody knows they are going to die, but nobody believes it. If we did, we would do things differently.' 'Learn to detach from experience.'
Many people would avoid a book on this subject, because they do not want to think about death. Although Morrie Schwartz is dying throughout this book, the subject is really about living rather than dying. Few will find the dying to be distressing, even though it is graphically and frequently addressed.
For those of us with many years to live, this book can be a wake-up call to start really living now -- in the ways we would if we were about to die, as well as to learn how to treat others while we still have them with us. For those who have but little time left, this book can be an inspiration for how to get the most out of the remaining time.
You will probably find it heart-warming (as I did) to find out that the advance on this book was paid in time to help defray some of Professor Schwartz's medical expenses.
May you find new meaning in your life from reading this wonderful book! Life is a teacher, and Morrie Schwartz's thoughts can be a text to help you understand the lessons. Live well and make your choices consciously!
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2001
This is a completely heart-rendering, touching and genuine piece of work which has you laughing, crying and thinking about life, death and the world today. It is written about an old professor (Morrie) who knows he is dying and is telling people about what this unusual situation feels like. The author is an old student of his who has 'fallen by the way', choosing the very hectic modern life many people now take as normal. It is of course a true story which makes it all the more poignant and hard-hitting. I thoroughly recommend that you read this. Once you pick it up you cannot put it down.
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2004
Life is short so it is up to us to make it sweet. Of course the book is not going to start any revolutions anywhere, but for people caught up in the madness of daily modern existence, this is a timely reminder of what characterizes real success and accomplishment in our over materialistic and superficial lives.
Every Brandeis graduate should read this book :-)
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2006
Tuesdays at Morrie's is an incredible book about how everything in life matters: An old professor - Morrie - knows that he will be dying, but instead of pitying himself, he is sharing everything that is important to him until the last minute. He talks with a former student of his about different themes of life and how he approaches them. Sharing his knowledge makes a huge difference in a lot of people's lifes.
It reminded me of "Working on yourself doesn't work" from Ariel and Shya Kane. A great book about going for your life with totality and excellence, but without fixing yourself. I know it sounds like a paradox, but this books gives you the tools how to have a magnificent life: day in and day out. I highly recommend it!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
This book will make you look on death and dying in a totally different way. 'Tuesdays with Morrie : an old man, a young man, and life's greatest lesson' was written by Mitch Albom. Morrie Schwartz was a college professor (doctor of sociology) and Mitch Albom's coach and mentor. After being diagnosed with ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis or Lou Gehrig's disease) Morrie made a decision. With a progressive neurodegenerative disease to contend with, he would make death his final project. He "would walk that final bridge between life and death, and narrate the trip."

Confusing at first

When I first came across the book title I could not understand what the hype was all about. Throughout, there are a couple of pages of Mitch's past life, e.g., as Morrie's student, as a child, etc., followed by a chapter where Mitch is recounting his weekly (Tuesday) visit to meet with Morrie during his last few weeks of life.

Then there are the three camera interviews with Morrie, carried out for a national television audience. There are also flashbacks to Morrie's childhood, to a time when his mother died and to the period he first took on the role of coach and mentor. As such, this self development book initially comes across as rather bitty. As you begin to understand how everything relates, it all falls into place and becomes much more meaningful.

The Joy of Life

Each week that Mitch visits Morrie they discuss a completely different topic, e.g., world issues, regrets, death, money, aging, love, forgiveness, etc. And each week Mitch learns more and more about himself, emotional health, emotional wealth and the joy of life.

The book takes you on a journey of self discovery and by the end you realise the true power of the title. The significance of the carefully chosen phrase (Tuesdays with Morrie) becomes clear.

As the story unfolds you will be touched by Morrie's total lack of self pity. He also makes you think about aspects of life you take for granted. As just one example, Mitch recounts a time when Morrie leaves his students in limbo, not talking to them for fifteen minutes in an aim to make them realise just how powerful the effect of silence on people is. With Morrie as his life mentor, Mitch learns:

* How to never regret your past
* How not to fear death or dying
* How to find meaning in your life
* How to be at peace with yourself
* The importance of saying goodbye
* The fact that love cuts through everything
* Why be honest with yourself above all else
* That it is perfectly fine for grown men to cry
* How to stop being envious of younger people
* Why battling against aging makes you unhappy
* How to never be envious of other people's lives
* How to detach yourself from pain, grief and fear
* Why the materialistic side of life is so unimportant
* That once you learn how to die, you learn how to live
* Why it is so important to forgive - yourself and others
* The importance of experiencing all sorts of emotions fully
* Why it is pointless showing off to people at the top or at the bottom
* How great coaches and mentors help you to see things in a different light
* Why it is crucial to invest in a community of people to love and who love you back

Who should read this book

This self development review concentrates on how Mitch becomes a different person over the course of his Tuesday meetings with Morrie. He begins to realise what is truly important in life. 'Tuesdays with Morrie' would be of interest to anyone who is afraid of death or dying, or to anyone who is close to someone who is dying. This includes carers of neurodegenerative diseases, and family and friends of those touched with incurable diseases. It would also be of interest to coaches and mentors and to their students and mentees.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Professor Morrie Schwartz is the mentor we would all like to have. Often we fail to seek out such a mentor because we feel inadequate or not worthy enough. If so, you will identify with Mitch Albom who seeks out his teacher's wisdom for the final time in this book. His fumbling should reassure even the most inhibited person to reach out for this kind of connection. That's the hidden beauty of this book, as Professor Schwartz's goodness shines through the narrowness of Mr. Albom's life.
This wonderful book focuses on the meaning of life, from the perspective of a teacher (Morrie Schwartz) who is about to lose his life and his pupil, (Mitch Albom) who has lost his focus on what is important. They come together for 14 Tuesdays (just like they did while the author was a college student at Brandeis) before the professor passes away of ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease).
This book is filed with the most beautiful sayings you can imagine. Here are a few examples: 'Giving to other people is what makes us feel alive.' 'Love each other or perish.' 'Everybody knows they are going to die, but nobody believes it. If we did, we would do things differently.' 'Learn to detach from experience.'
Many people would avoid a book on this subject, because they do not want to think about death. Although Morrie Schwartz is dying throughout this book, the subject is really about living rather than dying. Few will find the dying to be distressing, even though it is graphically and frequently addressed.
For those of us with many years to live, this book can be a wake-up call to start really living now -- in the ways we would if we were about to die, as well as to learn how to treat others while we still have them with us. For those who have but little time left, this book can be an inspiration for how to get the most out of the remaining time.
You will probably find it heart-warming (as I did) to find out that the advance on this book was paid in time to help defray some of Professor Schwartz's medical expenses.
May you find new meaning in your life from reading this wonderful book! Life is a teacher, and Morrie Schwartz's thoughts can be a text to help you understand the lessons. Live well and make your choices consciously!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2005
I went through a whole host of reactions when reading this book. I actually had it for several months before I could bring myself to read it, for fear of how utterly depressing it would be. WELL...yes it was depressing, but in a good way (is that possible?) I balled like a baby, not only because it was depressing and sad but because of its impact in that it was devastating and powerful and enlightening and humbling and heart-warming and philosophical and and and....
In a way Tuesdays with Morrie turns human dignity - or what we think of as human dignity - on its head. The INdignities, pathos, overwhelming difficulties and loss which Morrie and Albom meet head on and DEAL with is humbling. Puts things into perspective if you see what I mean. When you're no longer able to wipe your own bum, and can LAUGH about it, well there's a lesson in itself. NObody should have to go through what Morrie went through and it makes you wonder if gd forbid the same thing happened to you, would you be able to handle it with such grace and fortitude. I don't think I would.
So, the next time someone cuts you up in traffic, shoves their newspaper into your 'space' on the train, makes you late for a meeting or any other such nonsense, think about it...is it REALLY worth getting worked up over? I think the most valuable lesson to be gained from reading Morrie's story is humility, values and priorities. Before it's too late.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse